$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

3 stars
631 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
462 reviews
Best of the Rest

The Desert Palms is the best off-site hotel around Disneyland. Sure, the Disneyland Hotel and Grand... See full review

  • OverThinker
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great location with perks.

10 minute walk to Disneyland gates. Lots of perks like free parking and free hot breakfast. Great... See full review

  • Family of 3 Boys
  • Apr 20, 2014
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is a mellow Disneyland Good Neighbor Hotel, designed to accommodate families and business travelers in Anaheim. Bunk beds in the signature kids' suites add an element of fun for children, while businesspeople can book a stay in the deluxe rooms. These come with a desk, free Wi-Fi, and use of the on-site business center. Fill up on eggs, sausages, fresh fruit, cereals, waffles and coffee at the complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room, before heading to the nearby theme parks, or dipping your toes in the heated outdoor pool.
Key facts
  • 24-hour front desk service
  • Gift shop
  • Free parking
  • ATM
  • Concierge service
  • Free Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room
  • Sandbox Bar and Grille Restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • Fitness room
Neighborhood
The Desert Palms Hotel is just minutes away from numerous attractions, including Angel Stadium, Disneyland, Downtown Disney and the Crystal Cathedral. Take a stroll to entertainment center Anaheim GardenWalk - and Orange County hotspot for shopping, dining and amusement - and grab a sweet treat at The Cheesecake Factory before catching a flick at UltraLuxe Cinemas. Business guests can also walk to the Anaheim Convention Center, situated right across the street.
Hints and tips
For more space, plus kitchenette facilities for families looking to dine in, condo-styled rooms offer an affordable solution.
Condo amenities include two TVs, so kids and adults can enjoy two different shows or movies after a long day together.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites Rooms

Kitchenette with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate living area. Kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. Small dining table with four chairs. Coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Luxury Suite with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate, sunken living area. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Kid Suite with Free Breakfast
One king bed in the parents room and one sofa bed and bunk bed in the kids room. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Family Suite with Free Breakfast
Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, four queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Deluxe Two Doubles with Free Breakfast
Two Queen size beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Palms Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.8035 -117.9162
Area served
Anaheim, CA
Nearby airports
John Wayne Orange County, Los Angeles International
Area description
Located next to the Disneyland Resort and across from the Anaheim Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 1.9 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 9.1 mi

Dining

Sandbox Bar & Grille
Open daily (kids meal are available)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (462)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
462 out of 462
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny Lynne
Phx, Az
Jun 18, 2014

Disneyland trip

The room was perfect for a large group. Awesome to have two bathrooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restaurants outside the park to save money.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First trip to California
Cleveland Ohio
Jun 12, 2014

Pleasantly surprised!

Our family usually visits Disney World and stay at the resorts. This time we decided to try Disneyland.Since we were going to see other parts of California we decided not to stay on site. I read mixed reviews on this hotel but decided to book anyway. This hotel advertised free breakfast, internet and parking. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. We had read bathrooms weren't clean and wireless was slow. Neither were an issue for us. Also read pull out couch was uncomfortable. My teenager slept on it a week with no complaints. It was mentioned walls were thin and could hear others. We had no problem with sound troubles. In fact we heard nothing except the occasional person in the hallway. Our room was great. It backed up to Disneyland. We didn't hear any noise from the park but could see the fireworks every night. The walk to the park was about ten minutes. The free breakfast was good. Although sometimes a little busy there were always places to sit. Sometimes we used trays and brought our breakfasts to our room. Someone mentioned in a review there were no freezers in there refrigerator. Our refrigerator did have a small freezer. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Disney Trip
Wasco, CA
Jun 3, 2014

Great Place to stay

The staff was nice and supportive. The room was clean and available on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to Disneyland.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom from up north
Bay area, CA
May 21, 2014

Friendly staff

The first room we were put into was old and literally looked like it was the last room available as it was located near the parking entrance and maintenance room. The front desk agent named Alex was very accomodating. He quickly switched us to a more decent room. The rooms were decent but just so people know this is quite a walk from the actual entrance to Disney. But other than that, the stay was okay. The walls seemed thin but their complimentary breakfast was better than the other hotels. All in all, it was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a bar and grill that saves a walk to other restaurants. The menu was decent and right at the lobby.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Linds.
Great Falls
May 17, 2014

