$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
View map of 1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disneyland Visitor
Business
Gresham, OR
Oct 4, 2009

Great place for a good price

Stayed at the hotel while visiting Disneyland. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would've been nice if they had a full-sized pool, but my daughter loved the water park they had for kids. Conveniently located to park, food, etc. Check-in time was a little inconvenient; couldn't check in until 4pm. It was nice that you could view the Disneyland fireworks show from the pool area, but it was very noisy while trying to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bremerton, WA
Aug 6, 2009

Great location, reasonable value

Very convenient to Disneyland. The hotel kid's waterpark was a great time. No breakfast served, something which has become almost standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We used the shuttle bus. It was especially welcome after a long day at the park.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gurlygirl
Business
Alta Loma, Ca
Aug 3, 2009

Fun for the family

we chose this hotel because it had the best pool for the kids besides the disneyland hotel. everyone had a great time and the gift shop was great for what ever you needed. go there before you go to disneyland to get waters and snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucky grandparents
Business
West Hills, CA
Jul 30, 2009

Perfect for families

This was our 2nd time staying at Howard Johnson's across from Disneyland. We went with another family this trip and had asked for connecting rooms, which was honored. Each room was large enough for 2 queen beds, a table and chairs, desk, TV, microwave, fridge, armoire, etc. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a long counter for all of our stuff. Everything was in perfect working condition. The housekeepers were generous with towels, soaps, shampoo, etc. and kept the rooms very clean. The hotel grounds were enhanced by trees, shrubs and flowers and also kept very clean. The big draw for us - the Pirate water park, which was WAY better than we expected. The water features were fun, creative and age appropriate (we had 3 boys with us ages 5-11). They had so much fun that they did not want to leave for dinner. We stayed 3 nights with no problems whatsoever. The hotel kept our luggage for us on the last day so that we could go back to Disneyland and called a taxi for us when we were ready to leave. They could not have been more accommodating or pleasant. We would definitely stay here again. PS. The rooms here are cleaner, newer and roomier than the Disneyland Hotel and for about 1/3 the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucky grandparents
Business
West Hills, CA
Jul 30, 2009

Perfect for families

This was our 2nd time staying at Howard Johnson's across from Disneyland. We went with another family this trip and had asked for connecting rooms, which was honored. Each room was large enough for 2 queen beds, a table and chairs, desk, TV, microwave, fridge, armoire, etc. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a long counter for all of our stuff. Everything was in perfect working condition. The housekeepers were generous with towels, soaps, shampoo, etc. and kept the rooms very clean. The hotel grounds were enhanced by trees, shrubs and flowers and also kept very clean. The big draw for us - the Pirate water park, which was WAY better than we expected. The water features were fun, creative and age appropriate (we had 3 boys with us ages 5-11). They had so much fun that they did not want to leave for dinner. We stayed 3 nights with no problems whatsoever. The hotel kept our luggage for us on the last day so that we could go back to Disneyland and called a taxi for us when we were ready to leave. They could not have been more accommodating or pleasant. We would definitely stay here again. PS. The rooms here are cleaner, newer and roomier than the Disneyland Hotel and for about 1/3 the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kenicky
Business
san francisco ca
Jul 29, 2009

great!!

great service! we arrived from san francisco a couple of hours early before check-in and they allowed us to check in anyway.wich was great.My kids loved the pool area to the point were they forgot about disneyland,the shop on the first floor of the hotel was also great,plenty of drinks and snacks at a very cheap price.I recommend this hotel highly to families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

if you dont carry your own water and snacks for your trip make sure you buy them at the hotel store,its cheap and has almost every snack you would need for your kids,save yourself some money by not buying them inside disneyland.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yolee
Business
bakersfield
Jul 23, 2009

what fun is

it was nice and enjoyable. the walk to disney was fast especially when your pushing a stroller. The hotel had a great pool area. I had my 2 year old grandson who enjoyed the cove after a hot tiring day at disney. this place could use more vending in the hallways that was the only dispute i had ,cause snacks always come in handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to disney

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jul 1, 2009

Fun pool! not so fun room!

very handy to get to Disneyland entrance, fun pool for kids, nice staff([...])!! Room smelled funny when air conditioner was running. Bathroom was very outdated and very small, kind of yucky! Very noisy next to freeway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very handy for morning coffee at McDonalds or Mimi's cafe.

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E Family
Business
Arlington,WA
Jul 1, 2009

Clean, great hotel staff.

Great above average hotel. Best for children 10 and under. Not all that close to Disneyland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jul 1, 2009

Fun pool! not so fun room!

very handy to get to Disneyland entrance, fun pool for kids, nice staff([...])!! Room smelled funny when air conditioner was running. Bathroom was very outdated and very small, kind of yucky! Very noisy next to freeway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very handy for morning coffee at McDonalds or Mimi's cafe.

Back to menu Return to top