$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 28, 2015 Check-out: Jan 29, 2015

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

3 stars
631 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
299 reviews
Affordable Disney

First Disney adventure with our children, one a toddler. Desert Palms -affordable! Great breakfast.... See full review

  • Disneyland family fun
  • Jan 25, 2015
Great Experience

This hotel is in a wonderful location, has an excellent free breakfast, and the staff was very... See full review

  • BRV23
  • Jan 15, 2015
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is a mellow Disneyland Good Neighbor Hotel, designed to accommodate families and business travelers in Anaheim. Bunk beds in the signature kids' suites add an element of fun for children, while businesspeople can book a stay in the deluxe rooms. These come with a desk, free Wi-Fi, and use of the on-site business center. Fill up on eggs, sausages, fresh fruit, cereals, waffles and coffee at the complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room, before heading to the nearby theme parks, or dipping your toes in the heated outdoor pool.
Key facts
  • 24-hour front desk service
  • Gift shop
  • Free parking
  • ATM
  • Concierge service
  • Free Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room
  • Sandbox Bar and Grille Restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • Fitness room
Neighborhood
The Desert Palms Hotel is just minutes away from numerous attractions, including Angel Stadium, Disneyland, Downtown Disney and the Crystal Cathedral. Take a stroll to entertainment center Anaheim GardenWalk - and Orange County hotspot for shopping, dining and amusement - and grab a sweet treat at The Cheesecake Factory before catching a flick at UltraLuxe Cinemas. Business guests can also walk to the Anaheim Convention Center, situated right across the street.
Hints and tips
For more space, plus kitchenette facilities for families looking to dine in, condo-styled rooms offer an affordable solution.
Condo amenities include two TVs, so kids and adults can enjoy two different shows or movies after a long day together.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Palms Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites Rooms

Kitchenette with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate living area. Kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. Small dining table with four chairs. Coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Luxury Suite with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate, sunken living area. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Kid Suite with Free Breakfast
One king bed in the parents room and one sofa bed and bunk bed in the kids room. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Family Suite with Free Breakfast
Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, four queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Deluxe Two Doubles with Free Breakfast
Two Queen size beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 1.9 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 9.1 mi

Dining

Sandbox Bar & Grille
Open daily (kids meal are available)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (299)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
goducks
Bend, Oregon
Aug 6, 2012

Good value for the proximity to Disneyland

Good value for the proximity to Disneyland. very positive experience. Bunk beds were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
disneylandisgreat
Business
honolulu, hawaii
Jan 6, 2014

Perfect Family Hotel Near Disneyland

Our family had stayed here every year for the past 3 years. We've always had a pleasant stay! Rooms were always clean, staff was pleasant and helpful, and complimentary breakfast everyday was very convenient and pretty good! We plan on staying here for our future trips to Disneyland and would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grama F
Business
Oregon
Dec 31, 2013

Great Family Experience

I took 12 people to Disneyland, the hotel was close enough to walk, breakfast was great every day. Rooms (3) were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eringb
Business
oklahoma city, ok
Oct 28, 2013

convenient location

Disneyland was our primary destination so the Desert Palms was perfectly located. The walk took about 10 minutes from front door to main gate with a 5 and 7 year old in tow. The kids loved the bunk beds. Room was clean. Daily breakfast wasn't great, but it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tallestiger
Business
Canada
Oct 27, 2013

Kind of a let down!

After doing tons of research I thought this would be the best hotel for my family of 5. I was sadly mistaken. The "brochure" is always better. The pool was small, cold and dirty. The poolside dirty - hair, used band aids, yuck. Our room was small - bunkbed and pullout couch in a seperate room was a great idea if only there was room to move around once the bed was pulled out. We had to step over the bed and it was very noisey. Continental breakfast is nothing special, below average actually. Not a lot of choices. Have had better. The cleaning service was great each day. The lobby was the best looking part of the hotel. The rest is OLD. Then to have the front desk get you to sign up for a tour to their new resort that comes with a free breakfast and $100 disneyland money or American Express gift card , only to find out its a timeshare and once you do not go, they charge you $40 on your credit card. And here's a quote "You have to make over $75000 to attend and well, you are here at Disneyland so you must make more money than that." Not impressed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tdpa
Business
Fargo, ND
Oct 22, 2013

Close to Disney, Sandbox a plus

Perfect location, 10 minute walk to Disney gates. We ate at Sandbox 4 nights after busy days away, good food. Room was a bit to be desired, carpets dirty. Kids loved pool. Not much sun in pool area, could hear fireworks. Front desk staff could have been a bit more on top of their game, had to ask for drnk tickets that came with visit and Disney photos that came with hopper pass. Also sold us a Disney ticket for use at Universal, did reverse charges though. Found perscription drugs in first room asked to be moved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. WC
Business
Seattle
Oct 9, 2013

NOT GOOD

The hallways are stuffy. The first room we had, looked at a brick wall you could touch and to the hotels credit they moved us to a different room, that however is where the good ends. The refrigerator was broken and so was the replacement. Our bags were searched through the first day we were out. The carpet was filthy. The shower had mold in it. The TV didn't get most of the channels the hotel advertised. The heater in the room set off the fire alarm... when we called the front desk for help we were told that was because they were never used and never cleaned, just turn it off, did we need extra blankets. We did stick it out (the fire alarm was on our last night) and did like the parking. We will not be going back and cannot recommend anyone stay there ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quintanilla
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 6, 2013

Convenient

The hotel staff was very helpful and quickly provided assistance. The hotel was very clean and had all features we were looking for: breakfast buffet. laundry room, pool and transportation. We loved that it had fresh ice water available in the lobby at all times and that it was close to everything! Room was very large with microwave, fridge and separate room for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobbyclobber
Business
St.John's NL.Canada
Sep 1, 2013

Great spot

Great location for DisneyLand goers.the staff were perfect.The free breakfast was good.Had a wonderful stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Team Dizney
Business
North Vancouver, BC
Aug 29, 2013

Right for us.

We always stay at this hotel because of the kids suite that has a master with a French door with a bunk and sofa bed on the other side. My daughter has childhood insomnia and she gets the separate room to herself where she is able to sleep away from home. The rooms are well maintained. The staff is friendly. What I do not like is the noise from other guests. Our room this time was just around the corner from the elevator. There was a family eating at a table there at 1:30 in the morning with a 1 1/2 and 4 year old running and yelling up and down the halls. They were kind enough to fix that when I told them they were keeping my son up. Then there was the morning that a boy, about 14 stood in his doorway across the hall from us caring a loud conversation with those inside, while they made their own noise. After about 5 min. I finally asked if he wouldn't mind going into his suite and shutting the door to carry on his talking. I love the hotel. I do not care for inconsiderate guests that forget there are other families on the other side of those doors that can hear everything!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Winnie Mom
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 21, 2013

Not very good hotel

The hotel is close to Disneyland. This is why I pick this hotel. However, the room is kind of old, unpleasant smell. There might be bugs in the room. My kids and myself were all get bites and itchy red spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top