$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
187 reviews
Under-rated Hotel

Our stay was excellent. I was leery because of its age and HoJo is really not the best hotel chain,... See full review

  • AZ Desert Rat
  • Jun 14, 2014
Great experience!

This stay was incredible! We loved the room, the bed was super comfortable with plenty of pillows... See full review

  • MTN. MOM
  • Apr 28, 2014
Fun and relaxation for the whole family at this amenity-packed hotel next to Disneyland

The bright, family-friendly Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is across the street from the Disneyland Resort and is just an eight-minute walk from the park's main gates. The hotel's on-site eatery, Mimi's Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highlights include free parking, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, two guest laundries and Main Street market, a convenience store catering to busy families. Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground sprawls across seven beautifully landscaped acres and features Castaway Cove, a pirate-themed water playground for kids.

Highlights

  • Across the street from Disneyland main gates
  • Seven private acres of gardens and private walkways
  • Castaway Cove, a Watery Pirate Playground featuring slides, water cannons and a pirate ship
  • Speedy's Sprayground. a fountain area for kids of all ages
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Rooms

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground features a range of room options from king-sized, queen-sized and double beds. Children's suites include bunk beds and a sofa bed, and a king-sized bed for the adults. All rooms at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground come equipped with a mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, Disney Channel, ESPN and Golf Channel, coffee maker, and free Wireless Internet. Most rooms also include a balcony.

Features

With its seven gorgeous acres of gardens and landscaped walkways, Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground puts an emphasis on family-friendly fun. Along with Castaway Cove, the hotel also features The Garden Pool, a secluded swimming pool surrounded by gardens and mature trees. The pool is a great place for sun and relaxation for children and adults. 

Located right next door to the hotel, Mimi's Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and serves up healthy portions of American dishes in a colorful, French New Orleans-inspired atmosphere.

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is remarkably close to Disneyland, with great views of the park's breathtaking evening fireworks. The hotel's front desk also books bus tours to other Southern California destinations such as Sea World and Universal Studios.

Transportation

  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (12.6 mi/20.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Shuttle to Orange County, Long Beach, and Los Angeles airports (fee applies)
Attractions

  • Disneyland (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Anaheim Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
Policies & fees
  • The hot tub spa, toddler pool and all water playground equipment will be closed from 5 - 16 Jan 2014.
  • Property does not offer a free continental breakfast. A valid credit card and ID must be presented at time of check-in. No third party billing.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.814 -117.9146
Area description
Entertainment district

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 2.1 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 8.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nataliegu3
West Jordan, UT, USA
Apr 23, 2012

AMAZING

this hotel was good walking distance for Disneyland. The staff was polite & helpful. The room was clean & safe. They cleaned our room & never once touched our luggage, or anything was missing. (Once I even left $5 on the dresser & it was there when I returned, and our beds were made)!! We chose not to go to the built in waterpark until the last day & we REGRETTED IT!!!! our kids LOVED the waterpark (totally included in hotel stay) and we wished we would have left Disneyland a bit early EVERYDAY and let them chill at the waterpark. Best value ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

the water park!! I loved how it had a shallow pool for my toddler too. both my kids were in heaven. They almost had more fun here then at disneyland! (~seriously~)

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sasha
Loveland, CO, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Family vacation

We loved, loved, loved this hotel!! Room was quiet and well maintained. The kids LOVED the "water park". There were days that they wanted to go to swim more than visit Disneyland. Shuttle stop just outside of hotel was very useful at night when you don't want to carry the kids home the half mile from Disney. Staff was very friendly and always available for help when needed. Can't say anything bad about the hotel. We are definantly going to stay there again at our next trip to Orange County. The free nightly fireworks display was an added bonus, the baby could sleep while our older one got to watch from just outside the room already in her PJ's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sasha
Loveland, CO, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Family vacation

