$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
119 reviews
Room to spread out

We was able to get double rooms. Nice feature ample room for a family of five. See full review

  • Fantomer
  • Aug 30, 2014
Under-rated Hotel

Our stay was excellent. I was leery because of its age and HoJo is really not the best hotel chain,... See full review

  • AZ Desert Rat
  • Jun 14, 2014
Fun and relaxation for the whole family at this amenity-packed hotel next to Disneyland

The bright, family-friendly Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is across the street from the Disneyland Resort and is just an eight-minute walk from the park's main gates. The hotel's on-site eatery, Mimi's Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highlights include free parking, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, two guest laundries and Main Street market, a convenience store catering to busy families. Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground sprawls across seven beautifully landscaped acres and features Castaway Cove, a pirate-themed water playground for kids.

Highlights

  • Across the street from Disneyland main gates
  • Seven private acres of gardens and private walkways
  • Castaway Cove, a Watery Pirate Playground featuring slides, water cannons and a pirate ship
  • Speedy's Sprayground. a fountain area for kids of all ages
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Rooms

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground features a range of room options from king-sized, queen-sized and double beds. Children's suites include bunk beds and a sofa bed, and a king-sized bed for the adults. All rooms at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground come equipped with a mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, Disney Channel, ESPN and Golf Channel, coffee maker, and free Wireless Internet. Most rooms also include a balcony.

Features

With its seven gorgeous acres of gardens and landscaped walkways, Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground puts an emphasis on family-friendly fun. Along with Castaway Cove, the hotel also features The Garden Pool, a secluded swimming pool surrounded by gardens and mature trees. The pool is a great place for sun and relaxation for children and adults. 

Located right next door to the hotel, Mimi's Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and serves up healthy portions of American dishes in a colorful, French New Orleans-inspired atmosphere.

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is remarkably close to Disneyland, with great views of the park's breathtaking evening fireworks. The hotel's front desk also books bus tours to other Southern California destinations such as Sea World and Universal Studios.

Transportation

  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (12.6 mi/20.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Shuttle to Orange County, Long Beach, and Los Angeles airports (fee applies)
Attractions

  • Disneyland (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Anaheim Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
Policies & fees
  • The hot tub spa, toddler pool and all water playground equipment will be closed from 5 - 16 Jan 2014.
  • Property does not offer a free continental breakfast. A valid credit card and ID must be presented at time of check-in. No third party billing.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.814 -117.9146
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 2.1 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 8.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CO Mom
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Jun 20, 2013

Great Disneyland experience

We stayed at this hotel, opting out of the Disneyland resort hotels to save on costs. This hotel was great for our kids 4 &7, they had so much fun at both the splash pad and bigger pool in the back. It was so refreshing after a long day at the park. We went to the pools every day we were there, and really just made the hotel experience so much better. The hotel rooms were roomy and the minnie fridge helped to hold cold waters and food so we didn't have to buy so much at the parks. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is check-in parking right up front when you first arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SalenaArt
Business
San Francisco
Apr 22, 2013

Great time for the kids and the grown ups

We had a blast. The staff was super nice and able to accommodate our daughter's friend in our bedroom which was very nice of them. We were able to walk back and forth the entrance of Disneyland in minutes with two little kids (5 and 6) with no problem. The hotel has this very nice cafe restaurant right across the street,where we had nice healthy breakfast every day before entering the park, where the choice for healthier food is kind of scarce. The BEST feature of the hotel is the water park. The kids by 3 4pm always wanted to relax and go back to the hotel and play at the water park where is the perfect place for adults to relax and socialize while the kids play freely, for an hour or two before the evening meal and more park time. Perfect. The room was super clean and very comfortable. We travel a lot inside and outside the country and this hotel is surely a 5 stars for the price and location. We are surely staying here on our next trip to Disneyland. Thank you guys for making our trip even more magical!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the Hotel there is Mimi's cafe. Very nice food, great kids meal deal. Healthy and great value!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jrope
Business
Anneheim, California
Mar 7, 2013

Excellent time at the HoJo!