Disneyland family vacation

My family of 3 stayed at this hotel in May. We had a standard 2 queen bed room. The size of the room is really small, there isn't much room to move around in it. I really liked that that the air conditioning worked well as it was 100 degrees everyday of our stay. The room was clean. The only complaint which was actually a big one is the bathroom. There is absolutely no counter space to keep your toiletries, not even a toothbrush and toothpaste. I read a lot of complaints from other reviews about noise. I didn't feel it was very bad at all. The swimming pool is terrible, it was not nearly big enough to accommodate all the kids who wanted to swim. I felt at first the distance to walk was not too far and quite easy, but after a couple days of walking the park then back and forth to the park I was wishing I had a closer hotel. So if you are planning on walking back to your room during the day and then back to Disney I would get a closer hotel. I never dealt with the staff except for check in and check out but they were friendly at those times. The included breakfast is pretty good it has a lot of variety but is extremely chaotic and crowded. In conclusion there is nothing stellar about this hotel. I will be looking for a closer hotel to Disneyland next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vein Whisperer
Canada
May 10, 2014

Good family value

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay. The hotel had all the amenities and requirements we were looking for. The hotel is average but the staff go above and beyond to ensure a good experience. We received a complimentary room upgrade that made a huge improvement in our stay. Staff are willing to do what they can make your stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sometimes all you have to do is ask... I knew the hotel we stayed at was strong in it's guest relations. I received a complimentary room upgrade... Big improvement in our stay. All I did was ask.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family of 3 Boys
Hanford, CA
Apr 20, 2014

Great location with perks.

10 minute walk to Disneyland gates. Lots of perks like free parking and free hot breakfast. Great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free breakfast and parking.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
we take the trips
seattle
Mar 31, 2014

great trip

Hotel is a ten minute walk from Disneyland/California adventure, cheap shuttles(5$ for all day riding)make all all other attractions very easy and they pick up right in front of hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful.rooms were as advertised and cleaned every day.breakfast saved us $ and just made things easier ( eggs waffles potatoes sausage etc..) tons of restaurants within walking. Restaurant and bar onsite. Pool and hot tub were clean and fun after long days. Would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Disney is a short! Walk no shuttles cabs and waiting on others.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pal5510
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 13, 2014

Disneyland 3 day getaway a success

Our granddaughter celebrated her 13th birthday and the family of 9 including grandparents, adult kids and kids took a three day trip to Disneyland. The hotel looked very pretty with a large lobby and inviting fruit infused ice water after a long drive. We couldn't check in early but when we did we were very happy to see the rooms looked large and bright. The carpet could have used a cleaning in the room where my husband and I stayed but that was no deterrent to a great experience. We chose Desert Palms vs. Candy Cane Inn because of the Yuha suite. We had one family of five (parents, 13, 6 and 11 mos) and that had a small second bedroom with an additional TV along with the bunk bed and pull out couch. Note that the couch, once pulled out, leaves little walking room but there was a glass door for a little less noise and some privacy. I loved that the hotel was within walking distance as opposed to having to take a car or depend on transportation. At the end of a long day the 15 minute walk back seemed endless though with aching grandparents (us!) and a tired 6 yr. old. We didn't use the pool or hot tub. It's pretty small for such a large hotel. We were too busy at Disneyland and it was crowded with kids. This hotel is definitely full of families. I wouldn't advise it if you want a couples getaway or peace and quiet. The breakfast was crowded with all the other Disney going families so keep that in mind if you plan on the magic morning so that you leave enough time for waiting your turn in line. Breakfast was a good enough start to the day. There were scrambled eggs with diced ham or just eggs, potatoes and I think sausage in addition to the usual toast, bagels, waffle maker, cereal etc. We did the Disney character breakfast at Paradise Pier one morning and saw Mickey and Minnie, Daisy, Pluto and Stitch. Across the street there is a 24 hour Subway and several small restaurants in the same strip mall serving Asian,Mexican, pizza, hamburgers, smoothies and a 7-11 convenience store is right next door to the hotel. The restaurants directly outside of Disneyland were Tony Roma's, IHOP and a Denny's (closed right now for renovations). There's a small refrigerator (no freezer in our room's fridge) so bring food for meals and snacks. We went through loads of water and kept our bottles refilled for the next day. Checkout is 12 noon at the latest we were told. On a side note, I had considered the also highly rated Candy Cane Inn as an alternative and it was right next door to Desert Palms. I might try that next time since they have a shuttle which would drop you off very near the entrance. What I also saw as a plus for Candy Cane was the parking right outside the door if you have ground floor rooms. When you've got babies with portacribs (and all the baby paraphernalia) that can be a lifesaver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amina6
Falmouth, MA
Mar 7, 2014

Disneyland vaca

The hotel wag decent. Staff was very helpful and friendly! Disney was a super close walk. First floor of the hotel was very loud, I would request to stay on another floor. Overall everything was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definetly buy the park hopper pass, it was so worthit! Seaworld is not worth the trip, but universal is!!

Back to menu Return to top