$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

3 stars
631 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
292 reviews
Best of the Rest

The Desert Palms is the best off-site hotel around Disneyland. Sure, the Disneyland Hotel and Grand... See full review

  • OverThinker
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great location with perks.

10 minute walk to Disneyland gates. Lots of perks like free parking and free hot breakfast. Great... See full review

  • Family of 3 Boys
  • Apr 20, 2014
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is a mellow Disneyland Good Neighbor Hotel, designed to accommodate families and business travelers in Anaheim. Bunk beds in the signature kids' suites add an element of fun for children, while businesspeople can book a stay in the deluxe rooms. These come with a desk, free Wi-Fi, and use of the on-site business center. Fill up on eggs, sausages, fresh fruit, cereals, waffles and coffee at the complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room, before heading to the nearby theme parks, or dipping your toes in the heated outdoor pool.
Key facts
  • 24-hour front desk service
  • Gift shop
  • Free parking
  • ATM
  • Concierge service
  • Free Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room
  • Sandbox Bar and Grille Restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • Fitness room
Neighborhood
The Desert Palms Hotel is just minutes away from numerous attractions, including Angel Stadium, Disneyland, Downtown Disney and the Crystal Cathedral. Take a stroll to entertainment center Anaheim GardenWalk - and Orange County hotspot for shopping, dining and amusement - and grab a sweet treat at The Cheesecake Factory before catching a flick at UltraLuxe Cinemas. Business guests can also walk to the Anaheim Convention Center, situated right across the street.
Hints and tips
For more space, plus kitchenette facilities for families looking to dine in, condo-styled rooms offer an affordable solution.
Condo amenities include two TVs, so kids and adults can enjoy two different shows or movies after a long day together.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Palms Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites Rooms

Kitchenette with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate living area. Kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. Small dining table with four chairs. Coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Luxury Suite with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate, sunken living area. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Kid Suite with Free Breakfast
One king bed in the parents room and one sofa bed and bunk bed in the kids room. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Family Suite with Free Breakfast
Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, four queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Deluxe Two Doubles with Free Breakfast
Two Queen size beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 1.9 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 9.1 mi

Dining

Sandbox Bar & Grille
Open daily (kids meal are available)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (292)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DIsneyoholics
Business
Somerset, United Kingdom
Apr 14, 2013

Perfect location for Disney

After trawling through hundreds of hotel reviews we booked the Desert Palms are were not disappointed. The room was clean, spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was upstairs and was adequate with toast, waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, muffins and scrambled egg with bacon/sausage. It suited us and gave us enough energy to get round Disney. The walk to Disney from the hotel was around 10mins stroll and was preferable over the high parking fee that Disney charge. Only down side was the noise from the pool - our room overlooked the pool and after the 9pm 'quiet time' the pool remained open until 10pm and it was so noisy it kept us and the kids awake when we were shattered from Disney. Would go back but ask for room away from pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nuttybrew21
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 5, 2013

Disneyland family

We did a two day trip to Disneyland with my husband, best friend, and 3 year old daughter and when we checked in we were exhausted from the day and they upgraded our room for no reason other then we had 4 people and gave us a room with four queen beds and the beds were amazing! It's was great for the price I paid and free breakfast what more can you ask for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SusieandPatrick
Business
Vallejo CA
Apr 1, 2013

Great Stay!!!

The hotel was nice, the staff at the front desk was very nice and courteous. The rooms were nice and cozy. The restrooms were clean, linen was clean and seemed like the housekeeping really do their job. The only thing that I had a bit of an issue was that I was placed on the first floor and the people above me had kids that were running around starting as early as 5am. which was disturbing for my toddler and husband...Other than that we had a great time staying there....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
karen super wife
Business
salt lake city, ut
Mar 18, 2013

anniversary get away

The hotel was great, the staff was very friendly and helpful, they were especially great with the breakfast, they always had enough food, and no matter what time we went to breakfast, they never ran out of food, always a good selection of food. it was located in a great place, so you never had to cross the street to go to Disneyland. This is a great place for families because of the safety factor for children, I love the covered parking, and having the doors to your room on the inside of the building, so no mattrer what the weather, you were always out of the weather. we were upgraded to a suite at no additional cost, and was able to have a room with an outside view. also our room had a full kitichen in it. refrigerator, microwave, sink and silverware, plates, glasses, pots and pans, so you could cook anything to save money from having to go out and eat, very convenient. the room and 2 tv's, one in the bedroom, and one in the sitting room, great for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat breakfast at the hotel, prepare a lunch for the park, and save your money for a good night out for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
disneytravelers
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 17, 2013

Good value

Clean, comfortable, walking distance to Disneyland and a helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is quite near to Disneyland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chilli Spice Girl
Business
Kent, U.K.
Feb 25, 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great location!

