$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
119 reviews
Room to spread out

We was able to get double rooms. Nice feature ample room for a family of five. See full review

  • Fantomer
  • Aug 30, 2014
Under-rated Hotel

Our stay was excellent. I was leery because of its age and HoJo is really not the best hotel chain,... See full review

  • AZ Desert Rat
  • Jun 14, 2014
Fun and relaxation for the whole family at this amenity-packed hotel next to Disneyland

The bright, family-friendly Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is across the street from the Disneyland Resort and is just an eight-minute walk from the park's main gates. The hotel's on-site eatery, Mimi's Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highlights include free parking, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, two guest laundries and Main Street market, a convenience store catering to busy families. Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground sprawls across seven beautifully landscaped acres and features Castaway Cove, a pirate-themed water playground for kids.

Highlights

  • Across the street from Disneyland main gates
  • Seven private acres of gardens and private walkways
  • Castaway Cove, a Watery Pirate Playground featuring slides, water cannons and a pirate ship
  • Speedy's Sprayground. a fountain area for kids of all ages
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Rooms

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground features a range of room options from king-sized, queen-sized and double beds. Children's suites include bunk beds and a sofa bed, and a king-sized bed for the adults. All rooms at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground come equipped with a mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, Disney Channel, ESPN and Golf Channel, coffee maker, and free Wireless Internet. Most rooms also include a balcony.

Features

With its seven gorgeous acres of gardens and landscaped walkways, Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground puts an emphasis on family-friendly fun. Along with Castaway Cove, the hotel also features The Garden Pool, a secluded swimming pool surrounded by gardens and mature trees. The pool is a great place for sun and relaxation for children and adults. 

Located right next door to the hotel, Mimi's Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and serves up healthy portions of American dishes in a colorful, French New Orleans-inspired atmosphere.

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is remarkably close to Disneyland, with great views of the park's breathtaking evening fireworks. The hotel's front desk also books bus tours to other Southern California destinations such as Sea World and Universal Studios.

Transportation

  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (12.6 mi/20.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Shuttle to Orange County, Long Beach, and Los Angeles airports (fee applies)
Attractions

  • Disneyland (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Anaheim Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
Policies & fees
  • The hot tub spa, toddler pool and all water playground equipment will be closed from 5 - 16 Jan 2014.
  • Property does not offer a free continental breakfast. A valid credit card and ID must be presented at time of check-in. No third party billing.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.814 -117.9146
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 2.1 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 8.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anaheim, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Great place to stay!

It was surprisingly comfortable, clean, and roomy! Very kid friendly as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mimi's Cafe is right across the street and yummy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amanda22
Canada
Oct 12, 2010

Horrible!

I called the hotel a few days before to make sure we had a quiet room, the staff member assured me it was. We were celebrating my birthday (my bf and I) and were going to Disneyland. When we got there and checked in, they gave us a handicap room and it was located right beside the child pool area. Definitely not quiet! I called the front desk to ask to move to a different room and they put us in a smaller room in a dumpy location of the hotel. Paint was chipping off the walls. No elevator either so we had to carry our baggage up the stairs. They didn't even have real numbers on the doors! They were print outs! It was quieter, however, it was right beside the hotel cleaning supply closet. All we could hear all day and night was hotel staff going in and out of that room. Our bathroom was dirty, example hairs in the bathtub and the toilet area. There were also an infestation of bugs all over our window area! Disgusting! I didn't have the energy to ask to a different room again so we stayed there but was not very happy. There was also a flood light right around the ceiling area of our room that made it impossible to sleep as it illuminated the whole place! When we checked out, the front desk person didn't even ask us about our stay or anything. Very unprofessional. We will not be staying here ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Disneyland

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Urgently concerned
Austin, TX, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Not Worth the Thought

The staff was not helpful. The room was not not up to standards. Smelled bad, not sure if the sheets were as clean as they could be. There are 0 smoking rooms even if they have a balcony. On top of that the toilet was like a cheap bar toilet, felt gross just sitting on it! Save your money and go elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Nov 18, 2007

Get there early!

We had a later flight in the evening, so byt the time we checked in only the poor location rooms were available. By poor location I mean I could almost have jump off the balcony onto the highway! You may as well have slept on the side of the road. I can't say if the other side of the building was any better, but after going to Disneyland and then trying to sleep it was pretty rough...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to Disneyland

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 9, 2008

just ok

This hotel was good for sleeping only, the room was right next to the freeway and one could hear it all night. The location was a five minute walk from Disneyland, but other than this it was just ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mimi's Cafe is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kris2515
La Puente, CA, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Just ok

too expensive just for the room. The only good thing was the kids pool. A little walk to Disneyland about 10 mins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Blaine, Wa
Jan 26, 2011

Great location

My family went to Disneyland for 6 days and the hotel has a great location. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. We would have preferred a continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver
Jul 1, 2009

Fun pool! not so fun room!

very handy to get to Disneyland entrance, fun pool for kids, nice staff([...])!! Room smelled funny when air conditioner was running. Bathroom was very outdated and very small, kind of yucky! Very noisy next to freeway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very handy for morning coffee at McDonalds or Mimi's cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AMDisney
Portland, Or
Jan 8, 2013

Met our needs and expectations

The only disappoint part of our stay was that there was no microwave in the room yet the Main Street Market offered a selection of food meant for a microwave. Traveling with a 4year old it would have been much easier at times to eat in but we were unable to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, il
Aug 9, 2014

Good

Nothing special but if you plan on spending most of your day at Disney, it's good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tlotz
colorado
Jun 28, 2014

Just Ok...

Just ok for us. The only nice thing about this hotel is its location to Disney. Staff looked bothered and wasn't all that friendly. Next time we will chose something different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search