$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
View map of 1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E Family
Business
Arlington,WA
Jul 1, 2009

Clean, great hotel staff.

Great above average hotel. Best for children 10 and under. Not all that close to Disneyland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3MNDO
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 8, 2011

...an

Took the exact same trip 3 years prior but at that time we stayed at the newly remodeled Sheraton Park. This trip was every bit as nice! We were able to walk to Disneyland/California Adventure, plenty of places to eat (i.e. McDonalds, Mimi's cafe). Enjoyed the stay, both pools, and our 7 year old loved the water park on site. The store in Building 1, had everything you could want and for pretty decent prices, especially compared to Disneyland. On our final night (and a 15 hour day at Disneyland) we came back to find our room had been flooded by a AC unit leak upstairs. The management moved us to a room close by, gave a fair discount, and allowed a later checkout. No one is perfect, but we appreciated the effort in making it better for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Allow for walking time to park, especially on Magical Mornings. Five minutes for fast walkers, 15 for slower.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jla
Business
phoenix
Apr 22, 2009

nice hotel, good location

We wanted a decent hotel for a good price and ho jo didn't let us down. The room was clean and the front desk staff was extremely nice. Great hotel for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to disney and downtown disney for entertainment after the parks closed.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bremerton, WA
Aug 6, 2009

Great location, reasonable value

Very convenient to Disneyland. The hotel kid's waterpark was a great time. No breakfast served, something which has become almost standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We used the shuttle bus. It was especially welcome after a long day at the park.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catattack
Business
Montana
Jun 15, 2014

Super service!

This hotel is a great choice if you're planning a Disney vacation. Location is perfect, the staff is top notch and goes above and beyond for their guests. They were very knowledgable about the area, attractions, beaches and transportation. The only thing I would note is the water playground is designed for very small kids which I didn't realize, but there is a seperate pool for older kids and adults. I would definitely choose this hotel again. The only improvement I would make is to add a continental breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago girl 70
Business
Chicago il
Aug 1, 2014

Great location to Disney

The hotel was in a really great location to Disney. It was a quick, easy walk to Disney and probably a. Better location than Disney hotels. The water play area was a huge hit , kids played for hours there. The pool was warm and clean. While the room was not really fancy, it was adequate, clean and the bee was very comfortable. I do not drink coffee but a coffee station would be nice. Staff was extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Portland Pappa
Business
West Linn, OR
Aug 25, 2014

A great stay.

What a great stay. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and it was definitely worth the cost. But I do have a few notes: Location: The location was great for the first couple days at the hotel, but by days 3 and 4 the walk to the park gates was wearing us down. We are a pretty young and mobile family with a double stroller ... I wouldn't recommend this walk for smaller children who have to walk the whole way, especially after a long day at Disney. Amenities: The splash park was amazing for the kids, but the hotel didn't have much else in the way of amenities. No breakfast/food service, no fitness facilities. There was free wi-fi. There also was a gift shop and sundries, with the expected high prices. I think the hotel was well worth the cost just for the ability to let the kids cool off in the splash park, but I don't know how it compares with other hotels in the area price-wise, so I only gave it 4 out of 5 here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were able to purchase snacks and lunch items for the park at Walmart Neighborhood market for $20 for the whole week. The market is less than 5 minute drive away, and likely saved us over $100 for the week.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hestew
Business
Arizona
Dec 3, 2014

Fun waterpark

This hotel was great! The only reason it got 4 stars is that at $200 a night you pay for every bit plus some. Breakfast was not even included!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Volleyball Oregon
Business
Portland, Oregon
Nov 22, 2014

Perfect for Disney

Would stay here when I can't stay on property. It is cheaper, but easy access to food, great view of fireworks and free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaui Traveller
Business
Okotoks
Dec 30, 2014

Great Retro Hotel Close to Disneyland

We stayed for 6 days over Christmas in building #1. The Hotel was beautifully decorated for the season. We had a queen bed and a bunk bed in our room which was small, but functional. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. It was surprisingly quiet for being only steps away from the freeway. It took approximately 40 minutes to drive there from LAX, parking was free and close to the building. There is no restaurant on site and no gym for those who are so inclined. There are plenty of amenities near by though. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bunk beds were suitable for kids or a small teenager. If you want more space, stick to a standard room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mimi's was great for breakfast and appetizers and drinks. It is right across the street from the hotel. Make reservations in advance if you don't want to wait.

Back to menu Return to top