We had room 1-602 which seemed to be one of the renovated King Kid Suites. If its in your budget, this is the way to go. Kids room has bunk beds, bathroom and small play/tv area for the kids. Adult room has bathroom, king bed and small sitting area. Plenty of space for a big family. Rooms were cozy and clean. The only compaint would be the water pressure in the shower and the temperature of the water coming out of the shower. These are only small complaints as it did not affect my enjoyment level at all. The kids water area is great. Kids can play and have a great time while the parents can sit back and enjoy the hot tub. There is also a full size pool in another area on the grounds if you want to swim. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The gift/mart shop was nice but limiting. They had most of the items you may need but if your looking for a full mart type shop, it lacks. Game room was fun for kids. The walk to Disneyland is 10-15 minutes. We had a great time, can't wait to go back and stay at the HoJo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandpapa
Business
Niland, Ca
Mar 1, 2013

Good Clean Hotel

Good clean hotel. Thought it was a bit high in price compared to some other hotels. However, it is near Disneyland and fulfilled our needs. helpful staff and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining restaurants such as Mimi nearby and reasonable. Disneyland prices unreasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fritz F
Business
St. Louis, MO
Feb 25, 2013

Location is perfect

Across the street from Disneyland. No problem parking - a short walk to entrance. Though it was chilly weather, the waterpark was a lot of fun too. Our son loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AMDisney
Business
Portland, Or
Jan 8, 2013

Met our needs and expectations

The only disappoint part of our stay was that there was no microwave in the room yet the Main Street Market offered a selection of food meant for a microwave. Traveling with a 4year old it would have been much easier at times to eat in but we were unable to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Henry Family
Business
Port Orchard, Wa
Nov 13, 2012

weekend getaway...

stayed here pretty much for the mini-waterpark. The kids had a blast playing there even though the water was freezing! The 1ft kiddie pool was great for our 18m old. the building we were located in was one of the smaller, two floor buildings. They were undergoing some renovations so there were little nails poking up out along the floorboards. not a huge deal, we just made sure our kids didn't try to go near them. The main issue we had with our building was there wasnt an elevator. It made it difficult when we made the walk back from disney with two sleeping kids in our double stroller. instead of rolling them in the room still asleep, we had to take one kid up the stairs at a time while the other waited with the stroller. The room we had was the two doubles and overall the room was fine, it was small, but comfortable and clean. The WiFi could have been better. We could hardly keep a connection, and when we had one it was pretty slow. We did request a crib when we booked the room, but they did not give us one. Since we brought our pack n play, we didn't bother to ask if they even had any available to us. The walk to Disney was not bad at all. we were able to stop in at McDonalds for a quick breakfast before heading to the park. I think the location was perfect.. Also, while we were there we checked the bank statement and they charged us $20 for some unknown reason. We asked about it at checkout and they said it was a mistake and it would be reversed. If you stay here, I would suggest keeping an eye on that just in case they charge more and dont realize it. Overall I think we were paying for the location and the watermark, both of which I found to be great. The issues we had were minor enough that I would stay here again. Next time though, I would try to get a bottom floor, or get a better room in order to be in the main building that does have elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Traveling O
Business
Central Valley, California
Nov 4, 2012

Very close to Disneyland entrance

For a reasonable price, this very nice hotel is very close to the main Disneyland entrance on Harbor Blvd. ... close enough to get back and forth with my power scooter. We plan to stay here on every visit from now on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Better than parking at Disneyland's parking lot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Chickens
Business
Long Beach, WA
Jun 28, 2012

Wonderful Vacation

We stayed five night in a home away from home. Our room was recently renovated and very clean. The beds were super comfortable! The staff was friendly and very helpful. The two pools and on-site store were a nice bonus. This was our second stay and I would definitely go back next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mimi's Restaurant: Right across the street. Great food...great prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alaskan Joe
Business
Big Lake, Alaska
May 9, 2012

Disney 2012

Overall an excellent stay, the staff was awesome, and Pirates Cove was perfect for the kids! The location was nice and quick to Disney allowing us to make trips back for breaks. My only real complaint was the room was older in that you could see it was in need of a remodel. To HJ credit it looks like another building was already under way for a remodel. We will be back for another stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try Alerto's Mexican restuarant, great food and the prices are way cheap compared to other eateries. Bring cash, as they don't do credit cards. Food was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top