$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Super 8 Arcata

2 stars
4887 Valley West Boulevard, Arcata, CA 95521-4693
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
44 reviews
Perfect for my needs

Stayed in Arcata just a few days. This hotel was priced and located perfectly. See full review

  • Dylan Makayla O.
  • Mar 30, 2014
Stop-over

Nothing special, kind of run down, still better than most. See full review

  • Lucky Cribbage Player
  • Dec 4, 2013
Welcome to the city of Arcata, located on Californias redwood coast. Arcata is the home of Humboldt State University. Minutes away is downtown Arcata, where you can enjoy the historic Plaza with plenty of shopping and restaurants. Other attractions include the Arcata Marsh and Wildlife Sanctuary, widely known for their bird watching and trails for jogging or walking. The Super 8 of Arcata is proud to offer 60 newly renovated rooms featuring free High Speed Internet Access, microwaves, and refrigerators in every room. Pets Allowed - with a maximum weight of 50 lbs are allowed free of charge. Pet Sanitation Fee is 50.00 USD if applicable. ADA defined service animals are also welcome at this hotel.

Hotel Map

40.9002 -124.0828
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Arcata also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Vending machines
Services
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Arcata

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.3
Value:
3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Do U know Jesus
Fresno, CA
Jan 7, 2012

Thanks for being a good home away from home

Friendly staff, good location, and reasonable prices for comfortable accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kbmp crazy
Business
siskiyou
Nov 14, 2011

Good deal, if you aren't too picky

The Motel smelled like pot, but then again, so does this entire town!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Arcata Theater Science Fiction night every Wednesday Night. We had awesome pub beer, pizza, and classic sci-fi movies. Fun fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arcata visitor
California, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Super 8 - Arcata, California

The hotel was pretty clean, with a nice, friendly staff, and the location was not terrible. We were there on Halloween weekend and there seemed to be a bit more noise going on than I would have anticipated. Traffic in the hallways was quite loud, we could hear voices and footsteps all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
weekend.traveler
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Decent room, decent price

The rooms were ok- clean and what not. Our bathroom could have used some TLC before we started our stay. It guess, for the price, can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
braxg
Arcata, CA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

super8 in humbolt

homeless people sleeping in the lobby dirty, scary people everywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

terri's burgers, fiies, pies

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
R11C
Redding, CA, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Building needs lots of repair, everything worn and dirty

transients sleeping in the stairwell, shady people hanging around and dogs not on leashes. Breakfast was old cereal, pre packaged breakfast rolls, and juice machine had a tag on it "out of juice" for 4 days. Working on building next door 24 hours/day. Whole building smelled like cigarette smoke. In years past has been much better, at least clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deenv
San Francisco, CA
Aug 25, 2011

You get what you pay for.

Our stay at Super 8 was ok but the beds were very uncomfortable, everytime my husband moved it sounded like the bed was going to break. It had a good location but I think they need to replace the beds and make the place cleaner by revamping the furniture and carpet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a good Chinese buffet across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Crescent City
Jun 22, 2011

Ok at best

A little bit dumpy. It was nice enough, but just little things. Such as, I had to flush three times to "dispose" of waste. The hot and cold water direction in the shower was reversed. The room smelled just too much of carpet deodorant. But the TV worked, there was plenty of hot water, and the beds were ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Take me to the beach!
Seattle, WA
Feb 4, 2011

good enough!

It was clean, had some amenities like hair dryer and coffee pot (cheap, but worked for the most part). The crowd outside the motel was kind of edgy, kind of made us wonder if people were living in the motel. It was cheap for the area, although I think the Motel 6 across the street was a bit cheaper, judging from their sign. Oh yeah, the bed was pretty hard-- the hardest we've found so far on our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not much to eat around there but fast food. So bring some good snacks, or drive into the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redding, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Dirty and unsafe

When we were at the hotel I sat on the bed and you could feel how dirty the comforter was. It felt greesy and look dirty. We would not even have it near us on the bed. also we had a non smoking room and there was a cigerette burn in our blanket and it smelt like smoke. And to top it all off my 9 month old daughter was playing on the floor and ended up putting an old cigerette butt in her mouth. I was very unsatified with the cleanlyness and quality. Then in the morning I went down to get coffee and the coffee was cold. This place was the worst I have ever stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search