$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 28, 2015 Check-out: Jan 29, 2015

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

3 stars
631 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
299 reviews
Affordable Disney

First Disney adventure with our children, one a toddler. Desert Palms -affordable! Great breakfast.... See full review

  • Disneyland family fun
  • Jan 25, 2015
Great Experience

This hotel is in a wonderful location, has an excellent free breakfast, and the staff was very... See full review

  • BRV23
  • Jan 15, 2015
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is a mellow Disneyland Good Neighbor Hotel, designed to accommodate families and business travelers in Anaheim. Bunk beds in the signature kids' suites add an element of fun for children, while businesspeople can book a stay in the deluxe rooms. These come with a desk, free Wi-Fi, and use of the on-site business center. Fill up on eggs, sausages, fresh fruit, cereals, waffles and coffee at the complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room, before heading to the nearby theme parks, or dipping your toes in the heated outdoor pool.
Key facts
  • 24-hour front desk service
  • Gift shop
  • Free parking
  • ATM
  • Concierge service
  • Free Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room
  • Sandbox Bar and Grille Restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • Fitness room
Neighborhood
The Desert Palms Hotel is just minutes away from numerous attractions, including Angel Stadium, Disneyland, Downtown Disney and the Crystal Cathedral. Take a stroll to entertainment center Anaheim GardenWalk - and Orange County hotspot for shopping, dining and amusement - and grab a sweet treat at The Cheesecake Factory before catching a flick at UltraLuxe Cinemas. Business guests can also walk to the Anaheim Convention Center, situated right across the street.
Hints and tips
For more space, plus kitchenette facilities for families looking to dine in, condo-styled rooms offer an affordable solution.
Condo amenities include two TVs, so kids and adults can enjoy two different shows or movies after a long day together.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Palms Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites Rooms

Kitchenette with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate living area. Kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. Small dining table with four chairs. Coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Luxury Suite with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate, sunken living area. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Kid Suite with Free Breakfast
One king bed in the parents room and one sofa bed and bunk bed in the kids room. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Family Suite with Free Breakfast
Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, four queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Deluxe Two Doubles with Free Breakfast
Two Queen size beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 1.9 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 9.1 mi

Dining

Sandbox Bar & Grille
Open daily (kids meal are available)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (299)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Radicus Addicus
Business
Sacramento, California
Sep 3, 2012

Excellent Location & Value

Friendly, helpful staff- quickly responded to any requests we had. Short 2 block walk to the parks and located in a well-lit, safe area. Hot breakfast was a great start to a long day at the park, great selection of breakfast foods. Other reviews noted that the noise was a little unbearable, and I have to say we didn't notice it. Stayed 3rd floor right above the street & it was just white noise. The only noise we really heard was the fireworks from the park each night. Pool is a little small, but we barely used it- spent all day at the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grammy Lisa
Business
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Aug 12, 2012

Cozy

The rooms have very little space around the beds and the breakfast is your typical chain buffet. 15 minutes walking distance to Disneyland. Pool is very small and centered between buildings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
goducks
Business
Bend, Oregon
Aug 6, 2012

Good value for the proximity to Disneyland

Good value for the proximity to Disneyland. very positive experience. Bunk beds were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goducks
Business
Bend, Oregon
Aug 6, 2012

Great location for the price

Easy walking distance to disneyland. Very positive overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Been67
Business
New York
Aug 2, 2012

Terrible experience

Our flight out to Anaheim was cancelled and we couldn't get to the hotel on our scheduled arrival date. The hotel refused to be flexible about changing our date of arrival and essentially ruined a long planned family vacation across the country. Staff were also very rude and rooms and common areas quite unclean. Location was good however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northern BC dad
Business
Fort St. John, BC
Aug 1, 2012

Southern California in July

I was looking for the best overall deal, flight and car included...you can't beat the location, an easy walk to and from Disney, their breakfast is more than sufficient to start the day, we didn't use all the amenities but made the most of the ones we did use...would certainly stay again if we are ever back there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If going to Disney Parks, leave the car in the parking lot and walk there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthday Girl's Boyfriend
Business
Monterey, California
Jul 17, 2012

Good but not Great

I'll start with the good. Great hotel staff; they never missed the chance to greet you with a smile. Parking was relatively simple. Rooms were in great shape. Now for the bad. First night, there must have been a rave going on in the room above us or someone was river-dancing because we heard stomp-crack-stomp from 5 am until we pried ourselves out of be at 9am. We were looking forward to the breakfast only to find make-it-yourself waffles, greasy sausage patties and potatoes, and watery scrambled eggs. Finally, disneyland is right across the street but only if you consider a good 15 min walk "down the street". I would say check it out if it were like 99$ a night but definitely not for 150$ a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mia Marie
Business
San Francisco, California
Jul 13, 2012

Too much for "okay" service

I stayed for one night at this hotel and I did like the short distance to the Disneyland resort (just 10 minutes walk). I did not like the breakfast (unfriendly staff and too less food options). However the night was quiet and almost comfortable (depends on what you are used to) and the staff at the front desk was fiendly and helpfull. For one night okay but I wouldn't stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony tahulk Alexander
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 22, 2012

equipment

Well upon arriving the hotel eerything looked really good. Went to diner at Bubba Gump's and came back to hotel and to our surprise the microwave did not work, called the front desk and they said they would send a maintenance man over after he came in and out of our rooms at least 4 times he decided that the wall plug was out, now mind you I am diabetic and if my wife did not try to use the microwave which shares the same outlet as the refrig my insulin would have been bad. So the maintenance man ran an extension cord across our floor and tape it down. Now for a 145.00 a night I think more could have been done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Bubba Gump's it's a nice place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeng vacation seeker
Business
LA, CA
Jun 19, 2012

Less than satisfactory

Less than satisfactory rating. Suite was tiny. No walkway space for the kids with the sofa bed and bunk bed all compact in a tiny room, tandem room, not giving privacy. All bed sheets were itchy, unable to comfortably sleep. One of the TV did not work. No shower curtain in bathroom. (We had to ask for one). Food from Sand Box Bar and Grille were good and service was excellent. Breakfast were awesome, great variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top