$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

3 stars
631 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
460 reviews
Best of the Rest

The Desert Palms is the best off-site hotel around Disneyland. Sure, the Disneyland Hotel and Grand... See full review

  • OverThinker
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great location with perks.

10 minute walk to Disneyland gates. Lots of perks like free parking and free hot breakfast. Great... See full review

  • Family of 3 Boys
  • Apr 20, 2014
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is a mellow Disneyland Good Neighbor Hotel, designed to accommodate families and business travelers in Anaheim. Bunk beds in the signature kids' suites add an element of fun for children, while businesspeople can book a stay in the deluxe rooms. These come with a desk, free Wi-Fi, and use of the on-site business center. Fill up on eggs, sausages, fresh fruit, cereals, waffles and coffee at the complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room, before heading to the nearby theme parks, or dipping your toes in the heated outdoor pool.
Key facts
  • 24-hour front desk service
  • Gift shop
  • Free parking
  • ATM
  • Concierge service
  • Free Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room
  • Sandbox Bar and Grille Restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • Fitness room
Neighborhood
The Desert Palms Hotel is just minutes away from numerous attractions, including Angel Stadium, Disneyland, Downtown Disney and the Crystal Cathedral. Take a stroll to entertainment center Anaheim GardenWalk - and Orange County hotspot for shopping, dining and amusement - and grab a sweet treat at The Cheesecake Factory before catching a flick at UltraLuxe Cinemas. Business guests can also walk to the Anaheim Convention Center, situated right across the street.
Hints and tips
For more space, plus kitchenette facilities for families looking to dine in, condo-styled rooms offer an affordable solution.
Condo amenities include two TVs, so kids and adults can enjoy two different shows or movies after a long day together.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites Rooms

Kitchenette with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate living area. Kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. Small dining table with four chairs. Coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Luxury Suite with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate, sunken living area. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Kid Suite with Free Breakfast
One king bed in the parents room and one sofa bed and bunk bed in the kids room. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Family Suite with Free Breakfast
Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, four queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Deluxe Two Doubles with Free Breakfast
Two Queen size beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Palms Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.8035 -117.9162
Area served
Anaheim, CA
Nearby airports
John Wayne Orange County, Los Angeles International
Area description
Located next to the Disneyland Resort and across from the Anaheim Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 1.9 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 9.1 mi

Dining

Sandbox Bar & Grille
Open daily (kids meal are available)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (460)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
460 out of 460
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom with three boys
Stockton, CA
Feb 11, 2014

Family with teenagers

Lovely hotel, friendly, staff. They let us park in the hotel garage at 8 am even though we weren't due to check in until 3 pm. 10 min walk to the parks, decent hot breakfast with lots of waffle makers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matali
Visalia, Ca
Feb 11, 2014

Nice enough

The rooms were nice enough and the bathroom was exceptionally clean, which is really nice BUT the showers are extremely loud we were waken up at 5:30 with loud pipes from the neighboring shower. The doors are heavy when closing so we could hear doors opening and closing very late at night while trying to sleep for Disneyland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shuttle nice and convenient

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fiomar
Lima, Peru
Feb 8, 2014

Family trip to Disney parks

Very good hotel. Exceptional location just 4 blocks away from Disneyland. We got a very comfortable room, impecably clean. The breakfast was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
South Dakota family
Sturgis, SD
Jan 7, 2014

Family vacation

The room was not very clean at all. We had to us hand towels for wash rags because our room was not given any clean ones three of the days we stayed. The hotel description eluded to a recent remodel, a coat of paint does not constitute a re-model, furnishings, carpet and all fixtures were very warn and not well kept. The sink, tub and toilet in the bathroom were far from clean. Not a three star hotel and hotel description was very misleading. The restaurant was tiny with only one staff bar tending, serving and may have been the cook and dishwasher as we'll.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
disneylandisgreat
honolulu, hawaii
Jan 6, 2014

Perfect Family Hotel Near Disneyland

Our family had stayed here every year for the past 3 years. We've always had a pleasant stay! Rooms were always clean, staff was pleasant and helpful, and complimentary breakfast everyday was very convenient and pretty good! We plan on staying here for our future trips to Disneyland and would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grama F
Oregon
Dec 31, 2013

Great Family Experience

I took 12 people to Disneyland, the hotel was close enough to walk, breakfast was great every day. Rooms (3) were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eringb
oklahoma city, ok
Oct 28, 2013

convenient location

Disneyland was our primary destination so the Desert Palms was perfectly located. The walk took about 10 minutes from front door to main gate with a 5 and 7 year old in tow. The kids loved the bunk beds. Room was clean. Daily breakfast wasn't great, but it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tallestiger
Canada
Oct 27, 2013

Kind of a let down!

After doing tons of research I thought this would be the best hotel for my family of 5. I was sadly mistaken. The "brochure" is always better. The pool was small, cold and dirty. The poolside dirty - hair, used band aids, yuck. Our room was small - bunkbed and pullout couch in a seperate room was a great idea if only there was room to move around once the bed was pulled out. We had to step over the bed and it was very noisey. Continental breakfast is nothing special, below average actually. Not a lot of choices. Have had better. The cleaning service was great each day. The lobby was the best looking part of the hotel. The rest is OLD. Then to have the front desk get you to sign up for a tour to their new resort that comes with a free breakfast and $100 disneyland money or American Express gift card , only to find out its a timeshare and once you do not go, they charge you $40 on your credit card. And here's a quote "You have to make over $75000 to attend and well, you are here at Disneyland so you must make more money than that." Not impressed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tdpa
Fargo, ND
Oct 22, 2013

Close to Disney, Sandbox a plus

Perfect location, 10 minute walk to Disney gates. We ate at Sandbox 4 nights after busy days away, good food. Room was a bit to be desired, carpets dirty. Kids loved pool. Not much sun in pool area, could hear fireworks. Front desk staff could have been a bit more on top of their game, had to ask for drnk tickets that came with visit and Disney photos that came with hopper pass. Also sold us a Disney ticket for use at Universal, did reverse charges though. Found perscription drugs in first room asked to be moved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. WC
Seattle
Oct 9, 2013

NOT GOOD

The hallways are stuffy. The first room we had, looked at a brick wall you could touch and to the hotels credit they moved us to a different room, that however is where the good ends. The refrigerator was broken and so was the replacement. Our bags were searched through the first day we were out. The carpet was filthy. The shower had mold in it. The TV didn't get most of the channels the hotel advertised. The heater in the room set off the fire alarm... when we called the front desk for help we were told that was because they were never used and never cleaned, just turn it off, did we need extra blankets. We did stick it out (the fire alarm was on our last night) and did like the parking. We will not be going back and cannot recommend anyone stay there ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top