$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
View map of 1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M2013
Business
Riverside. CA
Jul 6, 2013

Awesome Family Outy

Our fam. wanted to do something fun for the 4th of July so we thought this hotel would be exciting! considering the water playground. The only thing is on their website they show a really big pool which is false the actual pool is not that big and the water was salty. The service for the pool was not all that great cuz they ran out of towels and no one ever came to replace more. We left bk to the room. We watched the fireworks which was amazing! had dinner and bk to the room. Overall our stay was awesome! we enjoyed our room and the water play. Thank u.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Disneyland!

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fam vacation
Business
Berkeley, CA
Dec 28, 2010

Good location, but new paint smell in rm

The hotel is close enough to Disneyland. It is an easy walk there. The water park and pool are great. The down side to our stay is that they were renovating parts of the hotel and they put us in a room on the same level as where the renovation was taking place. Our room smelled of new paint. I had also requested a room facing the pool and had paid extra for it. But when we were assigned the room, it had only a small window facing the pool. I didn't feel like I got my money's worth. The house keeping staff were great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkable to Disneyland

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DLP600
Business
Chatsworth, CA
Mar 29, 2011

Exactly as expected

We went on a short family vacation to Disneyland. Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The water park at the hotel for small kids was fantastic. Very close to Disneyland but there were many hotels that were even closer. The shorter the walk after a long day at Disneyland the better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Althea's Mom
Business
Breckenridge, Colorado
Jun 19, 2011

Great for the price

The HoJo is close walking distance to the gates at Disney. There were restaurants in the area and they never had a wait. The pirate cove kids pool area is ok; it looks a lot bigger in the online pictures. Rooms are basic but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I wouldn't waste money on a shuttle from the hotel to Disneyland. Our daughter, who turned four while we were there, walked to and from the park each day without trouble.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blaine, Wa
Jan 26, 2011

Great location

My family went to Disneyland for 6 days and the hotel has a great location. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. We would have preferred a continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodridge, IL
Jun 17, 2010

My one day stay

For the price and location it was a good value. I'm glad my kids were under the age of 10 because the pool was just right for their age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonalds and family restaurants

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1stTimeHoJo
Business
Concord, CA
Dec 10, 2009

Not bad but not great either!

It was farther away from the park than we thought:-( We thought shuttle service was a good idea until we found out there is no schedule to plan around and only comes by hotel every 20 min. That's a long time to stand with a kids who have been walking all day at the park. (EXTRA NOTE: children under 9 free with adult. Didn't see this until AFTER we paid for our 5 yr old. Hotel should have known and not charged us). This hotel is also RIGHT NEXT to Hwy 5 so ask for a room AWAY from fwy!! Was very noisy and room actually would "rumble" when a big truck went by!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tlotz
Business
colorado
Jun 28, 2014

Just Ok...

Just ok for us. The only nice thing about this hotel is its location to Disney. Staff looked bothered and wasn't all that friendly. Next time we will chose something different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, il
Aug 9, 2014

Good

Nothing special but if you plan on spending most of your day at Disney, it's good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thanop
Business
Chicago, il
Aug 8, 2014

Did the trick

We had a good experience at this hotel but spent most of our time out of the hotel. It is an 8 minute walk to Disney which is just right. The room is rather outdated and the hallways were warm and smelled musty. The kiddie splash area is fun. The pool was nice but was mostly deep water and little shallow water. The staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top