$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
View map of 1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Portland Pappa
Business
West Linn, OR
Aug 25, 2014

A great stay.

What a great stay. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and it was definitely worth the cost. But I do have a few notes: Location: The location was great for the first couple days at the hotel, but by days 3 and 4 the walk to the park gates was wearing us down. We are a pretty young and mobile family with a double stroller ... I wouldn't recommend this walk for smaller children who have to walk the whole way, especially after a long day at Disney. Amenities: The splash park was amazing for the kids, but the hotel didn't have much else in the way of amenities. No breakfast/food service, no fitness facilities. There was free wi-fi. There also was a gift shop and sundries, with the expected high prices. I think the hotel was well worth the cost just for the ability to let the kids cool off in the splash park, but I don't know how it compares with other hotels in the area price-wise, so I only gave it 4 out of 5 here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were able to purchase snacks and lunch items for the park at Walmart Neighborhood market for $20 for the whole week. The market is less than 5 minute drive away, and likely saved us over $100 for the week.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, il
Aug 9, 2014

Good

Nothing special but if you plan on spending most of your day at Disney, it's good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thanop
Business
Chicago, il
Aug 8, 2014

Did the trick

We had a good experience at this hotel but spent most of our time out of the hotel. It is an 8 minute walk to Disney which is just right. The room is rather outdated and the hallways were warm and smelled musty. The kiddie splash area is fun. The pool was nice but was mostly deep water and little shallow water. The staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago girl 70
Business
Chicago il
Aug 1, 2014

Great location to Disney

The hotel was in a really great location to Disney. It was a quick, easy walk to Disney and probably a. Better location than Disney hotels. The water play area was a huge hit , kids played for hours there. The pool was warm and clean. While the room was not really fancy, it was adequate, clean and the bee was very comfortable. I do not drink coffee but a coffee station would be nice. Staff was extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amber V
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jul 26, 2014

Retro is one thing...

Outdated is another. The location is great, steps from Disneyland & easy to find. The room was cramped with furniture from 1989. The coffee maker only worked half the time, the bathroom was rusting & the AC was pitiful. The one day of our 6 days there, we slept in...we got a phone call from the front desk, asking if we were okay. Guess the DND sign on the door was unclear. Yes we are okay, we are SLEEPING. By the time we were up for the day, it was apparently too late to have our room cleaned. We came back to the room as we left it. Good thing we decided not to put our towels on the floor. Overall, it was okay. I won't stay again, but I suppose it could have been worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie and Larry
Business
Idaho
Jul 4, 2014

Great Experience

We took our small grandchildren on vacation and stayed at the Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water playground. The Hotel was within walking distance of Disneyland, the water park was super fun for the children and our room was on the 5th floor facing the nightly Disneyland fireworks display. We have stayed at other Hotels near Disneyland, but this by far was the BEST!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tlotz
Business
colorado
Jun 28, 2014

Just Ok...

Just ok for us. The only nice thing about this hotel is its location to Disney. Staff looked bothered and wasn't all that friendly. Next time we will chose something different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catattack
Business
Montana
Jun 15, 2014

Super service!

This hotel is a great choice if you're planning a Disney vacation. Location is perfect, the staff is top notch and goes above and beyond for their guests. They were very knowledgable about the area, attractions, beaches and transportation. The only thing I would note is the water playground is designed for very small kids which I didn't realize, but there is a seperate pool for older kids and adults. I would definitely choose this hotel again. The only improvement I would make is to add a continental breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AZ Desert Rat
Business
Oro Valley, AZ
Jun 14, 2014

Under-rated Hotel

Our stay was excellent. I was leery because of its age and HoJo is really not the best hotel chain, but this place was great and far surpassed my expectations. My grandson loved the water park. The room was clean, the surroundings were landscaped so nicely, it was quiet (even with the freeway next to it)...I can't say anything bad regarding my stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT waste your money on the Fantasmic premium seating.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Splash123
Business
Seattle, WA
May 28, 2014

Family value

Clean rooms on large property. Walk to the Disney entrance in three to five blocks. Part of it borders I-5 so don't expect tranquility, but the rooms were quiet.. Family style restaurants a within a few blocks. Grocery and other suburban shopping on the other side of the interstate. The water playground and pool are cute so don't expect to do a lap swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top