$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
View map of 1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Portland Pappa
Business
West Linn, OR
Aug 25, 2014

A great stay.

What a great stay. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and it was definitely worth the cost. But I do have a few notes: Location: The location was great for the first couple days at the hotel, but by days 3 and 4 the walk to the park gates was wearing us down. We are a pretty young and mobile family with a double stroller ... I wouldn't recommend this walk for smaller children who have to walk the whole way, especially after a long day at Disney. Amenities: The splash park was amazing for the kids, but the hotel didn't have much else in the way of amenities. No breakfast/food service, no fitness facilities. There was free wi-fi. There also was a gift shop and sundries, with the expected high prices. I think the hotel was well worth the cost just for the ability to let the kids cool off in the splash park, but I don't know how it compares with other hotels in the area price-wise, so I only gave it 4 out of 5 here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were able to purchase snacks and lunch items for the park at Walmart Neighborhood market for $20 for the whole week. The market is less than 5 minute drive away, and likely saved us over $100 for the week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hestew
Business
Arizona
Dec 3, 2014

Fun waterpark

This hotel was great! The only reason it got 4 stars is that at $200 a night you pay for every bit plus some. Breakfast was not even included!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Volleyball Oregon
Business
Portland, Oregon
Nov 22, 2014

Perfect for Disney

Would stay here when I can't stay on property. It is cheaper, but easy access to food, great view of fireworks and free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaui Traveller
Business
Okotoks
Dec 30, 2014

Great Retro Hotel Close to Disneyland

We stayed for 6 days over Christmas in building #1. The Hotel was beautifully decorated for the season. We had a queen bed and a bunk bed in our room which was small, but functional. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. It was surprisingly quiet for being only steps away from the freeway. It took approximately 40 minutes to drive there from LAX, parking was free and close to the building. There is no restaurant on site and no gym for those who are so inclined. There are plenty of amenities near by though. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bunk beds were suitable for kids or a small teenager. If you want more space, stick to a standard room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mimi's was great for breakfast and appetizers and drinks. It is right across the street from the hotel. Make reservations in advance if you don't want to wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MTN. MOM
Business
Colorado
Apr 28, 2014

Great experience!

This stay was incredible! We loved the room, the bed was super comfortable with plenty of pillows and clean linens! The bathroom was clean and the shower rocked! The swimming pools were amazing and fun to play and relax in! The location was perfect! Not to close to Disney, but it was just close enough where we could come back and rest in the middle of the day without to much walking! We would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect location to Disney

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 3, 2008

Disneyland Convenient

The Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel in Anaheim, CA is a great place to stay - especially when visiting Disneyland. We were able to park at the hotel (at no additional charge) and walk to the main entrance of Disneyland - they even allow you to keep your car there the day you check out. It is very family friendly as there is a game room, laundry facilities, two pools, kids splash area, etc. I have already recommended the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The main entrance to Disneyland and California Adventure is just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 14, 2007

Perfect for Disneyland Trip!

Check-in was smooth and easy - even accommodated our early arrival. The room was of good size and comfortable with a nice view off of our patio. The best part was that we were across the street from Disneyland - easy walking distance and in the midst of the festive atmosphere. My son loved the pool as well as my husband. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mimi's Cafe is across the street. The food is very good, reasonably priced and the portions are large enough to share most items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucky grandparents
Business
West Hills, CA
Jul 30, 2009

Perfect for families

This was our 2nd time staying at Howard Johnson's across from Disneyland. We went with another family this trip and had asked for connecting rooms, which was honored. Each room was large enough for 2 queen beds, a table and chairs, desk, TV, microwave, fridge, armoire, etc. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a long counter for all of our stuff. Everything was in perfect working condition. The housekeepers were generous with towels, soaps, shampoo, etc. and kept the rooms very clean. The hotel grounds were enhanced by trees, shrubs and flowers and also kept very clean. The big draw for us - the Pirate water park, which was WAY better than we expected. The water features were fun, creative and age appropriate (we had 3 boys with us ages 5-11). They had so much fun that they did not want to leave for dinner. We stayed 3 nights with no problems whatsoever. The hotel kept our luggage for us on the last day so that we could go back to Disneyland and called a taxi for us when we were ready to leave. They could not have been more accommodating or pleasant. We would definitely stay here again. PS. The rooms here are cleaner, newer and roomier than the Disneyland Hotel and for about 1/3 the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EcuaMex
Business
SSF, CA
Aug 8, 2010

Great Service

This hotel is the the best for families - the kids love the Pirates Cove and the adult pool as well. So close to Disneyland and California Adventure. The service was great as well. We will definetly return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Great place to stay!

It was surprisingly comfortable, clean, and roomy! Very kid friendly as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mimi's Cafe is right across the street and yummy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top