$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Arcata

2 stars
4700 Valley West, Arcata, CA 95521
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
71 reviews
Great Staff

Everyone was very. Helpful. Our plane was late and we arrived very late. Person at desk was great... See full review

  • Mr. Chardonney
  • Sep 8, 2014
Great

Everything was perfect. Friendly staff in a quiet location. See full review

  • Traci T
  • Jul 24, 2014
The Howard Johnson Express Inn Arcata is a two story interior corridor property with heated indoor pool and spa, fitness room and guest laundry. The Howard Johnson Express Inn Arcata is centrally located off Highway 101 in the heart of the Redwoods. Other points of interest include Redwood National Park located 35 miles north, Blue Lake Casino 5 miles east, Arcata Airport 5 miles north, Humboldt State University 4 miles south, Arcata Marsh and Wildlife Sanctuary 4 miles south. Several restaurants and shops are located only 1/2 mile away. The Howard Johnson Express Inn Arcata has received the Quality Excellence Award, Presidents Award and is recognized by Howard Johnson International as a Gold Medal Award Property. This is a Smoke Free Facility. No Pets Allowed.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Arcata also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biochick
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Great cost effective hotel for a redwoods visit

This is my second time staying at this HoJo's. The rooms are clean, and the beds are pillowtop and super comfortable. There is free wifi, free parking, free breakfast, and they have a free gym, spa, and pool. The location is easily accessible to Arcata and Eureka for food and drinks, and to Redwood National Park for outdoors adventures. For $60 a night, what more could you ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gypsies
Business
Arcata. CA
Nov 30, 2014

Traveling through.

Comfortable. Clean. Nice hot tub. Good continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Chardonney
Business
Arcata CA.
Sep 8, 2014

Great Staff

Everyone was very. Helpful. Our plane was late and we arrived very late. Person at desk was great in helping us find a close by place for dinner! Parking very convenient and walking distance to restaurants outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anonymo84
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 4, 2014

Decent for a quick overnight stay

I didn't spend much time here as I was on a road trip and literally just had enough time to get 8 hours sleep and hit the road again, but the room was clean, comfortable, quiet and affordable. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joan's Arc
Business
Portland, or
Aug 21, 2014

Bad customer service

When I walked in, I was the only guest standing at the desk but the young clerk didn't acknowledge me due to him being on the phone. The manager came in and instead of helping me, she helped the worker with the phone order. I stood there for fifteen minutes waiting while listening to them complete a reservation. Also, our reservation was for three people but when we arrived, I wanted to change it to two people and they said it was too late. There was also a large tax of $15 a night, which was not listed at the check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mitymac
Business
Red Bluff, California
Aug 18, 2014

weekend getaway

The breakfast needs help, there are no restaurants nearby for breakfast. It should be a full breakfast with eggs, sausage or bacon ect, and there is nothing like that available, also no creamer for the coffee or even a selection of fruit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Sea Grill inn Eureka was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deena O
Business
CHICO , CA
Jul 28, 2014

Family trip

I Looked at a lot of hotel reviews before booking this one online . Amanda greeted us at checked in with a great smile and answer all of our questions . The Room was nice and clean . My only complaint was the room was a bit musty smelling . We just opened up the window and aired the room out .The breakfast was good . Waffles, bagels, cold and hot cereal and fresh fruit .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Very Comfy Traveler
Business
Michigan
Jul 25, 2014

Just okay

For a Howard Johnson we really expected better than what It was. Especially since the price wasn't as low as places we stayed that were cheaper but much nicer. So, just an okay rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traci T
Business
Sacramento
Jul 24, 2014

Great

Everything was perfect. Friendly staff in a quiet location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Right next to a Lil strip mall with grocery store and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Arcata

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrMAG
Business
Escondido, CA
Jul 21, 2014

Nice stay

This was a pleasant place to stay. Staff was pleasant and efficient. Room size was excellent. .. King bed, sofa, microwave, 'fridge . . The furniture is a little dated and cheap looking, but functional. I checked the room on arrival and it seemed quite clean. Breakfast looked good (but we decided to eat in town).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top