$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

3 stars
View map of 1380 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anaheim, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Great place to stay!

It was surprisingly comfortable, clean, and roomy! Very kid friendly as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mimi's Cafe is right across the street and yummy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jozymouse
Business
Montreal, Canada
Jan 13, 2010

AMAZING hotel + Location

That was our third stay at the Hojo Anaheim and we will keep on coming back!!! Its a 7 minute walk to Disneyland, the rooms are big, nice and really clean, the bed is REALLY comfy. Having a fridge and microwave in the room is a big plus. Parking is free and staff is very helpful and friendly. We got a free upgrade to a bigger room on the poolside. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the happiest place on earth!! Disneyland!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Garden Walk is a huge complex with many chain restaurants: Bubba Gump, Cheesecake factory etc + free parking if staying less than 2 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Jan 11, 2010

Great Hotel for the price

Great location to spend the day at Disneyland and could walk back to the hotel for an afternoon nap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madsgram
Business
Red Deer, AB Canada
Jan 7, 2010

Is the Place to Stay

We spent 9 days during Christmas; the rooms were clean; the staff was the friendliest and were there for you. Everything was kept clean and maintained. I would definately stay here again on our next Disneyland vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are awesome restaurants within 3 minute walking distance; and alot to choose from quite close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1stTimeHoJo
Business
Concord, CA
Dec 10, 2009

Not bad but not great either!

It was farther away from the park than we thought:-( We thought shuttle service was a good idea until we found out there is no schedule to plan around and only comes by hotel every 20 min. That's a long time to stand with a kids who have been walking all day at the park. (EXTRA NOTE: children under 9 free with adult. Didn't see this until AFTER we paid for our 5 yr old. Hotel should have known and not charged us). This hotel is also RIGHT NEXT to Hwy 5 so ask for a room AWAY from fwy!! Was very noisy and room actually would "rumble" when a big truck went by!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disneyland Visitor
Business
Gresham, OR
Oct 4, 2009

Great place for a good price

Stayed at the hotel while visiting Disneyland. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would've been nice if they had a full-sized pool, but my daughter loved the water park they had for kids. Conveniently located to park, food, etc. Check-in time was a little inconvenient; couldn't check in until 4pm. It was nice that you could view the Disneyland fireworks show from the pool area, but it was very noisy while trying to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bremerton, WA
Aug 6, 2009

Great location, reasonable value

Very convenient to Disneyland. The hotel kid's waterpark was a great time. No breakfast served, something which has become almost standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We used the shuttle bus. It was especially welcome after a long day at the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gurlygirl
Business
Alta Loma, Ca
Aug 3, 2009

Fun for the family

we chose this hotel because it had the best pool for the kids besides the disneyland hotel. everyone had a great time and the gift shop was great for what ever you needed. go there before you go to disneyland to get waters and snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucky grandparents
Business
West Hills, CA
Jul 30, 2009

Perfect for families

This was our 2nd time staying at Howard Johnson's across from Disneyland. We went with another family this trip and had asked for connecting rooms, which was honored. Each room was large enough for 2 queen beds, a table and chairs, desk, TV, microwave, fridge, armoire, etc. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a long counter for all of our stuff. Everything was in perfect working condition. The housekeepers were generous with towels, soaps, shampoo, etc. and kept the rooms very clean. The hotel grounds were enhanced by trees, shrubs and flowers and also kept very clean. The big draw for us - the Pirate water park, which was WAY better than we expected. The water features were fun, creative and age appropriate (we had 3 boys with us ages 5-11). They had so much fun that they did not want to leave for dinner. We stayed 3 nights with no problems whatsoever. The hotel kept our luggage for us on the last day so that we could go back to Disneyland and called a taxi for us when we were ready to leave. They could not have been more accommodating or pleasant. We would definitely stay here again. PS. The rooms here are cleaner, newer and roomier than the Disneyland Hotel and for about 1/3 the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kenicky
Business
san francisco ca
Jul 29, 2009

great!!

great service! we arrived from san francisco a couple of hours early before check-in and they allowed us to check in anyway.wich was great.My kids loved the pool area to the point were they forgot about disneyland,the shop on the first floor of the hotel was also great,plenty of drinks and snacks at a very cheap price.I recommend this hotel highly to families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

if you dont carry your own water and snacks for your trip make sure you buy them at the hotel store,its cheap and has almost every snack you would need for your kids,save yourself some money by not buying them inside disneyland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yolee
Business
bakersfield
Jul 23, 2009

what fun is

it was nice and enjoyable. the walk to disney was fast especially when your pushing a stroller. The hotel had a great pool area. I had my 2 year old grandson who enjoyed the cove after a hot tiring day at disney. this place could use more vending in the hallways that was the only dispute i had ,cause snacks always come in handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to disney

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top