$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
119 reviews
Room to spread out

We was able to get double rooms. Nice feature ample room for a family of five. See full review

  • Fantomer
  • Aug 30, 2014
Under-rated Hotel

Our stay was excellent. I was leery because of its age and HoJo is really not the best hotel chain,... See full review

  • AZ Desert Rat
  • Jun 14, 2014
Fun and relaxation for the whole family at this amenity-packed hotel next to Disneyland

The bright, family-friendly Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is across the street from the Disneyland Resort and is just an eight-minute walk from the park's main gates. The hotel's on-site eatery, Mimi's Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highlights include free parking, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, two guest laundries and Main Street market, a convenience store catering to busy families. Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground sprawls across seven beautifully landscaped acres and features Castaway Cove, a pirate-themed water playground for kids.

Highlights

  • Across the street from Disneyland main gates
  • Seven private acres of gardens and private walkways
  • Castaway Cove, a Watery Pirate Playground featuring slides, water cannons and a pirate ship
  • Speedy's Sprayground. a fountain area for kids of all ages
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Rooms

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground features a range of room options from king-sized, queen-sized and double beds. Children's suites include bunk beds and a sofa bed, and a king-sized bed for the adults. All rooms at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground come equipped with a mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, Disney Channel, ESPN and Golf Channel, coffee maker, and free Wireless Internet. Most rooms also include a balcony.

Features

With its seven gorgeous acres of gardens and landscaped walkways, Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground puts an emphasis on family-friendly fun. Along with Castaway Cove, the hotel also features The Garden Pool, a secluded swimming pool surrounded by gardens and mature trees. The pool is a great place for sun and relaxation for children and adults. 

Located right next door to the hotel, Mimi's Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and serves up healthy portions of American dishes in a colorful, French New Orleans-inspired atmosphere.

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is remarkably close to Disneyland, with great views of the park's breathtaking evening fireworks. The hotel's front desk also books bus tours to other Southern California destinations such as Sea World and Universal Studios.

Transportation

  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (12.6 mi/20.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Shuttle to Orange County, Long Beach, and Los Angeles airports (fee applies)
Attractions

  • Disneyland (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Anaheim Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
Policies & fees
  • The hot tub spa, toddler pool and all water playground equipment will be closed from 5 - 16 Jan 2014.
  • Property does not offer a free continental breakfast. A valid credit card and ID must be presented at time of check-in. No third party billing.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 2.1 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 8.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nataliegu3
West Jordan, UT, USA
Apr 23, 2012

AMAZING

this hotel was good walking distance for Disneyland. The staff was polite & helpful. The room was clean & safe. They cleaned our room & never once touched our luggage, or anything was missing. (Once I even left $5 on the dresser & it was there when I returned, and our beds were made)!! We chose not to go to the built in waterpark until the last day & we REGRETTED IT!!!! our kids LOVED the waterpark (totally included in hotel stay) and we wished we would have left Disneyland a bit early EVERYDAY and let them chill at the waterpark. Best value ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

the water park!! I loved how it had a shallow pool for my toddler too. both my kids were in heaven. They almost had more fun here then at disneyland! (~seriously~)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riqgull
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Mar 24, 2014

family with 2 princesses

Disney 5 day pass stayed for 7 nights. The 2 days off we spent every minute in the hotel water park and pool. Very Nice! We had a late check-in due to the flights, which was fine, cab cost $40 from Orange County Airport (SNA). We didn't ask , but they up graded our room just because they had room I guess. Great service, Very Clean for an older building. Good restaurant options all within 10min walk. We did the 30min (each way) walk for groceries (over the highway turn right) 10 minute walk to Disneyland. We did stroller the kids (age 3,5), 12 hours at Disney and my kids were not in any state to walk back. We will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LovemyKids79
Business
anaheim
Mar 17, 2014

