$296 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property

4 stars
1600 Disneyland Drive, Anaheim, CA 92802
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
153 reviews
Nice nice nice

Nice place to stay. A bit pricey but when you have little ones, having a hotel close to the park... See full review

  • donnnster
  • Dec 1, 2014
family getaway

I concur that room is overpriced. But we travel with a wheelchair person and the convenience for... See full review

  • Mouse ears Mom
  • Nov 26, 2014
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa in Anaheim is a luxury resort displaying marvelous American Craftsman architecture. This style of design flourished during the late 1800s and early 1900s, and it's both elegant and rustic. There are more than 1,000 rooms at this tranquil hotel, which offers pool, courtyard and theme park views. The Grand Californian offers a water-lover's paradise, with a large swimming pool, a water slide that looks like a redwood tree, two smaller pools, and a pool just for kids. Several ballrooms and meeting spaces, an elaborate spa and fitness facility, and a gift shop round out the full hotel experience. Guests won't be short on dining options, with two lounges, a snack bar, the family-oriented Storyteller's Cafe, and the first-class restaurant Napa Rose all on-site.
Key facts
  • 948 guestrooms
  • 44 suites
  • Conference and event facilities
  • 3 pools
  • Gym
  • 4 restaurants
  • Convenient park entry
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fii
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The Grand Californian looks out on Disneyland and is right next to Disney California Adventure. Disneyland, which opened in 1955, is packed with both cutting-edge and traditional rides and shows, and Disney California Adventure recreates scenes of California's yesteryears. For instance, a section of the park purposely resembles 1920s Los Angeles. Between these two parks is Downtown Disney, a lavish shopping and dining district with a huge range of activities on offer.
Hints and tips
Guests of the hotel have their own access for entering and exiting Disney California Adventure, making it easy to slip away from the park for a swim or a nap.
During check-in, ask the desk clerk if you can get a complimentary room upgrade - there are occasional openings and it's worth inquiring about.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property Rooms

Suite
One queen bed and one trundle bed. Craftsman-style decor and wood furnishings. Cable TV with Disney Channel and ESPN. High-speed Internet access. Weekday newspaper. Multi-line phone with voice mail. In-room safe. Unique in their refined Arts & Crafts architecture and timeless decor, the well-appointed and generously-sized suites offer a rare opportunity to stay in a relaxing retreat nestled inside Disney's California Adventure Park.
Theme Park View
One king bed, two queen beds, or one queen bed and one bunk bed. Premium pool and theme-park views. Craftsman-style decor and wood furnishings. 353 square feet. Cable TV with Disney Channel and ESPN. In-room safe. High-speed Internet access. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Bathroom with lighted makeup mirror. Weekday newspaper. Nightly turndown service. Bathrobes, sleeping bags, and cushions upon request. Nonsmoking.
Standard View Room
One king bed, two queen beds, or one queen bed and one bunk bed. Craftsman-style decor and wood furnishings. 353 square feet. Cable TV with Disney Channel and ESPN. In-room safe. High-speed Internet access. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Bathroom with lighted makeup mirror. Weekday newspaper. Nightly turndown service. Bathrobes, sleeping bags, and cushions upon request. Nonsmoking.
Concierge View Room
One king bed, two queen beds, or one queen bed and one bunk bed. Craftsman-style decor and wood furnishings. Cable TV with Disney Channel and ESPN. DVD player and complimentary movies. In-room safe. High-speed Internet access. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Bathroom with lighted makeup/shaving mirror. Weekday newspaper. Nightly turndown service. Bathrobes, sleeping bags, and cushions upon request. Nonsmoking. Concierge level services: Priority check-in, staff-assisted vacation planning, access to lounge with Continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Grove: 2.2 mi
  • Edison Field: 2.5 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 9.4 mi

Dining

White Water Snacks
Designed after a campground pavilion, this family quick-service eatery serves entree salads, deli sandwiches, grilled chicken, pizzas, hamburgers, hot dogs and specialty coffees. Breakfast items include burritos, Mickey Mouse waffles, bagels, muffins and sweet rolls.
Hearthstone Lounge
Unwind around the charming hearth.
Napa Rose Lounge
Enjoy spectacular views as you sip a glass of California wine or your choice of refreshing beverages by the fireplace or on the terrace.

Discover the elegance and romance of St. Valentine's Day in the Wine Country as Napa Rose presents a four course dinner inspired by the passion of this special day.

Napa Rose Restaurant
Enjoy a glass of wine from the award-winning collection with exquisite seasonal creations for a fresh culinary experience that rivals fine-dining establishments anywhere in the world. Napa Rose was named the Most Popular Restaurant in the 2008 Zagat Survey for Orange County.
Storytellers Cafe
Fresh and delicious American favorites are served here in an atmosphere that evokes the golden age of storytelling.

