$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
View map of 1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
120 reviews
Ridiculous awesome vacation

First things first.. thanks to the stuff for making our stay a fun and relaxed vacation after been... See full review

  • Juan A.
  • Jul 13, 2015
Great location and value

Overall this is a great hotel for the price. It's right across the street from Disneyland. So... See full review

  • Gayani N.
  • Jun 19, 2015

The bright, family-friendly Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is across the street from the Disneyland Resort and is just an eight-minute walk from the park's main gates. The hotel's on-site eatery, Mimi's Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highlights include free parking, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, two guest laundries and Main Street market, a convenience store catering to busy families. Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground sprawls across seven beautifully landscaped acres and features Castaway Cove, a pirate-themed water playground for kids.

Rooms

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground features a range of room options from king-sized, queen-sized and double beds. Children's suites include bunk beds and a sofa bed, and a king-sized bed for the adults. All rooms at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground come equipped with a mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, Disney Channel, ESPN and Golf Channel, coffee maker, and free Wireless Internet. Most rooms also include a balcony.

Property features

With its seven gorgeous acres of gardens and landscaped walkways, Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground puts an emphasis on family-friendly fun. Along with Castaway Cove, the hotel also features The Garden Pool, a secluded swimming pool surrounded by gardens and mature trees. The pool is a great place for sun and relaxation for children and adults. 

Located right next door to the hotel, Mimi's Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and serves up healthy portions of American dishes in a colorful, French New Orleans-inspired atmosphere.

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is remarkably close to Disneyland, with great views of the park's breathtaking evening fireworks. The hotel's front desk also books bus tours to other Southern California destinations such as Sea World and Universal Studios.

Highlights

  • Across the street from Disneyland main gates
  • Seven private acres of gardens and private walkways
  • Castaway Cove, a Watery Pirate Playground featuring slides, water cannons and a pirate ship
  • Speedy's Sprayground. a fountain area for kids of all ages
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Nearby attractions

  • Disneyland (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Anaheim Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
Transportation

  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (12.6 mi/20.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Shuttle to Orange County, Long Beach, and Los Angeles airports (fee applies)
Policies
  • The hot tub spa, toddler pool and all water playground equipment will be closed from 5 - 16 Jan 2014.
  • Property does not offer a free continental breakfast. A valid credit card and ID must be presented at time of check-in. No third party billing.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 2.1 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 8.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 120
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kris2515
Business
La Puente, CA, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Just ok

too expensive just for the room. The only good thing was the kids pool. A little walk to Disneyland about 10 mins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amber V
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jul 26, 2014

Retro is one thing...

Outdated is another. The location is great, steps from Disneyland & easy to find. The room was cramped with furniture from 1989. The coffee maker only worked half the time, the bathroom was rusting & the AC was pitiful. The one day of our 6 days there, we slept in...we got a phone call from the front desk, asking if we were okay. Guess the DND sign on the door was unclear. Yes we are okay, we are SLEEPING. By the time we were up for the day, it was apparently too late to have our room cleaned. We came back to the room as we left it. Good thing we decided not to put our towels on the floor. Overall, it was okay. I won't stay again, but I suppose it could have been worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mattsmom
Business
MT
Feb 20, 2014

close to disney

This hotel was close to Disneyland, about a 5 min. walk. There was a fridge in the room but no microwave. There's no on-site eating, so you either had to walk down the street or go shop at their sundries store - expensive. The waterpark was ok. There's only one big slide (2 little "racer" slides# and the water is always cold. We stayed in building 4 and it had a funny smell to it #not in the room, tho#. We arrived early #noon# and they had our room ready for us. We were able to purchase our park tix there and they gave us recommendations for eating and were able to help us with other things we wanted to do. Our shuttle came early to pick us up to leave #4:30a.m.# and I was not able to go thru check out service. The lobby is closed from 12mid. to 6a.m. #I've never heard of this#. So we had to sit outside in the cold for 15 min. waiting for our van.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of dining options down the street.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disney Dad
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 5, 2012

Great Disney Location

Very close to Disneyland! The rooms were comfortable, microwave, mini fridge and Kureg coffee machine were great to have on a family holiday. 6 minute drive to Von's for groceries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MImi's Cafe next door did a good breakfast for a good value, especially the kids meals. Much better than any of the food options inside Disneyland.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
crystal Mac
Business
Fresno, California
Feb 23, 2012

Great for family

The hotel was a little old, but overall it was clean and the staff were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Familysunshine
Business
Oregon, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Average, good enough

Location is not bad but it is the furthest hotel of the street. My biggest disappointment was the pool. It seemed to me from the description that they have a pool and more, but in reality there is NO pool. It is just slides with water fountain. There is a 1ft baby pool but it is just that, baby pool. I am not sure how much I paid for it but compared to my last trip at Grand California, it was a little disappointment. I will not go back there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AMDisney
Business
Portland, Or
Jan 8, 2013

Met our needs and expectations

The only disappoint part of our stay was that there was no microwave in the room yet the Main Street Market offered a selection of food meant for a microwave. Traveling with a 4year old it would have been much easier at times to eat in but we were unable to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M2013
Business
Riverside. CA
Jul 6, 2013

Awesome Family Outy

Our fam. wanted to do something fun for the 4th of July so we thought this hotel would be exciting! considering the water playground. The only thing is on their website they show a really big pool which is false the actual pool is not that big and the water was salty. The service for the pool was not all that great cuz they ran out of towels and no one ever came to replace more. We left bk to the room. We watched the fireworks which was amazing! had dinner and bk to the room. Overall our stay was awesome! we enjoyed our room and the water play. Thank u.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Disneyland!

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fam vacation
Business
Berkeley, CA
Dec 28, 2010

Good location, but new paint smell in rm

The hotel is close enough to Disneyland. It is an easy walk there. The water park and pool are great. The down side to our stay is that they were renovating parts of the hotel and they put us in a room on the same level as where the renovation was taking place. Our room smelled of new paint. I had also requested a room facing the pool and had paid extra for it. But when we were assigned the room, it had only a small window facing the pool. I didn't feel like I got my money's worth. The house keeping staff were great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkable to Disneyland

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DLP600
Business
Chatsworth, CA
Mar 29, 2011

Exactly as expected

We went on a short family vacation to Disneyland. Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The water park at the hotel for small kids was fantastic. Very close to Disneyland but there were many hotels that were even closer. The shorter the walk after a long day at Disneyland the better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top