$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
121 reviews
Under-rated Hotel

Our stay was excellent. I was leery because of its age and HoJo is really not the best hotel chain,... See full review

  • AZ Desert Rat
  • Jun 14, 2014
Great experience!

This stay was incredible! We loved the room, the bed was super comfortable with plenty of pillows... See full review

  • MTN. MOM
  • Apr 28, 2014
Spend your next family vacation at this Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground. Walk to a day with your favorite characters and rides at Disneyland across the street, or to the Anaheim Garden Walk or Downtown Disney for shopping and entertainment. Book a tour of Universal Studios Hollywood or Sea World San Diego minutes away. Enjoy French and American food at Mimis Cafe across the street from this smoke-free lodging. Take the family to the on-site water playground, Castaway Cove, with slides, water cannons and a pirate ship. Toddlers can also join in the fun at the onsite Speedys Sprayground with splash fountains and a kiddie pool. Enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access, complimentary parking and game room. Take advantage of the shuttle service to and from Disneyland for a small charge. Stay productive in the lobby with printing services. Guest rooms include coffee-maker, refrigerator and lush bedding, or book a suite with microwave, balcony and views of Disneyland.

Hotel Map

33.814 -117.9146
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 2.1 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 8.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MTN. MOM
Colorado
Apr 28, 2014

Great experience!

This stay was incredible! We loved the room, the bed was super comfortable with plenty of pillows and clean linens! The bathroom was clean and the shower rocked! The swimming pools were amazing and fun to play and relax in! The location was perfect! Not to close to Disney, but it was just close enough where we could come back and rest in the middle of the day without to much walking! We would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect location to Disney

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 3, 2008

Disneyland Convenient

The Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel in Anaheim, CA is a great place to stay - especially when visiting Disneyland. We were able to park at the hotel (at no additional charge) and walk to the main entrance of Disneyland - they even allow you to keep your car there the day you check out. It is very family friendly as there is a game room, laundry facilities, two pools, kids splash area, etc. I have already recommended the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The main entrance to Disneyland and California Adventure is just a short walk away.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 14, 2007

Perfect for Disneyland Trip!

Check-in was smooth and easy - even accommodated our early arrival. The room was of good size and comfortable with a nice view off of our patio. The best part was that we were across the street from Disneyland - easy walking distance and in the midst of the festive atmosphere. My son loved the pool as well as my husband. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mimi's Cafe is across the street. The food is very good, reasonably priced and the portions are large enough to share most items.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucky grandparents
West Hills, CA
Jul 30, 2009

Perfect for families

This was our 2nd time staying at Howard Johnson's across from Disneyland. We went with another family this trip and had asked for connecting rooms, which was honored. Each room was large enough for 2 queen beds, a table and chairs, desk, TV, microwave, fridge, armoire, etc. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a long counter for all of our stuff. Everything was in perfect working condition. The housekeepers were generous with towels, soaps, shampoo, etc. and kept the rooms very clean. The hotel grounds were enhanced by trees, shrubs and flowers and also kept very clean. The big draw for us - the Pirate water park, which was WAY better than we expected. The water features were fun, creative and age appropriate (we had 3 boys with us ages 5-11). They had so much fun that they did not want to leave for dinner. We stayed 3 nights with no problems whatsoever. The hotel kept our luggage for us on the last day so that we could go back to Disneyland and called a taxi for us when we were ready to leave. They could not have been more accommodating or pleasant. We would definitely stay here again. PS. The rooms here are cleaner, newer and roomier than the Disneyland Hotel and for about 1/3 the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EcuaMex
SSF, CA
Aug 8, 2010

Great Service

This hotel is the the best for families - the kids love the Pirates Cove and the adult pool as well. So close to Disneyland and California Adventure. The service was great as well. We will definetly return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 27, 2011

With only a short walk to Disneyland

With only a short walk to Disneyland this is a great place to stay - this was our third visit. Clean, comfortable with helpful staff. What more can you ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anaheim, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Great place to stay!

It was surprisingly comfortable, clean, and roomy! Very kid friendly as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mimi's Cafe is right across the street and yummy!

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nataliegu3
West Jordan, UT, USA
Apr 23, 2012

AMAZING

this hotel was good walking distance for Disneyland. The staff was polite & helpful. The room was clean & safe. They cleaned our room & never once touched our luggage, or anything was missing. (Once I even left $5 on the dresser & it was there when I returned, and our beds were made)!! We chose not to go to the built in waterpark until the last day & we REGRETTED IT!!!! our kids LOVED the waterpark (totally included in hotel stay) and we wished we would have left Disneyland a bit early EVERYDAY and let them chill at the waterpark. Best value ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

the water park!! I loved how it had a shallow pool for my toddler too. both my kids were in heaven. They almost had more fun here then at disneyland! (~seriously~)

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fritz F
St. Louis, MO
Feb 25, 2013

Location is perfect

Across the street from Disneyland. No problem parking - a short walk to entrance. Though it was chilly weather, the waterpark was a lot of fun too. Our son loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SalenaArt
San Francisco
Apr 22, 2013

Great time for the kids and the grown ups

We had a blast. The staff was super nice and able to accommodate our daughter's friend in our bedroom which was very nice of them. We were able to walk back and forth the entrance of Disneyland in minutes with two little kids (5 and 6) with no problem. The hotel has this very nice cafe restaurant right across the street,where we had nice healthy breakfast every day before entering the park, where the choice for healthier food is kind of scarce. The BEST feature of the hotel is the water park. The kids by 3 4pm always wanted to relax and go back to the hotel and play at the water park where is the perfect place for adults to relax and socialize while the kids play freely, for an hour or two before the evening meal and more park time. Perfect. The room was super clean and very comfortable. We travel a lot inside and outside the country and this hotel is surely a 5 stars for the price and location. We are surely staying here on our next trip to Disneyland. Thank you guys for making our trip even more magical!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the Hotel there is Mimi's cafe. Very nice food, great kids meal deal. Healthy and great value!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search