$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

3 stars
631 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
288 reviews
Best of the Rest

The Desert Palms is the best off-site hotel around Disneyland. Sure, the Disneyland Hotel and Grand... See full review

  • OverThinker
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great location with perks.

10 minute walk to Disneyland gates. Lots of perks like free parking and free hot breakfast. Great... See full review

  • Family of 3 Boys
  • Apr 20, 2014
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is a mellow Disneyland Good Neighbor Hotel, designed to accommodate families and business travelers in Anaheim. Bunk beds in the signature kids' suites add an element of fun for children, while businesspeople can book a stay in the deluxe rooms. These come with a desk, free Wi-Fi, and use of the on-site business center. Fill up on eggs, sausages, fresh fruit, cereals, waffles and coffee at the complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room, before heading to the nearby theme parks, or dipping your toes in the heated outdoor pool.
Key facts
  • 24-hour front desk service
  • Gift shop
  • Free parking
  • ATM
  • Concierge service
  • Free Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet in the Palms Room
  • Sandbox Bar and Grille Restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • Fitness room
Neighborhood
The Desert Palms Hotel is just minutes away from numerous attractions, including Angel Stadium, Disneyland, Downtown Disney and the Crystal Cathedral. Take a stroll to entertainment center Anaheim GardenWalk - and Orange County hotspot for shopping, dining and amusement - and grab a sweet treat at The Cheesecake Factory before catching a flick at UltraLuxe Cinemas. Business guests can also walk to the Anaheim Convention Center, situated right across the street.
Hints and tips
For more space, plus kitchenette facilities for families looking to dine in, condo-styled rooms offer an affordable solution.
Condo amenities include two TVs, so kids and adults can enjoy two different shows or movies after a long day together.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.8035 -117.9162
Area served
Anaheim, CA
Nearby airports
John Wayne Orange County, Los Angeles International
Area description
Located next to the Disneyland Resort and across from the Anaheim Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Palms Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Desert Palms Hotel and Suites Rooms

Kitchenette with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate living area. Kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. Small dining table with four chairs. Coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Luxury Suite with Free Breakfast
Two queen beds and one sofa bed in separate, sunken living area. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Kid Suite with Free Breakfast
One king bed in the parents room and one sofa bed and bunk bed in the kids room. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Family Suite with Free Breakfast
Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, four queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.
Deluxe Two Doubles with Free Breakfast
Two Queen size beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing equipment, in-room safe, free hi-speed internet access, 25" cable TV featuring Cartoon Network.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Anaheim Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Grove: 1.8 mi
  • Edison Field: 1.9 mi
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course: 9.1 mi

Dining

Sandbox Bar & Grille
Open daily (kids meal are available)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (288)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garga
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Blizzcon

Was very good I liked it but got put into a room where the heater did not perform well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NanaG64
Oliver, British Columbia
Oct 23, 2011

Disney Vacation

The staff were helpful and friendly, the room was clean. We did hear from other guests that they had seen a cockroach, but we didn't see any ourselves. Although we were within walking distance to Disneyland, after the first day and all that walking, we opted to spend the $4.00 each and use the shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One Tired Mama
Oregon
Oct 22, 2011

TRAFFIC!!!

The hotel itself is good, nice clean rooms. We were there for 5 nights and I got about 3 hours sleep total. The road noise was crazy. The last night we stayed, there were "gamers" staying above us that partied like rock stars all night. Definately will NOT go back during this week, due to Blizzcon down the street. I should have read my reservation paper more closely, there was a $250 "resort fee" that I didn't realize. My fault. The staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Recommend getting the shuttle passes, $4 per person, right at the hotel desk, saves TONS of time trying to park at Disney, and you don't have to try to drive that CRAZY traffic!

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nshmba
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Great Location

Very clean and simple but the internet connection was not high speed eventhough it was advertised as such.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ericandmeri
Fresno, CA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Over Rated

The pool was dirty, the room was small and outdated. The staff was friendly, the ppl staying were rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anaheim, CA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

it has a good place, just 10 min by walking to Disney land

it is not bad hotel. it is near from Disneyland. It has a breakfast buffet. I think they need to improve business room, because it is important for travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CEAF
San Bruno, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Hotel was OK

The hotel location was ok, but wish there was a hotel shuttle to drop off at the park. The beds were not very comfortable and the bathroom soap didn't smell very good. Free breakfast was pretty good, but very crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Webb from Ptown
Portland, OR, USA
Sep 25, 2011

NO HOT WATER and too far from Disneyland!!!!

We never had hot water come out of the faucet in our bathroom. We had to wash our hands from the tub faucet. I didn't sleep very well because of a loud noise outside of our room. It sounded like a loose belt screech from a car but it was every 15 min. I should have asked to move rooms. We made reservations 6 months ago and they placed us on the first floor looking at the parking garage. You would have thought that not being the busy season they would have placed us in a nicer location. The room was average. Beds were comfortable. I will never stay at the hotel as long as I live. The only good thing about the hotel is the free breakfast. I wish we could have been able to move hotels. After being at Disneyland all day walking, it was way to long of a walk back to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Way to long of walk back when you spend the whole day at Disneyland.

Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Filmgirlkc
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 24, 2011

Awesome Location!

Got a great deal on our room, King size suite. Loved the private living room, 2 tvs, ac, bedding... etc etc. Room was very clean, housekeeping was very consistent. Free parking. Decent sized outdoor pool. Didn't eat in the hotel's cafe as we were so close to so many great places to graba bite at. Did get sick of the breakfast after 10 days, but since it's included, can't complain too much about free donuts and juice etc etc. A quick walk to Disney, malls, convention center, near major 1-5 freeways, one turn to San Diego, one turn to LA...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Palms Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
james10pl
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Great Disneyland base camp

We liked staying at this hotel for a few main reasons: -Great pool with late hours, which they cleaned every morning -A good continental breakfast with lots of options -Helpful, courteous staff -Close to Disneyland -Free underground parking We brought our three kids and my parents, so the normal suite was a little cramped. They also have a family suite which is much bigger and has separate rooms (next time). I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Garden Walk is a couple blocks East of the hotel. There are lots of shops and some restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search