$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Anaheim Maingate

3 stars
View map of 1700 South Clementine Street, 1700 South Clementine Street, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Anaheim Maingate

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Anaheim Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Charlotte
Aug 9, 2010

Family Trip

Hotel has great location, but is very tired. Our room looked like it had not been updated in many years and the bedding was worn. Bathroom was tiny and there was no table to sit and eat even a small meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Downtown Disney has everything for the family.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Anaheim Maingate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disapointed Disney Mom
Family
Boulder, CO
Aug 5, 2010

The smallest

Literally couldn't walk in the door w/ stroller or suitcases. Ran right into the couch. [...] We were very upset that we couldn't get suitcases or our stroller into the room w/o moving the couch & there was no availability to move us to a bigger room. This shouldn't be called a suite & had the most terrible configuration. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Anaheim Maingate

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex wonderful mom
Family
Seattle, WA
Jun 28, 2010

Disney Land wonderful vacation

The hotel services were excellent. We arrived around 1:00PM but they gave us a room even check in is 4:00PM. The hotel offered full hot breakfast and full service grocery. I gave them a list of my groceries around 7:00AM, they delivered around 11:00AM on same day. No service charge. The location was about 10 minutes walk to Disney Land. The hotels locates at a safe area. We walked back to a hotel around mid night and felt very safe. We even took a bus one day to Disney Land and we had to wait at a bus station for at least 20 minutes. After that we decided to walk to Disney. An only small problem we had at this hotel on our last 2 days was the people stayed next to our room are smokers. They began their routine smoke around 5:00AM in front of their room. They did not went to designated smoke area. They even talked very loud too. It went on for almost 2 hours. When we got out for breakfast, they were still there smoking. Even with a small incident, we will stay at this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is public bus (don't mistake with Anaheim bus which offers only Disney area). For $4/person whole day bus fare, you could use any bus which would take you to Target for personal shopping, to Staple Shopping area, etc. We used the public bus one day to cruise outside Anaheim area like Little Saigon, Staple shopping. It was a wonderful experience.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Anaheim Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Seattle, WA
Jun 23, 2010

Great Trip

good location, convenient shuttle, lots of breakfast choices, just wish there were more healthy options, quiet time was not regulated and we were woken up a number of times by loud kids at 6am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive out to the beaches for a day away from the park. beautiful and quiet.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Anaheim Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rufusion
Family
San Francisco, CA
Jun 17, 2010

As promised

About a 15-20 minute slow walk to Disneyland ticket gate. Near enough for me to carry my sleeping toddler back to the room, far enough that my arms were cramping by the end of the walk. Rooms were clean and well-maintained; even my wife, who is very picky about hotel room cleanliness, gave it a thumbs-up. The mattress was comfortably firm, but that had to be the smallest "queen" sized bed I've ever seen. Still, my wife and I were able to share it without complaint. The fold-out couch was fine for our two-year-old. Kitchen was as promised - great for guests who want to save money on meals or who have special dietary needs. If you plan to shop for food, though, be sure to have a car, as the nearest grocery store (Vons) is not easily walkable. No noise from adjacent rooms, only occasional noise from exterior door when other guests approaching the one adjacent room. Only other noise I noticed was the Disneyland fireworks, although there may be street/highway noise in some of the buildings (we were next to Clementine St., which was pretty quiet). Plenty of stuff for kids to do at the hotel: one main 5.5 ft. deep pool (big enough for splashing around, too crowded for laps) and two wading pools (3 ft. and 1.5 ft) for the younger kids. Also a spa/jacuzzi in a different part of the grounds. Basketball court that didn't quite look full size. A little playground structure for preschoolers. We drove our car nearly every day for various outings, and although we sometimes had to park pretty far from our room, we were always able to find a spot in the hotel's lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're flying into town, and have the option, take JetBlue to Long Beach (LGB) airport. This tiny airport (4 gates) is the closest drive to Anaheim, and you won't spend an hour just walking through the terminal. If you plan your return flight for the late afternoon or evening, you can spend your last day at Knott's Berry Farm, which is along the highway between Disneyland and the Long Beach airport!

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Anaheim Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vidalia
Family
Nebraska
May 26, 2010

