$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

3 stars
631 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
292 reviews
Best of the Rest

The Desert Palms is the best off-site hotel around Disneyland. Sure, the Disneyland Hotel and Grand... See full review

  • OverThinker
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great location with perks.

10 minute walk to Disneyland gates. Lots of perks like free parking and free hot breakfast. Great... See full review

  • Family of 3 Boys
  • Apr 20, 2014
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is a mellow Disneyland Good Neighbor Hotel, designed to accommodate families and business travelers in Anaheim. Bunk beds in the signature kids' suites add an element of fun for children, while businesspeople can book a stay in the deluxe rooms. These come with a desk, free Wi-Fi, and use of the on-site business center. Fill up on eggs, sausages, fresh fruit, cereals, waffles and coffee at the complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room, before heading to the nearby theme parks, or dipping your toes in the heated outdoor pool.
Key facts
  • 24-hour front desk service
  • Gift shop
  • Free parking
  • ATM
  • Concierge service
  • Free Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room
  • Sandbox Bar and Grille Restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • Fitness room
Neighborhood
The Desert Palms Hotel is just minutes away from numerous attractions, including Angel Stadium, Disneyland, Downtown Disney and the Crystal Cathedral. Take a stroll to entertainment center Anaheim GardenWalk - and Orange County hotspot for shopping, dining and amusement - and grab a sweet treat at The Cheesecake Factory before catching a flick at UltraLuxe Cinemas. Business guests can also walk to the Anaheim Convention Center, situated right across the street.
Hints and tips
For more space, plus kitchenette facilities for families looking to dine in, condo-styled rooms offer an affordable solution.
Condo amenities include two TVs, so kids and adults can enjoy two different shows or movies after a long day together.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Palms Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites Rooms

Kitchenette with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate living area. Kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. Small dining table with four chairs. Coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Luxury Suite with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate, sunken living area. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Kid Suite with Free Breakfast
One king bed in the parents room and one sofa bed and bunk bed in the kids room. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Family Suite with Free Breakfast
Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, four queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Deluxe Two Doubles with Free Breakfast
Two Queen size beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 1.9 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 9.1 mi

Dining

Sandbox Bar & Grille
Open daily (kids meal are available)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (292)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lyudmila
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2007

Very bad deal

When I arrived to check in at 11 am, they told me to check back later because they didn't have any rooms available. They told me to check back after 3 o'clock. I asked them if they have any idea when a room will open up, and they said no. The hotel is not that close to the park, but it's not far enough to waste money on a shuttle bus. The rooms aren't comfortable. When I finally got the key to my room and walked in, I couldn't breathe because the air conditioning was off the entire day. Also, the next day, when I got home from the park, same story, the maids turned off the air conditioning. The beds are not comfortable, the air conditiong doesn't work to well, the free continental breakfast was awful, and the front desk people were not too friendly. Therefore, I was extremely dissatisfied with the hotel, and I would never stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FRod
Business
Bakersfield
Dec 2, 2011

very disapointed!

We went to stay for 3 nights, and I wont ever come to this hotel again. the room was not as clean or working anemites. very uncomftable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Been67
Business
New York
Aug 2, 2012

Terrible experience

Our flight out to Anaheim was cancelled and we couldn't get to the hotel on our scheduled arrival date. The hotel refused to be flexible about changing our date of arrival and essentially ruined a long planned family vacation across the country. Staff were also very rude and rooms and common areas quite unclean. Location was good however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Winnie Mom
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 21, 2013

Not very good hotel

The hotel is close to Disneyland. This is why I pick this hotel. However, the room is kind of old, unpleasant smell. There might be bugs in the room. My kids and myself were all get bites and itchy red spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. WC
Business
Seattle
Oct 9, 2013

NOT GOOD

The hallways are stuffy. The first room we had, looked at a brick wall you could touch and to the hotels credit they moved us to a different room, that however is where the good ends. The refrigerator was broken and so was the replacement. Our bags were searched through the first day we were out. The carpet was filthy. The shower had mold in it. The TV didn't get most of the channels the hotel advertised. The heater in the room set off the fire alarm... when we called the front desk for help we were told that was because they were never used and never cleaned, just turn it off, did we need extra blankets. We did stick it out (the fire alarm was on our last night) and did like the parking. We will not be going back and cannot recommend anyone stay there ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Webb from Ptown
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Sep 25, 2011

NO HOT WATER and too far from Disneyland!!!!

