$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

3 stars
631 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
462 reviews
Best of the Rest

The Desert Palms is the best off-site hotel around Disneyland. Sure, the Disneyland Hotel and Grand... See full review

  • OverThinker
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great location with perks.

10 minute walk to Disneyland gates. Lots of perks like free parking and free hot breakfast. Great... See full review

  • Family of 3 Boys
  • Apr 20, 2014
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is a mellow Disneyland Good Neighbor Hotel, designed to accommodate families and business travelers in Anaheim. Bunk beds in the signature kids' suites add an element of fun for children, while businesspeople can book a stay in the deluxe rooms. These come with a desk, free Wi-Fi, and use of the on-site business center. Fill up on eggs, sausages, fresh fruit, cereals, waffles and coffee at the complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room, before heading to the nearby theme parks, or dipping your toes in the heated outdoor pool.
Key facts
  • 24-hour front desk service
  • Gift shop
  • Free parking
  • ATM
  • Concierge service
  • Free Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room
  • Sandbox Bar and Grille Restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • Fitness room
Neighborhood
The Desert Palms Hotel is just minutes away from numerous attractions, including Angel Stadium, Disneyland, Downtown Disney and the Crystal Cathedral. Take a stroll to entertainment center Anaheim GardenWalk - and Orange County hotspot for shopping, dining and amusement - and grab a sweet treat at The Cheesecake Factory before catching a flick at UltraLuxe Cinemas. Business guests can also walk to the Anaheim Convention Center, situated right across the street.
Hints and tips
For more space, plus kitchenette facilities for families looking to dine in, condo-styled rooms offer an affordable solution.
Condo amenities include two TVs, so kids and adults can enjoy two different shows or movies after a long day together.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites Rooms

Kitchenette with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate living area. Kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. Small dining table with four chairs. Coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Luxury Suite with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate, sunken living area. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Kid Suite with Free Breakfast
One king bed in the parents room and one sofa bed and bunk bed in the kids room. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Family Suite with Free Breakfast
Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, four queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Deluxe Two Doubles with Free Breakfast
Two Queen size beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Palms Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.8035 -117.9162
Area served
Anaheim, CA
Nearby airports
John Wayne Orange County, Los Angeles International
Area description
Located next to the Disneyland Resort and across from the Anaheim Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 1.9 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 9.1 mi

Dining

Sandbox Bar & Grille
Open daily (kids meal are available)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (462)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
462 out of 462
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tdpa
Fargo, ND
Oct 22, 2013

Close to Disney, Sandbox a plus

Perfect location, 10 minute walk to Disney gates. We ate at Sandbox 4 nights after busy days away, good food. Room was a bit to be desired, carpets dirty. Kids loved pool. Not much sun in pool area, could hear fireworks. Front desk staff could have been a bit more on top of their game, had to ask for drnk tickets that came with visit and Disney photos that came with hopper pass. Also sold us a Disney ticket for use at Universal, did reverse charges though. Found perscription drugs in first room asked to be moved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. WC
Seattle
Oct 9, 2013

NOT GOOD

The hallways are stuffy. The first room we had, looked at a brick wall you could touch and to the hotels credit they moved us to a different room, that however is where the good ends. The refrigerator was broken and so was the replacement. Our bags were searched through the first day we were out. The carpet was filthy. The shower had mold in it. The TV didn't get most of the channels the hotel advertised. The heater in the room set off the fire alarm... when we called the front desk for help we were told that was because they were never used and never cleaned, just turn it off, did we need extra blankets. We did stick it out (the fire alarm was on our last night) and did like the parking. We will not be going back and cannot recommend anyone stay there ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quintanilla
San Francisco, CA
Sep 6, 2013

Convenient

The hotel staff was very helpful and quickly provided assistance. The hotel was very clean and had all features we were looking for: breakfast buffet. laundry room, pool and transportation. We loved that it had fresh ice water available in the lobby at all times and that it was close to everything! Room was very large with microwave, fridge and separate room for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobbyclobber
St.John's NL.Canada
Sep 1, 2013

Great spot

Great location for DisneyLand goers.the staff were perfect.The free breakfast was good.Had a wonderful stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Team Dizney
North Vancouver, BC
Aug 29, 2013

Right for us.

We always stay at this hotel because of the kids suite that has a master with a French door with a bunk and sofa bed on the other side. My daughter has childhood insomnia and she gets the separate room to herself where she is able to sleep away from home. The rooms are well maintained. The staff is friendly. What I do not like is the noise from other guests. Our room this time was just around the corner from the elevator. There was a family eating at a table there at 1:30 in the morning with a 1 1/2 and 4 year old running and yelling up and down the halls. They were kind enough to fix that when I told them they were keeping my son up. Then there was the morning that a boy, about 14 stood in his doorway across the hall from us caring a loud conversation with those inside, while they made their own noise. After about 5 min. I finally asked if he wouldn't mind going into his suite and shutting the door to carry on his talking. I love the hotel. I do not care for inconsiderate guests that forget there are other families on the other side of those doors that can hear everything!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Winnie Mom
Dallas, TX
Aug 21, 2013

Not very good hotel

The hotel is close to Disneyland. This is why I pick this hotel. However, the room is kind of old, unpleasant smell. There might be bugs in the room. My kids and myself were all get bites and itchy red spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lavi
Seattle, WA, USA
Aug 14, 2013

Great choice for families!

This is the third time we've stayed at Desert Palms. Enjoyable hotel. Close to Disneyland's front gate. Just a 15 minute walk. You will save ($16/day) on parking everyday at Disneyland plus you don't have to hassle with the fight for a seat on the trams. Room was comfy, Borrego suite offers the living room with pull out sofa. Two televisions is nice with kids. Plus a big curtain closes off half the room which is convenient. The hot breakfast is great for families. Not your usual continental faire but more variety including: waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, cereal, cottage cheese, fruit, pastries and more. In addition, the staff doesn't run you out of the place at 10 am but let's everyone finish eating breakfast. They never run out of the good stuff either. Parking's good, staff is very helpful and friendly, location is great, hotel overall is above par as compared to others in the area. One down side is the "resort fee" of $9/night. Not sure why it's just not included in the overall room rate. Otherwise, it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

With Disneyland, it's good to have a hotel with a short walk as it will allow for a few things: 1. Save $$ on parking 2. Easy walk so you're not afraid to leave the park for a few hours and then come back 3. When leaving late at night it's an easy walk back to the hotel.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimbeaux28
Louisiana
Aug 12, 2013

Fantastic June stay

First timers in Anaheim and we couldn't have asked for a better stay at the Desert Palms! The morning breakfast was awesome and had something for everyone in the family! I had scrambled eggs every morning while the wife and kids hit the waffles and cold cereal. Staff was warm and friendly on every encounter we had with them! Parking also was awesome! Underground garage with elevator access made it no hassle. I definitely would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get there early. Tables fill up quick!

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
calhoun12
Vancouver, WA
Aug 8, 2013

great family experiance

overall our family experience was awesome, thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

ask questions, the info we received was very helpful and some info was volunteered to us.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dominica08
Santa Barbara
Jul 25, 2013

Family Disneyland Trip

The hotel was clean and the staff were nice. Great king size bed and in walking distance to Disneyland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top