$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
187 reviews
Under-rated Hotel

Our stay was excellent. I was leery because of its age and HoJo is really not the best hotel chain,... See full review

  • AZ Desert Rat
  • Jun 14, 2014
Great experience!

This stay was incredible! We loved the room, the bed was super comfortable with plenty of pillows... See full review

  • MTN. MOM
  • Apr 28, 2014
Fun and relaxation for the whole family at this amenity-packed hotel next to Disneyland

The bright, family-friendly Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is across the street from the Disneyland Resort and is just an eight-minute walk from the park's main gates. The hotel's on-site eatery, Mimi's Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highlights include free parking, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, two guest laundries and Main Street market, a convenience store catering to busy families. Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground sprawls across seven beautifully landscaped acres and features Castaway Cove, a pirate-themed water playground for kids.

Highlights

  • Across the street from Disneyland main gates
  • Seven private acres of gardens and private walkways
  • Castaway Cove, a Watery Pirate Playground featuring slides, water cannons and a pirate ship
  • Speedy's Sprayground. a fountain area for kids of all ages
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Rooms

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground features a range of room options from king-sized, queen-sized and double beds. Children's suites include bunk beds and a sofa bed, and a king-sized bed for the adults. All rooms at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground come equipped with a mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, Disney Channel, ESPN and Golf Channel, coffee maker, and free Wireless Internet. Most rooms also include a balcony.

Features

With its seven gorgeous acres of gardens and landscaped walkways, Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground puts an emphasis on family-friendly fun. Along with Castaway Cove, the hotel also features The Garden Pool, a secluded swimming pool surrounded by gardens and mature trees. The pool is a great place for sun and relaxation for children and adults. 

Located right next door to the hotel, Mimi's Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and serves up healthy portions of American dishes in a colorful, French New Orleans-inspired atmosphere.

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is remarkably close to Disneyland, with great views of the park's breathtaking evening fireworks. The hotel's front desk also books bus tours to other Southern California destinations such as Sea World and Universal Studios.

Transportation

  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (12.6 mi/20.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Shuttle to Orange County, Long Beach, and Los Angeles airports (fee applies)
Attractions

  • Disneyland (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Anaheim Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
Policies & fees
  • The hot tub spa, toddler pool and all water playground equipment will be closed from 5 - 16 Jan 2014.
  • Property does not offer a free continental breakfast. A valid credit card and ID must be presented at time of check-in. No third party billing.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.814 -117.9146
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 2.1 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 8.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wrinkleyboo
Idaho
Feb 3, 2011

Excellent

This hotel was great. It only took about 5 minutes to walk to McDonalds and another 5 minutes after that to walk to Disneyland. The pool was super fun. It was warm and fun to play in, even though the temps outside were in the high 60 to low 70's. It would have been nice if the hotel had breakfast but that aside, it was perfect. The staff did an excellent job meeting our daily needs in parking, towels, and all other requests. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were facing Disney but our room was the closest to the interstate in that building but I couldnt hear a thing! We were very pleased and would absolutley stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

With small kids and only a weekend to enjoy Disneyland, it was great that McDonalds was close by. We ate there most every night! Quiznos and Ihop were close as well.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wrinkleyboo
Idaho
Feb 3, 2011

Excellent

This hotel was great. It only took about 5 minutes to walk to McDonalds and another 5 minutes after that to walk to Disneyland. The pool was super fun. It was warm and fun to play in, even though the temps outside were in the high 60 to low 70's. It would have been nice if the hotel had breakfast but that aside, it was perfect. The staff did an excellent job meeting our daily needs in parking, towels, and all other requests. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were facing Disney but our room was the closest to the interstate in that building but I couldnt hear a thing! We were very pleased and would absolutley stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

With small kids and only a weekend to enjoy Disneyland, it was great that McDonalds was close by. We ate there most every night! Quiznos and Ihop were close as well.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Blaine, Wa
Jan 26, 2011

Great location

My family went to Disneyland for 6 days and the hotel has a great location. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. We would have preferred a continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Blaine, Wa
Jan 26, 2011

Great location

My family went to Disneyland for 6 days and the hotel has a great location. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. We would have preferred a continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mpls., MN
Jan 22, 2011

Disneyland Vacation

Our stay at Howard Johnson Anaheim was great. We were able to walk to the Disneyland entrance in less than 10 minutes. Mimi's restaurant was good. There are several dining options within walking distance. The outdoor hot tub is nice and hot! The pools and grounds are well maintained. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mpls., MN
Jan 22, 2011

Disneyland Vacation

Our stay at Howard Johnson Anaheim was great. We were able to walk to the Disneyland entrance in less than 10 minutes. Mimi's restaurant was good. There are several dining options within walking distance. The outdoor hot tub is nice and hot! The pools and grounds are well maintained. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central Coast of California
Jan 18, 2011

Reasonable for area

It's a reasonable place. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. It's noisy due to proximity to the freeway and Disney across the street (fireworks at 9:30PM every night). Since it's so kid-friendly, there are lots of them around. When we wanted to sleep, we just turned on the air handler and drowned out what noise there was with no problem. Free parking was fantastic. Many hotels in the area charge as much as $15 per night for parking so this was a great surprise. Free Wi-Fi was also useful and it was pretty fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

PF Chang and California Pizza Kitchen near the convention center. It's either a short drive or a long walk.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central Coast of California
Jan 18, 2011

Reasonable for area

It's a reasonable place. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. It's noisy due to proximity to the freeway and Disney across the street (fireworks at 9:30PM every night). Since it's so kid-friendly, there are lots of them around. When we wanted to sleep, we just turned on the air handler and drowned out what noise there was with no problem. Free parking was fantastic. Many hotels in the area charge as much as $15 per night for parking so this was a great surprise. Free Wi-Fi was also useful and it was pretty fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

PF Chang and California Pizza Kitchen near the convention center. It's either a short drive or a long walk.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Jan 4, 2011

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Anaheim

very nice clean , profesionally maintained, hotel service very helpfull. plenty of good places to eat short walk from hotel . Disney entrance is a short walk from resort . Freeway near would stay again next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennys , Tony Roma , McDonalds , Italian , IHOP and others within short drive

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Jan 4, 2011

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Anaheim

very nice clean , profesionally maintained, hotel service very helpfull. plenty of good places to eat short walk from hotel . Disney entrance is a short walk from resort . Freeway near would stay again next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennys , Tony Roma , McDonalds , Italian , IHOP and others within short drive

Back to menu Return to top