$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 20, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

3 stars
631 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
289 reviews
Best of the Rest

The Desert Palms is the best off-site hotel around Disneyland. Sure, the Disneyland Hotel and Grand... See full review

  • OverThinker
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great location with perks.

10 minute walk to Disneyland gates. Lots of perks like free parking and free hot breakfast. Great... See full review

  • Family of 3 Boys
  • Apr 20, 2014
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is a mellow Disneyland Good Neighbor Hotel, designed to accommodate families and business travelers in Anaheim. Bunk beds in the signature kids' suites add an element of fun for children, while businesspeople can book a stay in the deluxe rooms. These come with a desk, free Wi-Fi, and use of the on-site business center. Fill up on eggs, sausages, fresh fruit, cereals, waffles and coffee at the complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room, before heading to the nearby theme parks, or dipping your toes in the heated outdoor pool.
Key facts
  • 24-hour front desk service
  • Gift shop
  • Free parking
  • ATM
  • Concierge service
  • Free Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room
  • Sandbox Bar and Grille Restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • Fitness room
Neighborhood
The Desert Palms Hotel is just minutes away from numerous attractions, including Angel Stadium, Disneyland, Downtown Disney and the Crystal Cathedral. Take a stroll to entertainment center Anaheim GardenWalk - and Orange County hotspot for shopping, dining and amusement - and grab a sweet treat at The Cheesecake Factory before catching a flick at UltraLuxe Cinemas. Business guests can also walk to the Anaheim Convention Center, situated right across the street.
Hints and tips
For more space, plus kitchenette facilities for families looking to dine in, condo-styled rooms offer an affordable solution.
Condo amenities include two TVs, so kids and adults can enjoy two different shows or movies after a long day together.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.8035 -117.9162
Area served
Anaheim, CA
Nearby airports
John Wayne Orange County, Los Angeles International
Area description
Located next to the Disneyland Resort and across from the Anaheim Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Palms Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites Rooms

Kitchenette with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate living area. Kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. Small dining table with four chairs. Coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Luxury Suite with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate, sunken living area. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Kid Suite with Free Breakfast
One king bed in the parents room and one sofa bed and bunk bed in the kids room. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Family Suite with Free Breakfast
Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, four queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Deluxe Two Doubles with Free Breakfast
Two Queen size beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 1.9 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 9.1 mi

Dining

Sandbox Bar & Grille
Open daily (kids meal are available)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (289)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laura Lynn
Vallejo, CA
May 17, 2012

Great Location!

This hotel is a block from Disneyland. They serve a free hot breakfast which saves you a ton of money in the Disneyland Resort area. Super friendly staff and clean rooms :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Marris Itallian Restaurant is less than 2 miles from the hotal and delivers to the hotel if you want to stay in. Really good food and way cheaper than everything next to Disneyland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lavi
Seattle, WA, USA
Aug 14, 2013

Great choice for families!

This is the third time we've stayed at Desert Palms. Enjoyable hotel. Close to Disneyland's front gate. Just a 15 minute walk. You will save ($16/day) on parking everyday at Disneyland plus you don't have to hassle with the fight for a seat on the trams. Room was comfy, Borrego suite offers the living room with pull out sofa. Two televisions is nice with kids. Plus a big curtain closes off half the room which is convenient. The hot breakfast is great for families. Not your usual continental faire but more variety including: waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, cereal, cottage cheese, fruit, pastries and more. In addition, the staff doesn't run you out of the place at 10 am but let's everyone finish eating breakfast. They never run out of the good stuff either. Parking's good, staff is very helpful and friendly, location is great, hotel overall is above par as compared to others in the area. One down side is the "resort fee" of $9/night. Not sure why it's just not included in the overall room rate. Otherwise, it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

With Disneyland, it's good to have a hotel with a short walk as it will allow for a few things: 1. Save $$ on parking 2. Easy walk so you're not afraid to leave the park for a few hours and then come back 3. When leaving late at night it's an easy walk back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimbeaux28
Louisiana
Aug 12, 2013

Fantastic June stay

First timers in Anaheim and we couldn't have asked for a better stay at the Desert Palms! The morning breakfast was awesome and had something for everyone in the family! I had scrambled eggs every morning while the wife and kids hit the waffles and cold cereal. Staff was warm and friendly on every encounter we had with them! Parking also was awesome! Underground garage with elevator access made it no hassle. I definitely would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get there early. Tables fill up quick!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
calhoun12
Vancouver, WA
Aug 8, 2013

great family experiance

overall our family experience was awesome, thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

ask questions, the info we received was very helpful and some info was volunteered to us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dominica08
Santa Barbara
Jul 25, 2013

Family Disneyland Trip

The hotel was clean and the staff were nice. Great king size bed and in walking distance to Disneyland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mills Family
Tacoma, WA
Jun 20, 2013

First Disney Trip

Me and my husband and our four kids stayed at the Desert Palms in May. This was my first time and I loved the hotel. We even plan on going back with my whole family next April. The food buffet was great the bar and grill downstairs was great and the kids loved the pool. The Yuha Suite was a little small, and the walk was a bit long. But other than that it was GREAT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Priceless fun
Napa, ca
May 14, 2013

Family fun

Location was great, short walk to the park! The breakfast buffet was convenient with a variety of hot food- we could hear the people above our room running around at 6am, I assume they were excited! Otherwise the stay was well worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Goofys kitchen located in downtown Disney is always fun for the kids, characters come by your table for photos, kinda pricey, but isn't it all?!?!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Phan of the Parks
Davenport, FL
May 2, 2013

So-So

If you are just looking for a place to put your head, then this is the place. I would probably go back, because we only spent 8 hours a day in our room, and that was sleeping & showering. The room had a bit of a smell to it, and the floor was a bit dirty. HOWEVER - I cannot rave ENOUGH about the awesome breakfast buffet! Not just croissants and fruit cocktail! You can make your own waffles, and they have 4 or 5 waffle makers, so you are not waiting in line; hot scrambled eggs; fresh fruit; cottage cheese! The money that I saved on having to buy breakfast at IHop made this place worth it, and I will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DIsneyoholics
Somerset, United Kingdom
Apr 14, 2013

Perfect location for Disney

After trawling through hundreds of hotel reviews we booked the Desert Palms are were not disappointed. The room was clean, spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was upstairs and was adequate with toast, waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, muffins and scrambled egg with bacon/sausage. It suited us and gave us enough energy to get round Disney. The walk to Disney from the hotel was around 10mins stroll and was preferable over the high parking fee that Disney charge. Only down side was the noise from the pool - our room overlooked the pool and after the 9pm 'quiet time' the pool remained open until 10pm and it was so noisy it kept us and the kids awake when we were shattered from Disney. Would go back but ask for room away from pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nuttybrew21
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 5, 2013

Disneyland family

We did a two day trip to Disneyland with my husband, best friend, and 3 year old daughter and when we checked in we were exhausted from the day and they upgraded our room for no reason other then we had 4 people and gave us a room with four queen beds and the beds were amazing! It's was great for the price I paid and free breakfast what more can you ask for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SusieandPatrick
Vallejo CA
Apr 1, 2013

Great Stay!!!

The hotel was nice, the staff at the front desk was very nice and courteous. The rooms were nice and cozy. The restrooms were clean, linen was clean and seemed like the housekeeping really do their job. The only thing that I had a bit of an issue was that I was placed on the first floor and the people above me had kids that were running around starting as early as 5am. which was disturbing for my toddler and husband...Other than that we had a great time staying there....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search