$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

4 stars
1850 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
301 reviews
Great Stay at Hotel

It was close to Disneyland 15 minute walk and had a great time with our family enjoyed the free... See full review

  • Kyle Love the Beach
  • Oct 9, 2014
Pleasant stay

Good location, short walk to disneyland. Nice room. See full review

  • Xuzhi
  • Oct 5, 2014
Although it's known as one of the Anaheim Disneyland hotels, The Red Lion Hotel Anaheim offers the humble atmosphere of a friendly California inn, and business travelers will appreciate the 5,000-square-feet of event space and free Wi-Fi (fees may apply) throughout the property. The sleek, glass-walled hotel greets its guests with comfy low-rise chairs on the terraces and swaying palms out front. Making a play on its name with the Roaring Start breakfast, the Red Lion also makes the most of its location, with outdoor fire pits to keep guests toasty-warm while watching the weekend Disney fireworks. There's a relaxed family feel to Red's Pasta Kitchen, and the outdoor pool offers heated luxury until 9:00pm every night.
Key facts
  • 310 guestrooms
  • 2 restaurants: Red's Pasta Kitchen, Cafe 2Go
  • Pets allowed (for additional fees)
  • 5,000-square-feet of conference and event space
  • Outdoor heated pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Free Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
The Anaheim Red Lion Hotel stands on West Katella Avenue, among other Disneyland 'good neighbor' family hotels, a few moments from the California Adventure Park's main gate and the free-to-stroll avenues and attractions at Downtown Disney. Baseball enthusiasts will love the fact that Angel Stadium is less than two miles away from the hotel, while the enormous Honda Center, at the east end of Katella Avenue, plays host to the Anaheim Ducks hockey team and welcomes some of biggest names in show business for arena-sized concerts.
Hints and tips
When booking, bear in mind that rooms facing the pool have the best views of the nightly fireworks at Disneyland.
After a day spent pounding the resort pavement, tired legs can hop on the ART no. 6 to the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Lion Hotel Anaheim also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Rooms

Standard queen
standard queen offers two queen beds Non-Smoking. Renovated Room - This room features two queen size beds, free internet access, 32 inch flat screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, in-room safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. Bath amenities provided by Bath and Body Works.
Standard King
King Bed Non-Smoking. Renovated Room - This room features one king size bed, free internet access, 32 inch flat screen TV with a large working desk and ergonomic chair, in-room safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. Bath amenities provided by Bath and Body Works.
Premium Queen
Premium queen offers two queens Disneyland Fireworks View Room. Renovated room type featuring two queen beds, free internet, 37 inch flat screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, in-room safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. Disneyland fireworks display is viewable from your room. Bath amenities provided by Bath and Body Works. Rollaway not available.
Standard King
Standard king Handicap offers one king bed as non smoking. This 378 square foot room features lowered closet bars and peep hole with TDD available. Three units have roll in showers -- 136, 236 and 303 - request only. Amenities include free wireless internet, cable TV including free HBO, ESPN and Disney Channel, pay-per-view movies, in-room safe, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard King
Standard king Handicap offers king bed as non smoking Roll In Shower. This 378 square foot room features Amenities include free wireless internet, cable TV including free HBO, ESPN and Disney Channel, pay-per-view movies, in-room safe, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. ADA features include lowered closet bars and peep hole, handrails near toilet and shower, handheld showerhead, wide doorways, and lever door handles. Room also has TDD available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Grove: 1.7 mi
  • Edison Field: 1.9 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 9.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Step Out of the Ordinary- The Red Lion Hotel Anaheim offers over 5,000 square feet of flexible meeting space accommodating groups up to 350 people. Choose from one of their new vibrant indoor spaces or host your event in a casual poolside setting for informal meetings and private celebrations. Professional conference specialists are on-site to take care of all your needs, including initial planning, complete audio/visual support and full-service catering. Their focus is to leave a lasting impression by offering exceptional service and amenities that make your meeting or event both successful and easy. For Business: They are experienced in helping manage tradeshows, seminars, workshops, think tanks, retreats, board meetings, sales presentations, press conferences, book signings, training sessions, and product demonstrations. The list goes on and on.

