$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of 631 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
karen super wife
Couples
salt lake city, ut
Mar 18, 2013

anniversary get away

The hotel was great, the staff was very friendly and helpful, they were especially great with the breakfast, they always had enough food, and no matter what time we went to breakfast, they never ran out of food, always a good selection of food. it was located in a great place, so you never had to cross the street to go to Disneyland. This is a great place for families because of the safety factor for children, I love the covered parking, and having the doors to your room on the inside of the building, so no mattrer what the weather, you were always out of the weather. we were upgraded to a suite at no additional cost, and was able to have a room with an outside view. also our room had a full kitichen in it. refrigerator, microwave, sink and silverware, plates, glasses, pots and pans, so you could cook anything to save money from having to go out and eat, very convenient. the room and 2 tv's, one in the bedroom, and one in the sitting room, great for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat breakfast at the hotel, prepare a lunch for the park, and save your money for a good night out for dinner.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
disneytravelers
Family
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 17, 2013

Good value

Clean, comfortable, walking distance to Disneyland and a helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is quite near to Disneyland.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chilli Spice Girl
Family
Kent, U.K.
Feb 25, 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great location!

Spent a lovely week here in this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room/suite (we had a 2 bedroom suite) was cleaned everyday. The breakfast was average but since it was part of the package, it saved money if you just want something to eat before setting off for the day. The hotel is in perfect location, dependign on how fast you walk, it is between 5 - 10 minutes' walk to the Disney Parks. A nice shopping center (Westfield) is about 4 miles away and can be easily reached by taxi. Hotel is about 35 miles from LAX and would cost about $100 by taxi. There is a small pool (we didn't have time to enjoy) but there were always people in there and it looked cleaned and welcoming. All in all, a very good stay. I would certainly consider staying here again in my next visit to Anaheim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
renawesome
Family
Oahu,hawaii
Feb 23, 2013

great value

We always stay at Desert Palms when wee go to Disneyland. The price is reasonable, it is clean, and within comfortable walking distance to the park. The free breakfast every morning is definitely a perk. You don't have to plan where you are going to eat and go out on search of food. You just go upstairs eat your food and go straight out to the park (hooray, more time to enjoy the magic of Disney :-) ) Unfortunately it was a little more crowded than we had remembered, it must have become a popular place. It was difficult to find parking and with the our window facing the parking lot, we found that the sundproofing was not as we hoped it would have been. It was pretty noisy when a particularly large group came in and parked . soundproofing ssoundproofing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobCA
Family
Agoura, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Great location

Very helpful staff and great location - 10 minute walk to Disney parks, 10 minute walk to many restaurants. I needed to fax some documents during my stay and the front desk staff was so helpful and did not charge extra for this service. Room was bit dated and could use updating, but was clean. We stayed in room 402 and the kids room (bunkbeds) shared wall with laundy the noise might bother some but our kids did not seem to mind and policy is to not do any laundy after 10PM so it was not a problem. Oh, and did I say FREE parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matz Mom
Couples
Visalia
Feb 6, 2013

couple's getaway

Staff very friendly and helpful. If you want to enjoy the free breakfast, get there early or forget it. Not enough seats and no organization.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frugal Family Father
Family
Wheatland, California
Jan 20, 2013

