$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Arcata

2 stars
4700 Valley West, Arcata, CA 95521
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
66 reviews
Great

Everything was perfect. Friendly staff in a quiet location. See full review

  • Traci T
  • Jul 24, 2014
Excellent Base for the Redwoods Parks

We stayed at this hotel as we explored the Redwoods National Parks. We were about an hour away from... See full review

  • TravelingCoupleDS
  • Jun 9, 2014
The Howard Johnson Express Inn Arcata is a two story interior corridor property with heated indoor pool and spa, fitness room and guest laundry. The Howard Johnson Express Inn Arcata is centrally located off Highway 101 in the heart of the Redwoods. Other points of interest include Redwood National Park located 35 miles north, Blue Lake Casino 5 miles east, Arcata Airport 5 miles north, Humboldt State University 4 miles south, Arcata Marsh and Wildlife Sanctuary 4 miles south. Several restaurants and shops are located only 1/2 mile away. The Howard Johnson Express Inn Arcata has received the Quality Excellence Award, Presidents Award and is recognized by Howard Johnson International as a Gold Medal Award Property. This is a Smoke Free Facility. No Pets Allowed.

Hotel Map

40.9007 -124.0831
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Arcata also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mitymac
Red Bluff, California
Aug 18, 2014

weekend getaway

The breakfast needs help, there are no restaurants nearby for breakfast. It should be a full breakfast with eggs, sausage or bacon ect, and there is nothing like that available, also no creamer for the coffee or even a selection of fruit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Sea Grill inn Eureka was excellent.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deena O
CHICO , CA
Jul 28, 2014

Family trip

I Looked at a lot of hotel reviews before booking this one online . Amanda greeted us at checked in with a great smile and answer all of our questions . The Room was nice and clean . My only complaint was the room was a bit musty smelling . We just opened up the window and aired the room out .The breakfast was good . Waffles, bagels, cold and hot cereal and fresh fruit .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Very Comfy Traveler
Michigan
Jul 25, 2014

Just okay

For a Howard Johnson we really expected better than what It was. Especially since the price wasn't as low as places we stayed that were cheaper but much nicer. So, just an okay rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traci T
Sacramento
Jul 24, 2014

Great

Everything was perfect. Friendly staff in a quiet location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Right next to a Lil strip mall with grocery store and restaurants.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrMAG
Escondido, CA
Jul 21, 2014

Nice stay

This was a pleasant place to stay. Staff was pleasant and efficient. Room size was excellent. .. King bed, sofa, microwave, 'fridge . . The furniture is a little dated and cheap looking, but functional. I checked the room on arrival and it seemed quite clean. Breakfast looked good (but we decided to eat in town).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KerryE
Sacramento, CA
Jul 21, 2014

Clean, comfy rooms, great breakfast!

The room was very clean and comfortable, although a little stuffy when the window was closed. The free breakfast was delicious: Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels,etc. The pool and spa were clean and well cared for. Staff were very helpful and always had a smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LCAdamo
Hillsboro, Oregon
Jul 20, 2014

Great overnight stop

This hotel fit the bill very well for an overnight stop on a road trip. A big plus was discovering a fridge with a small freezer in the room! We were traveling with some things we wanted to remain frozen and expected to have to restock our cooler with ice. But we were able to keep our food & blue ice blocks frozen! Very spacious room, and adequate breakfast offerings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happygrandpa
San Francisco, California
Jul 19, 2014

Good location and comfort, poor WiFi service

If you are visiting North Coast beaches, redwoods, or Humboldt State University, this motel is well located. The major negative is that the WiFi service can be intermittently slow or you have to constantly reboot to stay connected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Culrain
Los Angeles
Jul 14, 2014

Decent Place

Nice staff. Room had all the amenities one would like - Iron/ironing board, shampoo, cable TV, etc. The gym was a little meager and they need more healthy options for breakfast, not to mention more tables.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flowerpower2014
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 8, 2014

Howard Johnson Express - Arcata

Enjoyed our stay (one night) and checked out the indoor pool ~ had a great time! We ordered food from the restaurant near the hotel and it was really good, and a market close by as well. Would stay there again if in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search