$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
119 reviews
Room to spread out

We was able to get double rooms. Nice feature ample room for a family of five. See full review

  • Fantomer
  • Aug 30, 2014
Under-rated Hotel

Our stay was excellent. I was leery because of its age and HoJo is really not the best hotel chain,... See full review

  • AZ Desert Rat
  • Jun 14, 2014
Fun and relaxation for the whole family at this amenity-packed hotel next to Disneyland

The bright, family-friendly Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is across the street from the Disneyland Resort and is just an eight-minute walk from the park's main gates. The hotel's on-site eatery, Mimi's Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highlights include free parking, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, two guest laundries and Main Street market, a convenience store catering to busy families. Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground sprawls across seven beautifully landscaped acres and features Castaway Cove, a pirate-themed water playground for kids.

Highlights

  • Across the street from Disneyland main gates
  • Seven private acres of gardens and private walkways
  • Castaway Cove, a Watery Pirate Playground featuring slides, water cannons and a pirate ship
  • Speedy's Sprayground. a fountain area for kids of all ages
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Rooms

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground features a range of room options from king-sized, queen-sized and double beds. Children's suites include bunk beds and a sofa bed, and a king-sized bed for the adults. All rooms at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground come equipped with a mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, Disney Channel, ESPN and Golf Channel, coffee maker, and free Wireless Internet. Most rooms also include a balcony.

Features

With its seven gorgeous acres of gardens and landscaped walkways, Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground puts an emphasis on family-friendly fun. Along with Castaway Cove, the hotel also features The Garden Pool, a secluded swimming pool surrounded by gardens and mature trees. The pool is a great place for sun and relaxation for children and adults. 

Located right next door to the hotel, Mimi's Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and serves up healthy portions of American dishes in a colorful, French New Orleans-inspired atmosphere.

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is remarkably close to Disneyland, with great views of the park's breathtaking evening fireworks. The hotel's front desk also books bus tours to other Southern California destinations such as Sea World and Universal Studios.

Transportation

  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (12.6 mi/20.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Shuttle to Orange County, Long Beach, and Los Angeles airports (fee applies)
Attractions

  • Disneyland (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Anaheim Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
Policies & fees
  • The hot tub spa, toddler pool and all water playground equipment will be closed from 5 - 16 Jan 2014.
  • Property does not offer a free continental breakfast. A valid credit card and ID must be presented at time of check-in. No third party billing.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.814 -117.9146
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 2.1 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 8.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sillygurl
Ventura, CA
Dec 28, 2010

Nice hotel

Stayed at HoJo Xmas eve 2010. Overall great stay. Room was smaller than expected but was sufficient for our needs. Quick walk to Disney. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Henry Family
Port Orchard, Wa
Nov 13, 2012

weekend getaway...

stayed here pretty much for the mini-waterpark. The kids had a blast playing there even though the water was freezing! The 1ft kiddie pool was great for our 18m old. the building we were located in was one of the smaller, two floor buildings. They were undergoing some renovations so there were little nails poking up out along the floorboards. not a huge deal, we just made sure our kids didn't try to go near them. The main issue we had with our building was there wasnt an elevator. It made it difficult when we made the walk back from disney with two sleeping kids in our double stroller. instead of rolling them in the room still asleep, we had to take one kid up the stairs at a time while the other waited with the stroller. The room we had was the two doubles and overall the room was fine, it was small, but comfortable and clean. The WiFi could have been better. We could hardly keep a connection, and when we had one it was pretty slow. We did request a crib when we booked the room, but they did not give us one. Since we brought our pack n play, we didn't bother to ask if they even had any available to us. The walk to Disney was not bad at all. we were able to stop in at McDonalds for a quick breakfast before heading to the park. I think the location was perfect.. Also, while we were there we checked the bank statement and they charged us $20 for some unknown reason. We asked about it at checkout and they said it was a mistake and it would be reversed. If you stay here, I would suggest keeping an eye on that just in case they charge more and dont realize it. Overall I think we were paying for the location and the watermark, both of which I found to be great. The issues we had were minor enough that I would stay here again. Next time though, I would try to get a bottom floor, or get a better room in order to be in the main building that does have elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jla
phoenix
Apr 22, 2009

nice hotel, good location

We wanted a decent hotel for a good price and ho jo didn't let us down. The room was clean and the front desk staff was extremely nice. Great hotel for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to disney and downtown disney for entertainment after the parks closed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3MNDO
Denver, CO
Aug 8, 2011

...an

Took the exact same trip 3 years prior but at that time we stayed at the newly remodeled Sheraton Park. This trip was every bit as nice! We were able to walk to Disneyland/California Adventure, plenty of places to eat (i.e. McDonalds, Mimi's cafe). Enjoyed the stay, both pools, and our 7 year old loved the water park on site. The store in Building 1, had everything you could want and for pretty decent prices, especially compared to Disneyland. On our final night (and a 15 hour day at Disneyland) we came back to find our room had been flooded by a AC unit leak upstairs. The management moved us to a room close by, gave a fair discount, and allowed a later checkout. No one is perfect, but we appreciated the effort in making it better for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Allow for walking time to park, especially on Magical Mornings. Five minutes for fast walkers, 15 for slower.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sharksgrl
California
Mar 13, 2011

Great experience

Our second stay at this property. Clean, comfortable room. Will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E Family
Arlington,WA
Jul 1, 2009

Clean, great hotel staff.

Great above average hotel. Best for children 10 and under. Not all that close to Disneyland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paso Robles, CA
Jul 11, 2008

Very Family Friendly

This visit was good. Not to far from Disneyland to walk (2 Blocks to the walk in entrance). You could pay for the hotel shuttle but they run every 20 min. and you would get to your hotel and be in bed sooner than that. Very comfortable and very clean especially for the clean freak that I am. Worth the money for the cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short walk to Mc Donald's, a cafe, and Stone cold creamery. Another short drive to Tony Roma's, our personal favorite for steak and ribs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samshaw
Temecula, CA, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Great family hotel

The rooms were average, but the customer service was above and beyond. My three year old had a great time at the kiddie pool too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami-FL
Mar 24, 2009

Good Hotel

Good Hotel in CA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mpls., MN
Jan 22, 2011

Disneyland Vacation

Our stay at Howard Johnson Anaheim was great. We were able to walk to the Disneyland entrance in less than 10 minutes. Mimi's restaurant was good. There are several dining options within walking distance. The outdoor hot tub is nice and hot! The pools and grounds are well maintained. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search