$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
View map of 1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alaskan Joe
Business
Big Lake, Alaska
May 9, 2012

Disney 2012

Overall an excellent stay, the staff was awesome, and Pirates Cove was perfect for the kids! The location was nice and quick to Disney allowing us to make trips back for breaks. My only real complaint was the room was older in that you could see it was in need of a remodel. To HJ credit it looks like another building was already under way for a remodel. We will be back for another stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try Alerto's Mexican restuarant, great food and the prices are way cheap compared to other eateries. Bring cash, as they don't do credit cards. Food was awesome!

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Chickens
Business
Long Beach, WA
Jun 28, 2012

Wonderful Vacation

We stayed five night in a home away from home. Our room was recently renovated and very clean. The beds were super comfortable! The staff was friendly and very helpful. The two pools and on-site store were a nice bonus. This was our second stay and I would definitely go back next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mimi's Restaurant: Right across the street. Great food...great prices!

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Traveling O
Business
Central Valley, California
Nov 4, 2012

Very close to Disneyland entrance

For a reasonable price, this very nice hotel is very close to the main Disneyland entrance on Harbor Blvd. ... close enough to get back and forth with my power scooter. We plan to stay here on every visit from now on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Better than parking at Disneyland's parking lot!

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Henry Family
Business
Port Orchard, Wa
Nov 13, 2012

weekend getaway...

stayed here pretty much for the mini-waterpark. The kids had a blast playing there even though the water was freezing! The 1ft kiddie pool was great for our 18m old. the building we were located in was one of the smaller, two floor buildings. They were undergoing some renovations so there were little nails poking up out along the floorboards. not a huge deal, we just made sure our kids didn't try to go near them. The main issue we had with our building was there wasnt an elevator. It made it difficult when we made the walk back from disney with two sleeping kids in our double stroller. instead of rolling them in the room still asleep, we had to take one kid up the stairs at a time while the other waited with the stroller. The room we had was the two doubles and overall the room was fine, it was small, but comfortable and clean. The WiFi could have been better. We could hardly keep a connection, and when we had one it was pretty slow. We did request a crib when we booked the room, but they did not give us one. Since we brought our pack n play, we didn't bother to ask if they even had any available to us. The walk to Disney was not bad at all. we were able to stop in at McDonalds for a quick breakfast before heading to the park. I think the location was perfect.. Also, while we were there we checked the bank statement and they charged us $20 for some unknown reason. We asked about it at checkout and they said it was a mistake and it would be reversed. If you stay here, I would suggest keeping an eye on that just in case they charge more and dont realize it. Overall I think we were paying for the location and the watermark, both of which I found to be great. The issues we had were minor enough that I would stay here again. Next time though, I would try to get a bottom floor, or get a better room in order to be in the main building that does have elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandpapa
Business
Niland, Ca
Mar 1, 2013

Good Clean Hotel

Good clean hotel. Thought it was a bit high in price compared to some other hotels. However, it is near Disneyland and fulfilled our needs. helpful staff and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining restaurants such as Mimi nearby and reasonable. Disneyland prices unreasonable.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jrope
Business
Anneheim, California
Mar 7, 2013

Excellent time at the HoJo!

We had room 1-602 which seemed to be one of the renovated King Kid Suites. If its in your budget, this is the way to go. Kids room has bunk beds, bathroom and small play/tv area for the kids. Adult room has bathroom, king bed and small sitting area. Plenty of space for a big family. Rooms were cozy and clean. The only compaint would be the water pressure in the shower and the temperature of the water coming out of the shower. These are only small complaints as it did not affect my enjoyment level at all. The kids water area is great. Kids can play and have a great time while the parents can sit back and enjoy the hot tub. There is also a full size pool in another area on the grounds if you want to swim. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The gift/mart shop was nice but limiting. They had most of the items you may need but if your looking for a full mart type shop, it lacks. Game room was fun for kids. The walk to Disneyland is 10-15 minutes. We had a great time, can't wait to go back and stay at the HoJo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rdaigle
Business
White Castle, Louisiana
Aug 2, 2013

Disneyland Vacation

This hotel is in a great location. The kids really enjoyed the water park and swimming pool. The hotel is a true eight minute walk to the gates of Disney Land or Adventure Land. You can rent hotels with closer walking distances but I would choose this hotel every time. It was a truly great experience for our family and we hope to come back some day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Eight Minute walk to Disneyland no rental car needed!

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Running Gal
Business
Commerce City CO
Aug 12, 2013

Fantastic Family Friendly Getaway

The hotel staff was very friendly and prompt in replacing our refrigerator that wasn't working when we checked in. The rooms were large and very clean. Our youngest loved the kids water park after a full day at Disneyland and we liked the hot tub! I wish there were a 2nd hot tub by the "grown up" pool and maybe was a bit larger. I also wish the two pools were closer together since It made it somewhat difficult to split our time between pools for our 13 year old and 7 year old. The location was great for our family to walk the 15 min. from the hotel to Disneyland and the savings on the complimentary parking was a HUGE plus for us! I would definitely stay again for another trip to Disneyland since it was so "family friendly", affordable, very clean, great location, and close to many restaurants you can easily walk to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great and affordable pizza, try the Pizza Press along the short walk to Disneyland. The Pizza Press and all the Disney food courts were very accommodating with our sons severe peanut allergy.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
212westwash
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 4, 2013

Construction during out stay

The hotel was remodeling two rooms on our hallway during our stay. The noise was so bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Splash123
Business
Seattle, WA
May 28, 2014

Family value

Clean rooms on large property. Walk to the Disney entrance in three to five blocks. Part of it borders I-5 so don't expect tranquility, but the rooms were quiet.. Family style restaurants a within a few blocks. Grocery and other suburban shopping on the other side of the interstate. The water playground and pool are cute so don't expect to do a lap swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top