Spent a lovely week here in this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room/suite (we had a 2 bedroom suite) was cleaned everyday. The breakfast was average but since it was part of the package, it saved money if you just want something to eat before setting off for the day. The hotel is in perfect location, dependign on how fast you walk, it is between 5 - 10 minutes' walk to the Disney Parks. A nice shopping center (Westfield) is about 4 miles away and can be easily reached by taxi. Hotel is about 35 miles from LAX and would cost about $100 by taxi. There is a small pool (we didn't have time to enjoy) but there were always people in there and it looked cleaned and welcoming. All in all, a very good stay. I would certainly consider staying here again in my next visit to Anaheim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
renawesome
Business
Oahu,hawaii
Feb 23, 2013

great value

We always stay at Desert Palms when wee go to Disneyland. The price is reasonable, it is clean, and within comfortable walking distance to the park. The free breakfast every morning is definitely a perk. You don't have to plan where you are going to eat and go out on search of food. You just go upstairs eat your food and go straight out to the park (hooray, more time to enjoy the magic of Disney :-) ) Unfortunately it was a little more crowded than we had remembered, it must have become a popular place. It was difficult to find parking and with the our window facing the parking lot, we found that the sundproofing was not as we hoped it would have been. It was pretty noisy when a particularly large group came in and parked . soundproofing ssoundproofing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobCA
Business
Agoura, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Great location

Very helpful staff and great location - 10 minute walk to Disney parks, 10 minute walk to many restaurants. I needed to fax some documents during my stay and the front desk staff was so helpful and did not charge extra for this service. Room was bit dated and could use updating, but was clean. We stayed in room 402 and the kids room (bunkbeds) shared wall with laundy the noise might bother some but our kids did not seem to mind and policy is to not do any laundy after 10PM so it was not a problem. Oh, and did I say FREE parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matz Mom
Business
Visalia
Feb 6, 2013

couple's getaway

Staff very friendly and helpful. If you want to enjoy the free breakfast, get there early or forget it. Not enough seats and no organization.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frugal Family Father
Business
Wheatland, California
Jan 20, 2013

Desert Palms is a Good Family Hotel for Visiting Disney

We had our choices of many hotels around D-isneyland, and this time, the Desert Palms was the choice for us. Part of this was the nice discount offered by Zorbits, but the other part was the amenities for a larger family--not too many hotels offer suites at reasonable pricing this close to Disneyland. First, the room/suite we stayed in was moderate. I don't know the square footage, but there was enough room in the front part for a king bed, two lamp tables and a vanity with big screen LG plasma. The bathroom was normal size with one sink, bathtub and toilet. The suited kids room was small, but the hotel puts a bunk bed and sofa sleeper in there, so it slept 4 kids comfortably. There's also a second LG tv in the suite with a smoked-glass door between the rooms, so you can live in relative peace. Our room came with a mini-fridge, that wasn't cold enough to freeze ice cubes, but was cold enough to freeze guacamole, yogurt and ranch dressing. Odd? Also, it had a microwave and coffee machine. Breakfast was great--although room for eating was hit or miss depending on when we arrived. The dining room is on the 5th floor, and they had hot meals each morning. It was some form of: sausage, eggs, biscuits, oatmeal, waffles, fruit, yogurt, cottage cheese, juices, milk and coffee. Just enough to get you through a morning at D-isney. The location can't really be beat. You're only a 10 minute walk to the main gate, and you never cross any major intersection--your one crossing is at a bus-turn-about next to the D-isney entrance. The hotel also offers a paid shuttle service (per day), but we had great weather, so we didn't need it. The review may sound good so far, but here are some of the cons. The rooms, although nice are well lived-in, and the carpets stink. The walls are paper-thin, so expect to hear your neighbors. We were lucky to come at off-season, so noise was minimal, but we could hear our neighbors across the hall. The wallpaper is marked up, especially behind the bathroom door and closet. Make sure you don't get billed for room charges on this. Also, the light and fan in the bathroom are on the same circuit, so don't expect to keep the light on as a night-light for the kids. There are not a lot of parking spaces--not really sure where you park when the above ground and garage areas are full--we managed to park above ground the whole week, but come Friday when we left, we would've been hurting for parking. Food is also available at the hotel, as well as many take-out options. However, for those of you with allergies, like my kids, you'll find your choices slim to none. We found that Red Robin offers gluten-free about 2 miles south of the hotel, but to get to the closest Chik-Fil-A or Chipotle, it was at least a 15 min drive north. All the other restaurants close are $$$: Bubba-Gump, McCormick&Schmidt, Cali Pizza Kitchen, Ruth's Chris, etc. If that is not a problem for you, then you're probably staying at the wrong resort. Extra Fees: What Zorbits doesn't tell you, and nothing else either until you get there is that there is a non-refundable $1.00/day charge for your safe (regardless if you use it), ANOTHER resort fee not covered in the Zorbits costs at a rate of $9.99/night, and some sort of county fee of $0.22/day. This may not seem like much for a short 1 or 2 day stay, but it ran over $50 for our 4 night stay, making the total cost for this hotel pretty much the same it would have been without the Zorbits discount. Now you know, and this could be a major turn-off! We previously stayed at R,a,m,a,d,a M,a,i,n,g,a,t,e during our last visit. This hotel is definitely an upgrade in all respects (Do not stay at the R,a,m,a,d,a M,a,i,n,g,a,t,e if given the choice). As long as you go without super-high expectations, the Desert Palms is a good hotel to stay at when visiting D-isney. If the price is right, we'd probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy Disney stuff in the park unless you absolutely have to. There is a Walmart Supercenter about 2 exits north on I-5 of the Desert Palms that has a whole section of the store with official Disney apparel and stuff (not a knockoff). We bought 6 tee-shirts, a pair of pants, a mickey and minnie mouse 14" doll, dishtowel set, 3 magnets, keychain for well less than $100. You CANNOT do that in Disney. They also carry the photobooks, signature books, pin lanyards, mouse ears (all the stuff you think you can't buy outside the park). Oh and don't go to that Disney outlet that's 15 min north on Harbor Ave--it's nothing but expensive junk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top