$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

3 stars
View map of 801 Truxtun Avenue, 801 Truxtun Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93301

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
58 reviews
Family Trip

It was a great hotel. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Unfortunately, the one of the beds... See full review

  • Cami G.
  • Jun 9, 2015
great hotel

Everything was as good as expected. The front dest staff was not knowledgable enough though. For... See full review

  • Diana L.
  • Apr 9, 2015
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring ten meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless Internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Rabobank Arena: 0.1 mi

Dining

The Nines Restaurant
We offer traditional American Cuisine in a Casual Atmosphere.
m.i. Greatroom
This restaurant's downtown Bakersfield location and casual lounge atmosphere make it the place to meet before and after concerts and games. Featuring a Starbucks coffee station, 5-10-20-menu, free wireless internet, it's also great for social gatherings.
The Nines Private Dining
Located inside the Nines Restaurant in Bakersfield, CA, this private dining facility is available for parties and meetings. Due to the creation of custom-designed menus for each occasion, this Bakersfield restaurant requires advanced reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shame on you
Business
Montana
Apr 2, 2012

Shame on me

Stayed once and was disappointed. Tried again and was worse. Will never stay there again. The tub didn't drain, the towels were paper thin, the toilet paper hanger didn't work, noise from the pool area was allowed to go on until 4:30 in the morning and we were on the 4th floor. The second night is was until 2:30. There was hair in the food, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Buffalo Tom
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jan 10, 2010

Not so good.

Although the hotel location wass great because my place of business was lees that a mile away, the hotel walls were thin and I had noisey neughbors. The front desk was not very helpful in assisting me with a cash advance when my bank card did not work. They could not provide directions for banks, food, etc... My TV got poor reception, so I could not watch the BCS championship game in my room...I was forced to watch at a sports bar. My final day they missed my wake-up call, and could not provide me with a printed receipt for my stay. I have never been this disapointed with Marriot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Only a few places in walking distance...Sports Bar directly across the street "Tail Gater's", had terrific foor for casual dinning. Two blocks away, "Goose Loonies" was a more formal setting, good menu, but poor service.

Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KHuynh760
Business
Oceanside, CA
Aug 19, 2012

Amazing Staff! Nice Rooms!

The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. I wasn't able to check in until 3AM, but the staff "pre-checked" us in order to keep our room(at 3am, they consider the guest no-shows) and gave us a late 2pm checkout, so we could sleep in! The room was very nice, though the bathroom could do with a few fix-ups. For example, our toilet had difficulty flushing anything. It took multiple attempts to get it to actually flush. But, the bathroom and room was incredibly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Someonelse
Business
Portland, Oregon
Oct 13, 2012

Road trip accommodations

I've been on a road trip for the past two weeks and have two more weeks left, I would rate this hotel as third of the top three. Hotels one and two had better: - Room accommodations and newer furniture. - Comfort of the other beds was better - Other rooms smelled much cleaner, great scents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close, good food both in the hotel and around the hotel within walking distance.

Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelnut
Business
Santa clarita
May 12, 2013

Choose the hotel because of the pool, but it was closed

I got my son excited about being able to swim in the pool, but it was close for maintenance yet no maintenance was taking place. Man the disappointment on his face was palpable. I was very disappointed. Oh and the breakfast was extremely expensive for eggs and sausage. Paying $12-$16 for breakfast is outrageous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mayonesa
Business
riverside
Jun 3, 2013

business trip

this was my first trip to Bakersfield. After a three hour drive I was ready to leave the car! Wen to the work out room- first and for most! nice equipment and set up- all new- or at least it looked like that. The hotel was nice and clean. The bar's open floorplan, perfect for conducting business meetings and update on lap top. I found the staff to be the best part of the hotel- very accomdating and pleasant. i asked for a minifrig and got a good size frig in my room, but with no freezer- needed that to freeze my traveling ice- i pack a lunch so that i dont have to waist time looking for restaurants and waiting to be served. I worked around that though. Over all a good stay- I will be returning every month to Bakersfield, and plan to stay at this hotel. Felt very safe there. I could have used a shower cap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

few Starbucks around- found one around the corner of the hotel. Took advantage of hotels offer for coffee to go- when i placed my breakfast order.

Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ventura, ca
Jul 17, 2010

great staff

when i arrived the staff was very friendly and helpful, i went to my room to discover that the A/C wasnt working (in 112 degree weather)i went to use the phone provided in the room to call down to the front desk to inform them that the A/C wasnt working but the phone didnt work. we went to the front desk and told them of the above problems and the quickly appologized and moved us to a new room. The staff was great!there were problems with our room in the beginning but their friendly staff made up for it. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
modesto california
Aug 18, 2010

bakersfield,calif

the room we went to the bedspread was wet and the bathroom had not been cleaned and there was evidence nothing had been done. the telephones didn't work. we were eventually given another better roo . we own four marriott time shares so we weren't expecting this

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

unhappy

Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
May 22, 2011

No complaints

We travelled to my son's sporting event. The staff was friendly and helpful even with a hotel full of kids. The buffet breakfast was fantastic and really satisfied the crew prior to heading off to the event. The beds were extremely comfy and the whole family slept wonderfully. We even took a quick dip in the pool and hot tub just to enjoy a couple minutes of relaxation in between sporting events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eugene, OR
Oct 26, 2009

Nice room, but noisy on 2nd floor

Unfortunately my room was close to the elevators and the floor in the hall was not carpeted. Very noisy as maids arrived at 6 am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mexicali

Back to menu Return to top