$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2014 Check-out: May 3, 2014

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
109 reviews
Great waterpark hotel within walking distance to Disneyland

Staff was extremely helpful and courtesy. Check in was at 4pm, our plane arrived at 10:30am - hotel... See full review

  • BB Momma
  • Oct 18, 2013
Mold Smell

The rooms were very nice, We certainly had plenty to do while we were there. Busy all the time with... See full review

  • 212westwash
  • Sep 4, 2013
Fun and relaxation for the whole family at this amenity-packed hotel next to Disneyland

The bright, family-friendly Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is across the street from the Disneyland Resort and is just an eight-minute walk from the park's main gates. The hotel's on-site eatery, Mimi's Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highlights include free parking, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, two guest laundries and Main Street market, a convenience store catering to busy families. Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground sprawls across seven beautifully landscaped acres and features Castaway Cove, a pirate-themed water playground for kids.

Highlights

  • Across the street from Disneyland main gates
  • Seven private acres of gardens and private walkways
  • Castaway Cove, a Watery Pirate Playground featuring slides, water cannons and a pirate ship
  • Speedy's Sprayground. a fountain area for kids of all ages
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Rooms

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground features a range of room options from king-sized, queen-sized and double beds. Children's suites include bunk beds and a sofa bed, and a king-sized bed for the adults. All rooms at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground come equipped with a mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, Disney Channel, ESPN and Golf Channel, coffee maker, and free Wireless Internet. Most rooms also include a balcony.

Features

With its seven gorgeous acres of gardens and landscaped walkways, Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground puts an emphasis on family-friendly fun. Along with Castaway Cove, the hotel also features The Garden Pool, a secluded swimming pool surrounded by gardens and mature trees. The pool is a great place for sun and relaxation for children and adults. 

Located right next door to the hotel, Mimi's Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and serves up healthy portions of American dishes in a colorful, French New Orleans-inspired atmosphere.

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is remarkably close to Disneyland, with great views of the park's breathtaking evening fireworks. The hotel's front desk also books bus tours to other Southern California destinations such as Sea World and Universal Studios.

Transportation

  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (12.6 mi/20.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Shuttle to Orange County, Long Beach, and Los Angeles airports (fee applies)
Attractions

  • Disneyland (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Anaheim Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
Policies & fees
  • The hot tub spa, toddler pool and all water playground equipment will be closed from 5 - 16 Jan 2014.
  • Property does not offer a free continental breakfast. A valid credit card and ID must be presented at time of check-in. No third party billing.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.814 -117.9146
Area description
Entertainment district

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 2.1 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 8.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
109 out of 109
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
2boys Mom
Redmond, WA
Oct 31, 2010

best for kids

Great for families with small kids (we have 2 and 4 year olds). 5 min walk to Disneyland, which is perfect, considering that you have to walk all day long throughout the park. Mimi's cafe is right across the street (excellent menu). Staff is ok, check-in and out is really fast. We wanted a pool view room,because hotel is right next to I-5, and it was quiet. This was our best vacation ever!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
grandmom bird
philadelphia,pa.
Jun 22, 2011

wonderful family vacation hotel

we really liked this hotel. It had it all, comfort,roomy and close to everything. would go back in a heartbeat!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Jun 5, 2007

Even The Mouse Would Be Pleased

The price was great, and the locations seemed to be just what we wanted. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find just what a great deal this really was. We were minutes away from Disneyland, there were many restaurants available, the room was a nice size and very clean, and the parking was free. There was even a great giftshop on site with a little bit of everything. We defintely will be staying there on our next Disneyland trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
Sasha
Loveland, CO, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Family vacation

We loved, loved, loved this hotel!! Room was quiet and well maintained. The kids LOVED the "water park". There were days that they wanted to go to swim more than visit Disneyland. Shuttle stop just outside of hotel was very useful at night when you don't want to carry the kids home the half mile from Disney. Staff was very friendly and always available for help when needed. Can't say anything bad about the hotel. We are definantly going to stay there again at our next trip to Orange County. The free nightly fireworks display was an added bonus, the baby could sleep while our older one got to watch from just outside the room already in her PJ's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 28, 2008

Very Family Friendly

It was a great experience!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

So close to Disneyland

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
212westwash
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 4, 2013

Mold Smell

The rooms were very nice, We certainly had plenty to do while we were there. Busy all the time with all the theme parks. The only complaint was the bad mold smell that came from the sink just outside the toliet room. I had to hold my breathe every time I went by. The room was 1217. Other than that everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant near by.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
Tired SuperMOM
Butte, MT
Jun 3, 2010

Best for young children!

This is a great value and the only place to stay with small children!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Shop for breakfast items before checking in or even in their little market (fair prices)! Refrigerator in room.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
SalenaArt
San Francisco
Apr 22, 2013

Great time for the kids and the grown ups

We had a blast. The staff was super nice and able to accommodate our daughter's friend in our bedroom which was very nice of them. We were able to walk back and forth the entrance of Disneyland in minutes with two little kids (5 and 6) with no problem. The hotel has this very nice cafe restaurant right across the street,where we had nice healthy breakfast every day before entering the park, where the choice for healthier food is kind of scarce. The BEST feature of the hotel is the water park. The kids by 3 4pm always wanted to relax and go back to the hotel and play at the water park where is the perfect place for adults to relax and socialize while the kids play freely, for an hour or two before the evening meal and more park time. Perfect. The room was super clean and very comfortable. We travel a lot inside and outside the country and this hotel is surely a 5 stars for the price and location. We are surely staying here on our next trip to Disneyland. Thank you guys for making our trip even more magical!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the Hotel there is Mimi's cafe. Very nice food, great kids meal deal. Healthy and great value!

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
new york
Jan 4, 2011

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Anaheim

very nice clean , profesionally maintained, hotel service very helpfull. plenty of good places to eat short walk from hotel . Disney entrance is a short walk from resort . Freeway near would stay again next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennys , Tony Roma , McDonalds , Italian , IHOP and others within short drive

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
Lucky grandparents
West Hills, CA
Jul 30, 2009

Perfect for families

This was our 2nd time staying at Howard Johnson's across from Disneyland. We went with another family this trip and had asked for connecting rooms, which was honored. Each room was large enough for 2 queen beds, a table and chairs, desk, TV, microwave, fridge, armoire, etc. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a long counter for all of our stuff. Everything was in perfect working condition. The housekeepers were generous with towels, soaps, shampoo, etc. and kept the rooms very clean. The hotel grounds were enhanced by trees, shrubs and flowers and also kept very clean. The big draw for us - the Pirate water park, which was WAY better than we expected. The water features were fun, creative and age appropriate (we had 3 boys with us ages 5-11). They had so much fun that they did not want to leave for dinner. We stayed 3 nights with no problems whatsoever. The hotel kept our luggage for us on the last day so that we could go back to Disneyland and called a taxi for us when we were ready to leave. They could not have been more accommodating or pleasant. We would definitely stay here again. PS. The rooms here are cleaner, newer and roomier than the Disneyland Hotel and for about 1/3 the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top