$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
121 reviews
Room to spread out

We was able to get double rooms. Nice feature ample room for a family of five. See full review

  • Fantomer
  • Aug 30, 2014
Under-rated Hotel

Our stay was excellent. I was leery because of its age and HoJo is really not the best hotel chain,... See full review

  • AZ Desert Rat
  • Jun 14, 2014
Fun and relaxation for the whole family at this amenity-packed hotel next to Disneyland

The bright, family-friendly Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is across the street from the Disneyland Resort and is just an eight-minute walk from the park's main gates. The hotel's on-site eatery, Mimi's Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highlights include free parking, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, two guest laundries and Main Street market, a convenience store catering to busy families. Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground sprawls across seven beautifully landscaped acres and features Castaway Cove, a pirate-themed water playground for kids.

Highlights

  • Across the street from Disneyland main gates
  • Seven private acres of gardens and private walkways
  • Castaway Cove, a Watery Pirate Playground featuring slides, water cannons and a pirate ship
  • Speedy's Sprayground. a fountain area for kids of all ages
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Rooms

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground features a range of room options from king-sized, queen-sized and double beds. Children's suites include bunk beds and a sofa bed, and a king-sized bed for the adults. All rooms at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground come equipped with a mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, Disney Channel, ESPN and Golf Channel, coffee maker, and free Wireless Internet. Most rooms also include a balcony.

Features

With its seven gorgeous acres of gardens and landscaped walkways, Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground puts an emphasis on family-friendly fun. Along with Castaway Cove, the hotel also features The Garden Pool, a secluded swimming pool surrounded by gardens and mature trees. The pool is a great place for sun and relaxation for children and adults. 

Located right next door to the hotel, Mimi's Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and serves up healthy portions of American dishes in a colorful, French New Orleans-inspired atmosphere.

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground is remarkably close to Disneyland, with great views of the park's breathtaking evening fireworks. The hotel's front desk also books bus tours to other Southern California destinations such as Sea World and Universal Studios.

Transportation

  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (12.6 mi/20.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Shuttle to Orange County, Long Beach, and Los Angeles airports (fee applies)
Attractions

  • Disneyland (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Anaheim Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
Policies & fees
  • The hot tub spa, toddler pool and all water playground equipment will be closed from 5 - 16 Jan 2014.
  • Property does not offer a free continental breakfast. A valid credit card and ID must be presented at time of check-in. No third party billing.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 2.1 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 8.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nataliegu3
West Jordan, UT, USA
Apr 23, 2012

AMAZING

this hotel was good walking distance for Disneyland. The staff was polite & helpful. The room was clean & safe. They cleaned our room & never once touched our luggage, or anything was missing. (Once I even left $5 on the dresser & it was there when I returned, and our beds were made)!! We chose not to go to the built in waterpark until the last day & we REGRETTED IT!!!! our kids LOVED the waterpark (totally included in hotel stay) and we wished we would have left Disneyland a bit early EVERYDAY and let them chill at the waterpark. Best value ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

the water park!! I loved how it had a shallow pool for my toddler too. both my kids were in heaven. They almost had more fun here then at disneyland! (~seriously~)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disneyland Visitor
Business
Gresham, OR
Oct 4, 2009

Great place for a good price

Stayed at the hotel while visiting Disneyland. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would've been nice if they had a full-sized pool, but my daughter loved the water park they had for kids. Conveniently located to park, food, etc. Check-in time was a little inconvenient; couldn't check in until 4pm. It was nice that you could view the Disneyland fireworks show from the pool area, but it was very noisy while trying to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bremerton, WA
Aug 6, 2009

Great location, reasonable value

Very convenient to Disneyland. The hotel kid's waterpark was a great time. No breakfast served, something which has become almost standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We used the shuttle bus. It was especially welcome after a long day at the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gurlygirl
Business
Alta Loma, Ca
Aug 3, 2009

Fun for the family

we chose this hotel because it had the best pool for the kids besides the disneyland hotel. everyone had a great time and the gift shop was great for what ever you needed. go there before you go to disneyland to get waters and snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucky grandparents
Business
West Hills, CA
Jul 30, 2009

Perfect for families

This was our 2nd time staying at Howard Johnson's across from Disneyland. We went with another family this trip and had asked for connecting rooms, which was honored. Each room was large enough for 2 queen beds, a table and chairs, desk, TV, microwave, fridge, armoire, etc. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a long counter for all of our stuff. Everything was in perfect working condition. The housekeepers were generous with towels, soaps, shampoo, etc. and kept the rooms very clean. The hotel grounds were enhanced by trees, shrubs and flowers and also kept very clean. The big draw for us - the Pirate water park, which was WAY better than we expected. The water features were fun, creative and age appropriate (we had 3 boys with us ages 5-11). They had so much fun that they did not want to leave for dinner. We stayed 3 nights with no problems whatsoever. The hotel kept our luggage for us on the last day so that we could go back to Disneyland and called a taxi for us when we were ready to leave. They could not have been more accommodating or pleasant. We would definitely stay here again. PS. The rooms here are cleaner, newer and roomier than the Disneyland Hotel and for about 1/3 the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kenicky
Business
san francisco ca
Jul 29, 2009

great!!

great service! we arrived from san francisco a couple of hours early before check-in and they allowed us to check in anyway.wich was great.My kids loved the pool area to the point were they forgot about disneyland,the shop on the first floor of the hotel was also great,plenty of drinks and snacks at a very cheap price.I recommend this hotel highly to families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

if you dont carry your own water and snacks for your trip make sure you buy them at the hotel store,its cheap and has almost every snack you would need for your kids,save yourself some money by not buying them inside disneyland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yolee
Business
bakersfield
Jul 23, 2009

what fun is

it was nice and enjoyable. the walk to disney was fast especially when your pushing a stroller. The hotel had a great pool area. I had my 2 year old grandson who enjoyed the cove after a hot tiring day at disney. this place could use more vending in the hallways that was the only dispute i had ,cause snacks always come in handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to disney

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jul 1, 2009

Fun pool! not so fun room!

very handy to get to Disneyland entrance, fun pool for kids, nice staff([...])!! Room smelled funny when air conditioner was running. Bathroom was very outdated and very small, kind of yucky! Very noisy next to freeway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very handy for morning coffee at McDonalds or Mimi's cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E Family
Business
Arlington,WA
Jul 1, 2009

Clean, great hotel staff.

Great above average hotel. Best for children 10 and under. Not all that close to Disneyland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmie Sue
Business
Centennial, Colorado
Jun 22, 2009

Great family stay

Hotel was great. We loved the water park. Great to be next door to Mimi's. Disneyland a few minutes walk away. Marvelous!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Disneyhope
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 20, 2009

Excellent Hotel!!!

An amazing hotel...we enjoyed every moment of our stay. The pirate-themed splashpark was a huge hit with the kids. We loved the jacuzzi...watched DL fireworks from the hot tub!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top