We loved, loved, loved this hotel!! Room was quiet and well maintained. The kids LOVED the "water park". There were days that they wanted to go to swim more than visit Disneyland. Shuttle stop just outside of hotel was very useful at night when you don't want to carry the kids home the half mile from Disney. Staff was very friendly and always available for help when needed. Can't say anything bad about the hotel. We are definantly going to stay there again at our next trip to Orange County. The free nightly fireworks display was an added bonus, the baby could sleep while our older one got to watch from just outside the room already in her PJ's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3MNDO
Denver, CO
Aug 8, 2011

...an

Took the exact same trip 3 years prior but at that time we stayed at the newly remodeled Sheraton Park. This trip was every bit as nice! We were able to walk to Disneyland/California Adventure, plenty of places to eat (i.e. McDonalds, Mimi's cafe). Enjoyed the stay, both pools, and our 7 year old loved the water park on site. The store in Building 1, had everything you could want and for pretty decent prices, especially compared to Disneyland. On our final night (and a 15 hour day at Disneyland) we came back to find our room had been flooded by a AC unit leak upstairs. The management moved us to a room close by, gave a fair discount, and allowed a later checkout. No one is perfect, but we appreciated the effort in making it better for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Allow for walking time to park, especially on Magical Mornings. Five minutes for fast walkers, 15 for slower.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3MNDO
Denver, CO
Aug 8, 2011

...an

Took the exact same trip 3 years prior but at that time we stayed at the newly remodeled Sheraton Park. This trip was every bit as nice! We were able to walk to Disneyland/California Adventure, plenty of places to eat (i.e. McDonalds, Mimi's cafe). Enjoyed the stay, both pools, and our 7 year old loved the water park on site. The store in Building 1, had everything you could want and for pretty decent prices, especially compared to Disneyland. On our final night (and a 15 hour day at Disneyland) we came back to find our room had been flooded by a AC unit leak upstairs. The management moved us to a room close by, gave a fair discount, and allowed a later checkout. No one is perfect, but we appreciated the effort in making it better for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Allow for walking time to park, especially on Magical Mornings. Five minutes for fast walkers, 15 for slower.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MINNESOTA
Jul 7, 2011

GREAT LOCATION

VERY CLEAN AND CLOSE TO EVERYTHING!! WILL STAY THERE AGAIN THEY WERE VERY PLEASANT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MINNESOTA
Jul 7, 2011

GREAT LOCATION

VERY CLEAN AND CLOSE TO EVERYTHING!! WILL STAY THERE AGAIN THEY WERE VERY PLEASANT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DKQ
Evans, Colorado
Jun 30, 2011

Loved it!!

The Howard Johnson Hotel is awesome! We took our two grandkids, and the little one said, "This is the best hotel EVER!" I think that he was impressed with the small water park that they have on the property. This hotel is only a couple blocks from the opening to the Disneyland Resort. And,almost as good, it is only a couple doors down from McDonald's! It is an older hotel,but it is in pristine condition. The grounds have beautiful landscaping. I was really enthralled by the trees that had giant, white flowers. They were breathtaking! There was only one small problem, and that was that the remote to the tv didn't work. Other than that, it was a great hotel with very helpful people working at the front desk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DKQ
Evans, Colorado
Jun 30, 2011

Loved it!!

The Howard Johnson Hotel is awesome! We took our two grandkids, and the little one said, "This is the best hotel EVER!" I think that he was impressed with the small water park that they have on the property. This hotel is only a couple blocks from the opening to the Disneyland Resort. And,almost as good, it is only a couple doors down from McDonald's! It is an older hotel,but it is in pristine condition. The grounds have beautiful landscaping. I was really enthralled by the trees that had giant, white flowers. They were breathtaking! There was only one small problem, and that was that the remote to the tv didn't work. Other than that, it was a great hotel with very helpful people working at the front desk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grandmom bird
philadelphia,pa.
Jun 22, 2011

wonderful family vacation hotel

we really liked this hotel. It had it all, comfort,roomy and close to everything. would go back in a heartbeat!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grandmom bird
philadelphia,pa.
Jun 22, 2011

wonderful family vacation hotel

we really liked this hotel. It had it all, comfort,roomy and close to everything. would go back in a heartbeat!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top