$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of 631 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eringb
Business
oklahoma city, ok
Oct 28, 2013

convenient location

Disneyland was our primary destination so the Desert Palms was perfectly located. The walk took about 10 minutes from front door to main gate with a 5 and 7 year old in tow. The kids loved the bunk beds. Room was clean. Daily breakfast wasn't great, but it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tallestiger
Business
Canada
Oct 27, 2013

Kind of a let down!

After doing tons of research I thought this would be the best hotel for my family of 5. I was sadly mistaken. The "brochure" is always better. The pool was small, cold and dirty. The poolside dirty - hair, used band aids, yuck. Our room was small - bunkbed and pullout couch in a seperate room was a great idea if only there was room to move around once the bed was pulled out. We had to step over the bed and it was very noisey. Continental breakfast is nothing special, below average actually. Not a lot of choices. Have had better. The cleaning service was great each day. The lobby was the best looking part of the hotel. The rest is OLD. Then to have the front desk get you to sign up for a tour to their new resort that comes with a free breakfast and $100 disneyland money or American Express gift card , only to find out its a timeshare and once you do not go, they charge you $40 on your credit card. And here's a quote "You have to make over $75000 to attend and well, you are here at Disneyland so you must make more money than that." Not impressed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tdpa
Business
Fargo, ND
Oct 22, 2013

Close to Disney, Sandbox a plus

Perfect location, 10 minute walk to Disney gates. We ate at Sandbox 4 nights after busy days away, good food. Room was a bit to be desired, carpets dirty. Kids loved pool. Not much sun in pool area, could hear fireworks. Front desk staff could have been a bit more on top of their game, had to ask for drnk tickets that came with visit and Disney photos that came with hopper pass. Also sold us a Disney ticket for use at Universal, did reverse charges though. Found perscription drugs in first room asked to be moved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. WC
Business
Seattle
Oct 9, 2013

NOT GOOD

The hallways are stuffy. The first room we had, looked at a brick wall you could touch and to the hotels credit they moved us to a different room, that however is where the good ends. The refrigerator was broken and so was the replacement. Our bags were searched through the first day we were out. The carpet was filthy. The shower had mold in it. The TV didn't get most of the channels the hotel advertised. The heater in the room set off the fire alarm... when we called the front desk for help we were told that was because they were never used and never cleaned, just turn it off, did we need extra blankets. We did stick it out (the fire alarm was on our last night) and did like the parking. We will not be going back and cannot recommend anyone stay there ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quintanilla
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 6, 2013

Convenient

The hotel staff was very helpful and quickly provided assistance. The hotel was very clean and had all features we were looking for: breakfast buffet. laundry room, pool and transportation. We loved that it had fresh ice water available in the lobby at all times and that it was close to everything! Room was very large with microwave, fridge and separate room for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobbyclobber
Business
St.John's NL.Canada
Sep 1, 2013

Great spot

Great location for DisneyLand goers.the staff were perfect.The free breakfast was good.Had a wonderful stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Team Dizney
Business
North Vancouver, BC
Aug 29, 2013

Right for us.

We always stay at this hotel because of the kids suite that has a master with a French door with a bunk and sofa bed on the other side. My daughter has childhood insomnia and she gets the separate room to herself where she is able to sleep away from home. The rooms are well maintained. The staff is friendly. What I do not like is the noise from other guests. Our room this time was just around the corner from the elevator. There was a family eating at a table there at 1:30 in the morning with a 1 1/2 and 4 year old running and yelling up and down the halls. They were kind enough to fix that when I told them they were keeping my son up. Then there was the morning that a boy, about 14 stood in his doorway across the hall from us caring a loud conversation with those inside, while they made their own noise. After about 5 min. I finally asked if he wouldn't mind going into his suite and shutting the door to carry on his talking. I love the hotel. I do not care for inconsiderate guests that forget there are other families on the other side of those doors that can hear everything!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Winnie Mom
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 21, 2013

Not very good hotel

The hotel is close to Disneyland. This is why I pick this hotel. However, the room is kind of old, unpleasant smell. There might be bugs in the room. My kids and myself were all get bites and itchy red spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lavi
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Aug 14, 2013

Great choice for families!

This is the third time we've stayed at Desert Palms. Enjoyable hotel. Close to Disneyland's front gate. Just a 15 minute walk. You will save ($16/day) on parking everyday at Disneyland plus you don't have to hassle with the fight for a seat on the trams. Room was comfy, Borrego suite offers the living room with pull out sofa. Two televisions is nice with kids. Plus a big curtain closes off half the room which is convenient. The hot breakfast is great for families. Not your usual continental faire but more variety including: waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, cereal, cottage cheese, fruit, pastries and more. In addition, the staff doesn't run you out of the place at 10 am but let's everyone finish eating breakfast. They never run out of the good stuff either. Parking's good, staff is very helpful and friendly, location is great, hotel overall is above par as compared to others in the area. One down side is the "resort fee" of $9/night. Not sure why it's just not included in the overall room rate. Otherwise, it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

With Disneyland, it's good to have a hotel with a short walk as it will allow for a few things: 1. Save $$ on parking 2. Easy walk so you're not afraid to leave the park for a few hours and then come back 3. When leaving late at night it's an easy walk back to the hotel.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimbeaux28
Business
Louisiana
Aug 12, 2013

Fantastic June stay

First timers in Anaheim and we couldn't have asked for a better stay at the Desert Palms! The morning breakfast was awesome and had something for everyone in the family! I had scrambled eggs every morning while the wife and kids hit the waffles and cold cereal. Staff was warm and friendly on every encounter we had with them! Parking also was awesome! Underground garage with elevator access made it no hassle. I definitely would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get there early. Tables fill up quick!

Back to menu Return to top