$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
View map of 1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Familysunshine
Business
Oregon, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Average, good enough

Location is not bad but it is the furthest hotel of the street. My biggest disappointment was the pool. It seemed to me from the description that they have a pool and more, but in reality there is NO pool. It is just slides with water fountain. There is a 1ft baby pool but it is just that, baby pool. I am not sure how much I paid for it but compared to my last trip at Grand California, it was a little disappointment. I will not go back there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AMDisney
Business
Portland, Or
Jan 8, 2013

Met our needs and expectations

The only disappoint part of our stay was that there was no microwave in the room yet the Main Street Market offered a selection of food meant for a microwave. Traveling with a 4year old it would have been much easier at times to eat in but we were unable to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M2013
Business
Riverside. CA
Jul 6, 2013

Awesome Family Outy

Our fam. wanted to do something fun for the 4th of July so we thought this hotel would be exciting! considering the water playground. The only thing is on their website they show a really big pool which is false the actual pool is not that big and the water was salty. The service for the pool was not all that great cuz they ran out of towels and no one ever came to replace more. We left bk to the room. We watched the fireworks which was amazing! had dinner and bk to the room. Overall our stay was awesome! we enjoyed our room and the water play. Thank u.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Disneyland!

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fam vacation
Business
Berkeley, CA
Dec 28, 2010

Good location, but new paint smell in rm

The hotel is close enough to Disneyland. It is an easy walk there. The water park and pool are great. The down side to our stay is that they were renovating parts of the hotel and they put us in a room on the same level as where the renovation was taking place. Our room smelled of new paint. I had also requested a room facing the pool and had paid extra for it. But when we were assigned the room, it had only a small window facing the pool. I didn't feel like I got my money's worth. The house keeping staff were great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkable to Disneyland

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DLP600
Business
Chatsworth, CA
Mar 29, 2011

Exactly as expected

We went on a short family vacation to Disneyland. Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The water park at the hotel for small kids was fantastic. Very close to Disneyland but there were many hotels that were even closer. The shorter the walk after a long day at Disneyland the better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Althea's Mom
Business
Breckenridge, Colorado
Jun 19, 2011

Great for the price

The HoJo is close walking distance to the gates at Disney. There were restaurants in the area and they never had a wait. The pirate cove kids pool area is ok; it looks a lot bigger in the online pictures. Rooms are basic but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I wouldn't waste money on a shuttle from the hotel to Disneyland. Our daughter, who turned four while we were there, walked to and from the park each day without trouble.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blaine, Wa
Jan 26, 2011

Great location

My family went to Disneyland for 6 days and the hotel has a great location. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. We would have preferred a continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodridge, IL
Jun 17, 2010

My one day stay

For the price and location it was a good value. I'm glad my kids were under the age of 10 because the pool was just right for their age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonalds and family restaurants

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1stTimeHoJo
Business
Concord, CA
Dec 10, 2009

Not bad but not great either!

It was farther away from the park than we thought:-( We thought shuttle service was a good idea until we found out there is no schedule to plan around and only comes by hotel every 20 min. That's a long time to stand with a kids who have been walking all day at the park. (EXTRA NOTE: children under 9 free with adult. Didn't see this until AFTER we paid for our 5 yr old. Hotel should have known and not charged us). This hotel is also RIGHT NEXT to Hwy 5 so ask for a room AWAY from fwy!! Was very noisy and room actually would "rumble" when a big truck went by!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tlotz
Business
colorado
Jun 28, 2014

Just Ok...

Just ok for us. The only nice thing about this hotel is its location to Disney. Staff looked bothered and wasn't all that friendly. Next time we will chose something different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top