Chip 'n Dale Critter Breakfast at Storyteller's Cafe, hosted by Kellogg's. Enjoy a bountiful all-you-care-to-eat breakfast buffet with your nutty pals Chip 'n Dale.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.6

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CO mountain family
Business
Fort Collins
Dec 16, 2014

Amazing location!

We were fortunate enough to stay at the Grand Californian with family. We had 6 rooms booked together, but were scattered all over the huge hotel. It's a gorgeous place, with an awesome pool and perfect location to both Disneyland and California Adventure Parks. Our room was just average- but we didn't spend much time in there. For almost $500/night, I expected more to our room, but our balcony and view of the monorail and fireworks made up for some of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Polo Cali
Business
Cali
Dec 9, 2014

Great hotel and staff...

Disney's Grand Californian was a great hotel to stay at. You pay a premium, but the hotel and staff are nice. my only negative comment is that guests from other Disney hotels are allowed to enter the California Adventure Park through the Grand Californian entrance during the Magic Morning, which is an extreme slap in the face to Grand Californian guests who are paying a premium for perks such as close proximity. We were staying at the hotel and ealking all the way to the main entrance was faster than entering from our hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
donnnster
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 1, 2014

Nice nice nice

Nice place to stay. A bit pricey but when you have little ones, having a hotel close to the park makes things much easier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mouse ears Mom
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 26, 2014

family getaway

I concur that room is overpriced. But we travel with a wheelchair person and the convenience for getting to both parks so easily was totally worth the price. The fact that we went on the water rapids ride at California Adventure and got totally soaked, went back to our room and changed our clothes,then went right back to park was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for wing where elevator is right outside of Storytellers Café. One minute and you're at C.A. park entrance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3AKCHX
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Nov 18, 2014

Loved being at the heart of Disney

Can't beat the location! Great shopping, spa. A little pricey as expected but you get what you pay for - excellent food, ambience, and staff. We will be back for our next Disney adventure for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3AKCHX
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Nov 13, 2014

First family Disneyland experience

Overall, we had an absolutely amazing stay. Staff were friendly and very available to help. The grounds are beautiful and you can't beat the location. My only two complaints were that the pool was FREEZING/the hot tub lukewarm (we are from Alaska and it was pretty miserable) and we had to wait a super long time on hold 2/3 times we ordered room service (not pleasant when you've got two hungry tired toddlers locked in a hotel room). Hoping to get to experience the spa next time when the kiddos are a little older. We'll definitely be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Great shopping right outside the doors of the hotel! Bring an extra bag!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fp997
Business
Vancouver, BC
Nov 4, 2014

Excellent hotel. But pricey.

We enjoyed our stay, but given the fact we spent most of the time on the resort, we probably didn't get to make the most out of what the hotel had to offer. We had chosen this location as it is walkable to the park -- which is good with small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tucson Traveling Doc
Business
Tucson, AZ
Oct 31, 2014

Nice to check off the bucket list

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel since I was little. The perfect opportunity came as my Family has a nine month old and a four year old. My little ones need to take mid day naps and we thought this would be a good opportunity to try staying on site at the Grand California Hotel. The locationnand access to the parks are absolutely perfect. We took mid day naps with the little ones the three days we went to the park and the quick access to Downtown Disney was an added perk. The added early access to the theme parks is a nice perk and not paying for parking outside of hotel valet was another consideration. The ultimate only downside to the hotel is the cost. If you can afford it, there really is no better location if you have kids and naps are necessary. Furthermore, at the end of the day when you are exhausted it helps you are only steps away from the hotel. Overall it was definitely a magical experience, the hotel was pristine, a five star hotel for sure. Highly recommend to try at least once if not more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Vacation Mom
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 17, 2014

Wonderful family Disney experience

All staff members were very helpful from the minute we arrived until we left. We were able to check in as soon as we arrived and get keys that were automatically activated when our rooms became available. That allowed us to get to the park right away and start enjoying our time. The rooms were cleaned well every day and we had turn down service every night. Every request was promptly met. The proximity to the park entrances is unmatched!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa on Disneyland Resort Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CO mountain family
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Oct 10, 2014

1st Disney trip for the kids!

This hotel was a HUGE splurge for our family. The location is absolutely perfect for both Parks. The pool area was awesome. The lobby area and rooms (we had 8 rooms in our group) just lacked that special something we thought we would get for almost $500/night. The view of fireworks from our balcony was a special treat. Our fridge would not cool properly, 2 (accidental) fire alarms went off during our stay which made helping elderly family down stairs in a hurry very difficult, and our room had all glass cups which for Disney, made it tough for our little ones. Plus the only Disney themed thing in our entire room was the shower curtain. We just expected a more magical experience. But all in all, we can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top