Great service

Although the service was great rooms were definitely mediocre. My kids loved the pirate pool. Adult pool was not great. No spa in adult pool? Y?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mattsmom
Business
MT
Feb 20, 2014

close to disney

This hotel was close to Disneyland, about a 5 min. walk. There was a fridge in the room but no microwave. There's no on-site eating, so you either had to walk down the street or go shop at their sundries store - expensive. The waterpark was ok. There's only one big slide (2 little "racer" slides# and the water is always cold. We stayed in building 4 and it had a funny smell to it #not in the room, tho#. We arrived early #noon# and they had our room ready for us. We were able to purchase our park tix there and they gave us recommendations for eating and were able to help us with other things we wanted to do. Our shuttle came early to pick us up to leave #4:30a.m.# and I was not able to go thru check out service. The lobby is closed from 12mid. to 6a.m. #I've never heard of this#. So we had to sit outside in the cold for 15 min. waiting for our van.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of dining options down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lendri Momma Bear
Business
Petaluma, CA
Jan 4, 2014

great price, location and waterpark

This hotel was a great bargain. It is an 8 minute walk to Disneyland. There is an arcade, a store and a small water park and a great kiddie pool. Mimi's Café is nextdoor and their food is great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you didn't want to splurge on the Disney Hotel, you can make reservations to eat at Goofy's Kitchen. Disney Characters come and visit with your kids while you eat their awesome buffet (25$ per person for breakfast)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BB Momma
Business
Anehim, CA
Oct 18, 2013

Great waterpark hotel within walking distance to Disneyland

Staff was extremely helpful and courtesy. Check in was at 4pm, our plane arrived at 10:30am - hotel checked in our bags and gave access to waterpark until a room came available (by 1:45pm). Room was very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Millie's is very close to the hotel. Yummy food, good prices, and great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
212westwash
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 4, 2013

Mold Smell

The rooms were very nice, We certainly had plenty to do while we were there. Busy all the time with all the theme parks. The only complaint was the bad mold smell that came from the sink just outside the toliet room. I had to hold my breathe every time I went by. The room was 1217. Other than that everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
212westwash
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 4, 2013

Construction during out stay

The hotel was remodeling two rooms on our hallway during our stay. The noise was so bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Running Gal
Business
Commerce City CO
Aug 12, 2013

Fantastic Family Friendly Getaway

The hotel staff was very friendly and prompt in replacing our refrigerator that wasn't working when we checked in. The rooms were large and very clean. Our youngest loved the kids water park after a full day at Disneyland and we liked the hot tub! I wish there were a 2nd hot tub by the "grown up" pool and maybe was a bit larger. I also wish the two pools were closer together since It made it somewhat difficult to split our time between pools for our 13 year old and 7 year old. The location was great for our family to walk the 15 min. from the hotel to Disneyland and the savings on the complimentary parking was a HUGE plus for us! I would definitely stay again for another trip to Disneyland since it was so "family friendly", affordable, very clean, great location, and close to many restaurants you can easily walk to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great and affordable pizza, try the Pizza Press along the short walk to Disneyland. The Pizza Press and all the Disney food courts were very accommodating with our sons severe peanut allergy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rdaigle
Business
White Castle, Louisiana
Aug 2, 2013

Disneyland Vacation

This hotel is in a great location. The kids really enjoyed the water park and swimming pool. The hotel is a true eight minute walk to the gates of Disney Land or Adventure Land. You can rent hotels with closer walking distances but I would choose this hotel every time. It was a truly great experience for our family and we hope to come back some day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Eight Minute walk to Disneyland no rental car needed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M2013
Business
Riverside. CA
Jul 6, 2013

Awesome Family Outy

Our fam. wanted to do something fun for the 4th of July so we thought this hotel would be exciting! considering the water playground. The only thing is on their website they show a really big pool which is false the actual pool is not that big and the water was salty. The service for the pool was not all that great cuz they ran out of towels and no one ever came to replace more. We left bk to the room. We watched the fireworks which was amazing! had dinner and bk to the room. Overall our stay was awesome! we enjoyed our room and the water play. Thank u.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Disneyland!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top