Desert Palms is a Good Family Hotel for Visiting Disney

We had our choices of many hotels around D-isneyland, and this time, the Desert Palms was the choice for us. Part of this was the nice discount offered by Zorbits, but the other part was the amenities for a larger family--not too many hotels offer suites at reasonable pricing this close to Disneyland. First, the room/suite we stayed in was moderate. I don't know the square footage, but there was enough room in the front part for a king bed, two lamp tables and a vanity with big screen LG plasma. The bathroom was normal size with one sink, bathtub and toilet. The suited kids room was small, but the hotel puts a bunk bed and sofa sleeper in there, so it slept 4 kids comfortably. There's also a second LG tv in the suite with a smoked-glass door between the rooms, so you can live in relative peace. Our room came with a mini-fridge, that wasn't cold enough to freeze ice cubes, but was cold enough to freeze guacamole, yogurt and ranch dressing. Odd? Also, it had a microwave and coffee machine. Breakfast was great--although room for eating was hit or miss depending on when we arrived. The dining room is on the 5th floor, and they had hot meals each morning. It was some form of: sausage, eggs, biscuits, oatmeal, waffles, fruit, yogurt, cottage cheese, juices, milk and coffee. Just enough to get you through a morning at D-isney. The location can't really be beat. You're only a 10 minute walk to the main gate, and you never cross any major intersection--your one crossing is at a bus-turn-about next to the D-isney entrance. The hotel also offers a paid shuttle service (per day), but we had great weather, so we didn't need it. The review may sound good so far, but here are some of the cons. The rooms, although nice are well lived-in, and the carpets stink. The walls are paper-thin, so expect to hear your neighbors. We were lucky to come at off-season, so noise was minimal, but we could hear our neighbors across the hall. The wallpaper is marked up, especially behind the bathroom door and closet. Make sure you don't get billed for room charges on this. Also, the light and fan in the bathroom are on the same circuit, so don't expect to keep the light on as a night-light for the kids. There are not a lot of parking spaces--not really sure where you park when the above ground and garage areas are full--we managed to park above ground the whole week, but come Friday when we left, we would've been hurting for parking. Food is also available at the hotel, as well as many take-out options. However, for those of you with allergies, like my kids, you'll find your choices slim to none. We found that Red Robin offers gluten-free about 2 miles south of the hotel, but to get to the closest Chik-Fil-A or Chipotle, it was at least a 15 min drive north. All the other restaurants close are $$$: Bubba-Gump, McCormick&Schmidt, Cali Pizza Kitchen, Ruth's Chris, etc. If that is not a problem for you, then you're probably staying at the wrong resort. Extra Fees: What Zorbits doesn't tell you, and nothing else either until you get there is that there is a non-refundable $1.00/day charge for your safe (regardless if you use it), ANOTHER resort fee not covered in the Zorbits costs at a rate of $9.99/night, and some sort of county fee of $0.22/day. This may not seem like much for a short 1 or 2 day stay, but it ran over $50 for our 4 night stay, making the total cost for this hotel pretty much the same it would have been without the Zorbits discount. Now you know, and this could be a major turn-off! We previously stayed at R,a,m,a,d,a M,a,i,n,g,a,t,e during our last visit. This hotel is definitely an upgrade in all respects (Do not stay at the R,a,m,a,d,a M,a,i,n,g,a,t,e if given the choice). As long as you go without super-high expectations, the Desert Palms is a good hotel to stay at when visiting D-isney. If the price is right, we'd probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy Disney stuff in the park unless you absolutely have to. There is a Walmart Supercenter about 2 exits north on I-5 of the Desert Palms that has a whole section of the store with official Disney apparel and stuff (not a knockoff). We bought 6 tee-shirts, a pair of pants, a mickey and minnie mouse 14" doll, dishtowel set, 3 magnets, keychain for well less than $100. You CANNOT do that in Disney. They also carry the photobooks, signature books, pin lanyards, mouse ears (all the stuff you think you can't buy outside the park). Oh and don't go to that Disney outlet that's 15 min north on Harbor Ave--it's nothing but expensive junk.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kcon
Couples
Riverside county
Jan 15, 2013

wonderful birthday

The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites has a wonderful and helpful staff. we were able to check in early and got a nice greeting every time we came into the front lobby. also every time we had a question they went above and beyond to help us. also the location to disneyland was so convenient. its is a little nit of a walk however we were able to stop by the 7 11 for midnight snacks and to pick up snacks to bring into disneyland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

going to 7 11 to pick up drinks and food for disneyland was a life saver. also right next to the hotel so even at night it is not scary to walk to

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edmond Mom
Family
Edmond, OK
Jan 6, 2013

Family Vacation

The hotel accommodated our family of 5 fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The carpet in the rooms were bad but overall the room was clean. However, you can hear others running in the hallway or upstairs very clearly so if you are a light sleeper this may not be good for you. The hotel was in the perfect location for walking to Disneyland, California Adventure, Downtown Disney, theaters, bowling and many restaurants. It is also only a 30-40 min drive into LA to site see and an 1 hr - 1hr 15 min drive to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott and Olivia
Family
California
Nov 17, 2012

Dad and 2 year old

All was good except for the thin walls. I could hear the water pipes every time the water turned on in the next room. Shorter walk from hotel to the park than walking from parking structure to the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top