$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Super 8 Arcata

2 stars
View map of 4887 Valley West Boulevard, Arcata, CA 95521-4693

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Arcata

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.3
Value:
3

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
R11C
Business
Redding, CA, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Building needs lots of repair, everything worn and dirty

transients sleeping in the stairwell, shady people hanging around and dogs not on leashes. Breakfast was old cereal, pre packaged breakfast rolls, and juice machine had a tag on it "out of juice" for 4 days. Working on building next door 24 hours/day. Whole building smelled like cigarette smoke. In years past has been much better, at least clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deenv
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 25, 2011

You get what you pay for.

Our stay at Super 8 was ok but the beds were very uncomfortable, everytime my husband moved it sounded like the bed was going to break. It had a good location but I think they need to replace the beds and make the place cleaner by revamping the furniture and carpet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a good Chinese buffet across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crescent City
Jun 22, 2011

Ok at best

A little bit dumpy. It was nice enough, but just little things. Such as, I had to flush three times to "dispose" of waste. The hot and cold water direction in the shower was reversed. The room smelled just too much of carpet deodorant. But the TV worked, there was plenty of hot water, and the beds were ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Take me to the beach!
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 4, 2011

good enough!

It was clean, had some amenities like hair dryer and coffee pot (cheap, but worked for the most part). The crowd outside the motel was kind of edgy, kind of made us wonder if people were living in the motel. It was cheap for the area, although I think the Motel 6 across the street was a bit cheaper, judging from their sign. Oh yeah, the bed was pretty hard-- the hardest we've found so far on our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not much to eat around there but fast food. So bring some good snacks, or drive into the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Dirty and unsafe

When we were at the hotel I sat on the bed and you could feel how dirty the comforter was. It felt greesy and look dirty. We would not even have it near us on the bed. also we had a non smoking room and there was a cigerette burn in our blanket and it smelt like smoke. And to top it all off my 9 month old daughter was playing on the floor and ended up putting an old cigerette butt in her mouth. I was very unsatified with the cleanlyness and quality. Then in the morning I went down to get coffee and the coffee was cold. This place was the worst I have ever stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Weaverville, CA
Aug 9, 2010

What a dump!!

Got out of there as soon as possible, never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Jul 7, 2010

We gave up to sleep over there.

Not friendly welcome from front desk,not ready and not cleaned room.We left that motel without formal check-in. Is there anyway to refund?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tahlequah, OK
Apr 29, 2010

Basically a good experience...however

Basically my experience was okay However here are suggestions for the motel management. 1. I needed to print my return trip boarding passes. I was told no printer was available. It would be good to have printer access.2. [...] As far as cleanliness and general comfort, the experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The best restaurants that I went to were in Eureka.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cynthialove
Business
Newark, CA
Apr 10, 2010

It was good enough!

It was great for the 2 days that we were there. Staff was friendly. We had no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Arcata Town Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andrew & Co.
Business
Brentwood, ca
Apr 7, 2010

Friendly but shabby

We were coming up the coast on spring break. We wanted something cheap so we didn't expect much the stay was not bad and the staff very nice and friendly. The place wasn't too run down but many of the rooms around us smelled of ciggerets. Our room was facing the street so it was a bit noisier than most other rooms. The location off the hwy wasn't too bad but the part of town it was in intimitated us. We spent a bit of time in the hotel cause our car broke down. A man across the street was arrested for drunk in pulic and we saw a creepy van drop him off on the curb after he pee'd himself. The nice thing is that a bus stop is right out front. Overall I would not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top