Nice place.You could totally live there

We stayed 4 nights at Residence Inn during our trip to Disney Land. I loved the look of the place. Very much like mini-condos. It was so nice not to have to hear people milling up and down the hallway on the way to their rooms at all hours of the day. The price is right. Spacious room with fully equipped kitchen. Mattress was SUPER firm. Nice and clean. Park-like landscaping. Cute little playground. Good for maybe 7 yr olds and under. BBall court on premises that a lot of teens/preteens were using to burn off energy...nice! Pool looked nice. I think there was a kiddie pool there too. We didn't use the pool as it was a little on the chilly side in May. Close enough to Disney to walk if you don't want to jump on the bus. Buffet style breakfast is pretty good. Changed a few items on buffet a little daily. Make your own waffle, cereal, muffins, yogurt etc always available. We did IHOP one day and spent $45 for 2 adults and a small child (Milk was $4 a glass). Skip that...eat the breakfast at the hotel. Just down the street from the Cheescake Factory, Bubba Gump Shrimp and other good restaurants. Garden Walk mall in that area too. Downsides for us: The maid didn't get to our room til mid afternoon when we were always back there letting our little one nap before going back to Disney. So, 3 of the 4 days, we didn't get our room cleaned. No biggie. We just asked for extra towels. The day before we left, the gas got turned off in the morning. That means no hot water. Not really the hotel's fault...it was a maintenance thing that couldn't be avoided, but it was inconvenient. Luckily, we could boil water in the kitchen so we still got a warm bath. And the hotel gave us 50% off for that night. Even with the inconveniences, we would totally stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Buy an ART bus pass for $4 a day per person (available at the Disney desk in the lobby) and they will pick you up right on the hotel grounds and take you to the park and back. Save your energy for all the walking you do in the park. Use the ticket as much as you want all day, so you can jump a bus on another route and go different places.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Anaheim Maingate

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyHotelShopper
Family
Bakersfield, CA
May 12, 2010

The best family vacation ever!

This was truly the best family vacation we have had. The hotel made the trip. It is walking distance to Disneyland and an outdoor shopping mall. The hot breakfast and afternoon snacks were perfect. We made dinner the kitchen and that saved us a lot of money! We are going to do it all over again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Anaheim Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Yuba City, CA
May 10, 2010

Loads of extras

I attended a conference at the Anaheim Convention Center which was walking distance and my family went to Disneyland. Location was great. Rooms were crowded because of the kitchen but well worth it. They will even do your shopping for you. But if you want to go out to eat, there are many great restaurants around to walk to. Very happy with our stay there, only downside was the room upstairs had children who were jumping off the bunk beds at 10pm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The Grocery stores were at least 3 miles away, so plan to drive, or in my case, didn't have a car - give a shopping list to the front desk by 9am and they don't charge you for this service.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Anaheim Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Santa Rosa, CA
Apr 26, 2010

Good Location

Great location for Disneyland and Restaurants. Right next door to the Anaheim Garden Walkway. Go for the restaurants, movie theater not the shopping. Hotel is pretty clean overall. Bathroom could use a little upgrade/cleaning, but not bad! Some street noise if your room is directly by the street, but quite overall. Did not hear any neighbors at all and hotel was full. Buffet breakfast good for being free. Friendly staff, clean nice surroundings. No dressers in room, limited closet space in studio. Recommend for couple or two people sharing a bed. Bed was very uncomfortable. Seemed like a small queen. We had to have them add some "padding" to our mattress, which they were more than happy to do. They will also grocery shop for you for free if needed. I have stayed in a 2 bedroom before and really enjoyed it a lot more than the studio. Great price via [...] when booking 30 days in advance!! Could not beat the price/location for this type of hotel accommodations. Pool was a good size, about average. No complaints other than the bed. Would only stay again if booking a room with a king size bed. No studios have king size beds. Hotel easy access to Main Street shopping mall, Newport/Laguna/Huntington beach (non-commuter traffic hours).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to dress up, however the foold at the Cheesecake Factory and McCormick. Price is very reasonable for the quality and quanity of food. Our dinners were great at both restaurants.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Anaheim Maingate

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KentuckyDakota
Family
Santa Rosa, Ca
Apr 22, 2010

Like Coming Home, But Better!

Travelers ages 13-74. This is the second time in 6 months that we've stayed at the Residence Inn Maingate. Worth the price! We will stay here from now on. It consistently has friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast is amazing as well as the evening treat they put out. Monday we had nachos and Tuesday a selection of cookies. They keep coffee and hot water for tea going all day which is a great bonus. So nice to come back from Disney and sip a hot drink. There is a "Market" in the main building with everything from snacks to Advil available at reasonable prices. Disney Kiosk is just inside and staff is helpful for Disney tickets, shuttle tickets and times, as well as ideas of other things to do in the area. The rooms themselves were spacious and quiet. Heard no noise from neighbors. The kitchen is fully stocked-had no trouble finding a can opener, pots, pans, microwavable dishes, even a microwave bacon crisper! The beds were comfortable-though not the sofa sleeper. Bring a foam matress topper if you plan to use it or a blow up matress. The bathrooms are clean, shower water plenty, hot and easy to adjust. Plenty of towels put out each day. We had our toilet clog- called the front desk and they sent someone up within 3 minutes to unclog it. The walk to Disney was fine for our teens but would be a bit long for little ones or us old folks. Besides, the bus ride was fun and a good chance to visit with other hotel guests. Only down side- We didn't want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast can be busy and noisy depending on the time of year. Usually there is a table or two free outside on the patio and it is quiet and pleasent out there. Also, you can always carry food back to your room and enyoy it in your kithen.

Back to menu Return to top