$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 11, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
View map of 1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
134 reviews
Family Trip

Close to the Disneyland, walking distance. Great little water park and swimming pools. See full review

  • Traveler12345
  • Mar 10, 2015
Awesome trip!

We had a great time. Hotel was very accommodating. See full review

  • Granna of 7
  • Mar 10, 2015
Fun and relaxation for the whole family at this amenity-packed hotel next to Disneyland

The bright, family-friendly Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is across the street from the Disneyland Resort and is just an eight-minute walk from the park's main gates. The hotel's on-site eatery, Mimi's Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highlights include free parking, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, two guest laundries and Main Street market, a convenience store catering to busy families. Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground sprawls across seven beautifully landscaped acres and features Castaway Cove, a pirate-themed water playground for kids.

Highlights

  • Across the street from Disneyland main gates
  • Seven private acres of gardens and private walkways
  • Castaway Cove, a Watery Pirate Playground featuring slides, water cannons and a pirate ship
  • Speedy's Sprayground. a fountain area for kids of all ages
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Rooms

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground features a range of room options from king-sized, queen-sized and double beds. Children's suites include bunk beds and a sofa bed, and a king-sized bed for the adults. All rooms at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground come equipped with a mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, Disney Channel, ESPN and Golf Channel, coffee maker, and free Wireless Internet. Most rooms also include a balcony.

Features

With its seven gorgeous acres of gardens and landscaped walkways, Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground puts an emphasis on family-friendly fun. Along with Castaway Cove, the hotel also features The Garden Pool, a secluded swimming pool surrounded by gardens and mature trees. The pool is a great place for sun and relaxation for children and adults. 

Located right next door to the hotel, Mimi's Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and serves up healthy portions of American dishes in a colorful, French New Orleans-inspired atmosphere.

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is remarkably close to Disneyland, with great views of the park's breathtaking evening fireworks. The hotel's front desk also books bus tours to other Southern California destinations such as Sea World and Universal Studios.

Transportation

  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (12.6 mi/20.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Shuttle to Orange County, Long Beach, and Los Angeles airports (fee applies)
Attractions

  • Disneyland (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Anaheim Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
Policies & fees
  • The hot tub spa, toddler pool and all water playground equipment will be closed from 5 - 16 Jan 2014.
  • Property does not offer a free continental breakfast. A valid credit card and ID must be presented at time of check-in. No third party billing.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 2.1 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 8.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 134
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
212westwash
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 4, 2013

Mold Smell

The rooms were very nice, We certainly had plenty to do while we were there. Busy all the time with all the theme parks. The only complaint was the bad mold smell that came from the sink just outside the toliet room. I had to hold my breathe every time I went by. The room was 1217. Other than that everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant near by.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
212westwash
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 4, 2013

Construction during out stay

The hotel was remodeling two rooms on our hallway during our stay. The noise was so bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Coast of California
Jan 18, 2011

Reasonable for area

It's a reasonable place. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. It's noisy due to proximity to the freeway and Disney across the street (fireworks at 9:30PM every night). Since it's so kid-friendly, there are lots of them around. When we wanted to sleep, we just turned on the air handler and drowned out what noise there was with no problem. Free parking was fantastic. Many hotels in the area charge as much as $15 per night for parking so this was a great surprise. Free Wi-Fi was also useful and it was pretty fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

PF Chang and California Pizza Kitchen near the convention center. It's either a short drive or a long walk.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portlamd, OR
Oct 21, 2010

Hassle Free

Not much to say. The Room was clean. 5 minute walk to Disneyland. Checkout on the TV. Check in was a snap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amanda22
Business
Canada
Oct 12, 2010

Horrible!

I called the hotel a few days before to make sure we had a quiet room, the staff member assured me it was. We were celebrating my birthday (my bf and I) and were going to Disneyland. When we got there and checked in, they gave us a handicap room and it was located right beside the child pool area. Definitely not quiet! I called the front desk to ask to move to a different room and they put us in a smaller room in a dumpy location of the hotel. Paint was chipping off the walls. No elevator either so we had to carry our baggage up the stairs. They didn't even have real numbers on the doors! They were print outs! It was quieter, however, it was right beside the hotel cleaning supply closet. All we could hear all day and night was hotel staff going in and out of that room. Our bathroom was dirty, example hairs in the bathtub and the toilet area. There were also an infestation of bugs all over our window area! Disgusting! I didn't have the energy to ask to a different room again so we stayed there but was not very happy. There was also a flood light right around the ceiling area of our room that made it impossible to sleep as it illuminated the whole place! When we checked out, the front desk person didn't even ask us about our stay or anything. Very unprofessional. We will not be staying here ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Disneyland

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fan Disney
Business
Seattle WA
Mar 13, 2010

HJ Anaheim

Staff is helpful, hotel, pool and property always clean. We only stay at this hotel in Anaheim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jozymouse
Business
Montreal, Canada
Jan 13, 2010

AMAZING hotel + Location

That was our third stay at the Hojo Anaheim and we will keep on coming back!!! Its a 7 minute walk to Disneyland, the rooms are big, nice and really clean, the bed is REALLY comfy. Having a fridge and microwave in the room is a big plus. Parking is free and staff is very helpful and friendly. We got a free upgrade to a bigger room on the poolside. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the happiest place on earth!! Disneyland!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Garden Walk is a huge complex with many chain restaurants: Bubba Gump, Cheesecake factory etc + free parking if staying less than 2 hours.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jla
Business
phoenix
Apr 22, 2009

nice hotel, good location

We wanted a decent hotel for a good price and ho jo didn't let us down. The room was clean and the front desk staff was extremely nice. Great hotel for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to disney and downtown disney for entertainment after the parks closed.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami-FL
Mar 24, 2009

Good Hotel

Good Hotel in CA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 23, 2008

Clean room, friendly staff

The staff was very friendly, the room very clean. Extra towels were in the room everyday, that was nice. Location was good, we liked being next door to Mimi's Cafe and walking distance to the main Disney entrance. The shower was a little odd in that it was impossible not to have water get on the bathroom floor, but cleanliness made up for that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top