Dining

Red's Pasta Kitchen
Red's Pasta Kitchen offers a casual dining experience serving contemporary Italian. Their family-friendly restaurant offers something for everyone, all in a comfortable atmosphere. Starting November 14, 2011 their dining hours will change to the following: Breakfast- Monday - Friday 6:30 am - 9:30 am; Saturday - Sunday 7:30 am - 10:30 am Dinner and Rooms service daily 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Red's Lounge
Come enjoy your favorite drink, dinner and appetizer in Red's Lounge.
Cafe 2Go
Their Cafe 2Go offers an inviting lounge area adjacent to the front desk and lobby making it the perfect location for morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. Its grab-n-go concept incorporates a quick menu with hot items allowing you to get out and about quickly. Its savvy creations allow for smart, productive power lunches between meetings. Open 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slee
Business
san jose,ca
Jul 8, 2009

good location

do not stay at the ground level rooms... you can hear plumbing noise of the whole building all nite long

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DisneyFan789123
Business
Illinois
Dec 21, 2011

"Resort Fees" ruined otherwise good experience

The hotel was a quick 10 min walk to the Disney resort. Rooms were remodeled with a nice contemporary design, sheet-wrapped blanket linens, flat screen TVs, and free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel seemed very clean, and overall was very nice. Breakfast was a hot buffet style with fresh fruits, eggs, pancakes, and juices. It is served in the restaurant that becomes Red's Pasta Restaurant in the afternoon and evenings. The staff interaction was mainly evening desk staff, with the only negative they mis-dated my parking ticket, so I was unable to get into the parking lot on the 2nd night of the 4 night stay. A quick trip to the desk resolved the issue. The breakfast staff was friendly. Overall I was pleased.... until checkout, when the clerk asked, 'Do you want the resort fee charged to your card on file?" Resort Fee?!?!? Its minimal, but on top of the negotiated price, they add an additional fee that you are required to pay. Because of the resort fee, I cannot recommend this hotel. Good bye Red Lion! I plan to never give you any business in the future. Enjoy your shake down... oops... I mean "resort fee."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buying and Printing Disney tickets online from their website before going to the park can result in a nice savings, plus you don't have to wait in line at Disneyland to buy the tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dylpickle
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Not worth the money!

We were greeted nicely and the staff was great upon arrival. We got to the hotel and were eager to swim. The pool was a heated but still super cold. Unfortunately there was no jacuzzi but there were towels at the pool. They had bonfire pits but not lit. The room itself was done poorly for being recently remodeled. The carpet was already ripping in the hallways. The comforters were paper thin but the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were done very nicely. Overall our experience was as good as a motel 6. It was super over priced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel does off a shuttle at an extra charge to the guests. The woman at the guest services lied to us and said one block away would charge us also. When clearly the tram that picks up in the Toy Story parking lot is free!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr.Rayy
Business
Beverly Hills, CA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

The RED LION :(

We arrive at the red lion hotel at 2.30 pm check in was around 1pm and our room was not ready they had us wait in the hotel lobby for about 20 mins to get a room ready for us once he had our room the people staying in the room next to us were very loud and could hear the whole conversation, when we tried to go to sleep at 1am there were kids running around and banging on our door we could not sleep also our tv was not working in the room all the channels were blurry all over bad experience we will not stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

none

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angry Customer12233333
Business
washington
Jun 23, 2013

Comparable to the hollywood tower of terror

There were many things that went wrong during our stay at the hotel. First, when we checked in the fromt desk the clerk said that our reservation was not until a later date and that later that she mentioned was actually the date we were supposed to check out. Second, the clerk sent us to a room with a view of another building in front of us. To add, this building was not 100 yards away it was 2 feet away from our window. My booking said amusement park view or something a like. So we had to pack our belongings to ask the clerk to move us to another room that says what we paid for. Luckily, they had openings otherwise, It would have been quite of a night.Third, the fire alarm went off at 1 in the morning and the hotel said it was a false alarm. Finally, the people who worked there wasn't friendly. I mean, this is a hospitality business afterall correct?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EricChan
Business
Seattle
Jun 27, 2013