We never had hot water come out of the faucet in our bathroom. We had to wash our hands from the tub faucet. I didn't sleep very well because of a loud noise outside of our room. It sounded like a loose belt screech from a car but it was every 15 min. I should have asked to move rooms. We made reservations 6 months ago and they placed us on the first floor looking at the parking garage. You would have thought that not being the busy season they would have placed us in a nicer location. The room was average. Beds were comfortable. I will never stay at the hotel as long as I live. The only good thing about the hotel is the free breakfast. I wish we could have been able to move hotels. After being at Disneyland all day walking, it was way to long of a walk back to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Way to long of walk back when you spend the whole day at Disneyland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 5, 2008

Tacky

This was the tackiest place I have ever stayed in. The sheets were about a 5 thread count and dingy! The room was supposed to be a suite. The sofa bed mattress was about 2 inches thick and was flat in the middle. The sofa was hard even to just sit on with a large footprint on it. The tables in the room looked like the 60's from goodwill. There was not a picture on the wall. My king size bed mattress was extremly hard and uncomfortable. The air conditioner fan blew like a fan in your face when it was running. This was the worst night of sleep I have ever had a hotel. The view was a dirty rooftop with looking at a skylight. The pool was enclosed with only one corner with any sun and tacky with ten little kids in the pool. The continental breakfast looked messy and unkempt. I moved out of the hotel by noon the next day. I called for a taxi at the front desk and the man who was selling excursions pulled up at the front of the place and charged me $10.00 to drive one block! I would never recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The convention Center is within walking distance but so is the Sheraton, Marriott, and the Hilton!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pbrender
Business
Thousand Oaks
Jan 18, 2011

The good,the bad, and the really ugly

I would never ever recommend this place,i can't even say hotel, to anybody.Worst customer service.The rooms were ok,but my compliments end there.We had to leave the hotel today with a warning of the "hotel manager"that would call the police, because instead of 12:30 we had to leave at 1:30 pm.For them is not such a think as a late check out.They start calling us at 9am and sending the housekeeper in any 30 min.We tried to call the desk,but of course the phone didn't work. We have two small kids,so my husband was lets just pack the stuff and leave,so he didn't go downstairs, this was around 1pm, at that same moment the manager knock on the door and said that would call the police....O MY GOD...I have no more words to say......I have been probably to 100 hotels trough my life all around the world and I've never ever had a police treat from a hotel manager, only because you are an hour late check out????????......................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unsatisfied honey mooner
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Oct 17, 2009

Not so good Honey Moon experience

We booked a suite with a one King Bed. We were provided a Suite with two beds and a cradle. We got married that day and our arrival was at 3AM; therefore we expected to be perfect. this experience was horrible. Since we were already tired, we did not complain; however after a few hours there were too many children running down the hall and too much talking going on. We did not get a good rest. Since this hotel was somewhat high end, we expected to have water bottles in the refrigerator, however, it was empty and we had to buy our own water. Compared to other hotels we have stayed, this hotel is not worth its price. Overall, our trip and honey was not enjoyable. I will not recommend nor go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Disneyland and the Garden Walk are really near.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San mateo,CA
Dec 26, 2009

Won't stay in this hotel again

This hotel sucks! Room cleaning service is really bad, they don't clean your room at all. I stayed 2 nights and room was never cleaned. In the bathroom and kitchen so many cockroaches. Be aware of it.I wont stay here again. [...] they asked resort fees in the end and end up paying $15.This hotel is very very noisy...........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

0.8 miles, 10 -15 mins walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top