Never Again

The hotel was fine, but I prepaid online and then the hotel itself double charged my credit card for my stay. The problem remains unresolved and I have had to call them 4 times. They have not been helpful to resolve this. I have never seen anything like this happen and I travel all the time. Total disapointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Evil Ron
Business
Eagle, Idaho
Aug 14, 2013

Seems like a nice hotel but the staff is horrible

We arrived and waited 15 minutes in line to find that they didn't have record of our online reservation. I showed him my @rbitz confirmation and he stated that the @rbitz confirmation didn't mean anything to him and that I would need to call @rbitz to get it straightened out. I called @rbitz who in turned called the front desk agent. After about 20 minutes they finally received the fax needed to check me in. We had to call house keeping 4 times before they would help us. They have a laundry room but no change machine. The gift shop isn't allowed to give change, you have to wait in the 20 minute line for the front desk to get change for you. The next mornig the fire alarm goes off at 6am and the entire hotel is evacuated for 30 minutes. They never did find out why the alarm went off. $14 for parking? Seriously? These hotels find anyway to nickel and dime people to death. Not a fan of this place. Overall it was clean and close to Mickeyland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Apr 20, 2010

DONT BOTHER

We will not stay here ever again!!! The hotel staff was downright rude to us. I asked where the pool was and was told, "oh, it is not heated so don't even bother." The television only had three working channels, and the rest were all fuzzy. DO NOT GO IF YOU ARE ON A BUDGET, LOTS OF HIDDEN FEES. Even though I paid in full with a credit card ahead of time they still charged me $40 per day for a security deposit, $14 dollars a day for parking, and $1.95 a day for something else which they didn't tell me about. They put us in the smaller tower of the hotel, in a room that was adjoining another family's room, so we could hear everything they were saying. When I called the hotel I was told there was a complimentary continental breakfast, upon arrive I found out they did not, it was a $7.95 breakfast buffet. The heat nor air conditioning worked sufficiently, and when it came on it was super noisy. The only good thing about the hotel was the proximity to Disneyland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
turned away by staff
Business
California
Sep 19, 2009

Not as expected

Upon arriving after paying additional fees online for a "room with a view of the fireworks" we were informed that if we wanted to park on Hotel property we would be charged a fee of $14.00!. This is a fee that should be advertised if the hotel were concerned with the average customer. We stepped into the room to find that the view was obscured by the palm trees next door. I went down to explain this at the front desk and was told that there were not any rooms available any higher than the 4th floor they gave us, The building has 8 floors. The clerk told me the fireworks would be higher than the trees and if there was a problem we could talk to him the next day when we leave. I ewxplained that it was 1 day stay and he proceeded to tell me that he personally watched the show from the 4th, which I found later was probably not true or he would have known that we would be watching through the trees. Unless the clerks are taught to sell at any cost without worry for the customers, which he did a very good job of not showing any concern. Ihop is a much better choice for breakfast dining due to price and size of the somewhat tiny buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Jun 28, 2010

Extremely unhappy with Hotel policy

This is one of those hotels that trys to charge you a fee per day on top of the (prepaid, in my case) fee that you are paying to stay. Most hotels in the Anaheim area will ask if you want to leave a card on file for "incidentals". I usually decline. This hotel DEMANDED it. They offer no room service, provide free wi-fi, and there is no way that I could have run up charges of $40.00 per day, which is what they were demanding that I pay them. Had I been a credit card user they would have just blocked out that space on my card (also a potential problem), but since I am not that meant that I had to fork over the money to be refunded at checkout. In fact, they took and charged my debit card without informing me that was what they were doing. So I was instantly out $40 for the duration of my trip. I was then handed a contract to sign that authorized the charge -- AFTER it had been run through. After a verbal tussle with the manager, who was not going to let me have my pre-paid room, I decided that, as they had already charged me, and the manager finally agreed to not charge me for the next day (I was only staying for the weekend), I would go ahead and stay (I felt trapped at that point). She said that they charge this fee of $40 each day of your stay -- had I been staying for 10 days they would have taken $40 each day of my stay. In this economy, in light of the fact that I haven't run into a hotel in Anaheim that does this in about 10 years (and I stay there about 5 times a year) I can only say that I will NEVER stay in this hotel again. Too bad, the rooms and location were fine. But there is no justification for charging $40.00 per day for incidentals when they don't provide any services that you would even charge to the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top