$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany

4 stars
3600 Broadway Street, American Canyon, CA 94503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
95 reviews
Great!

Everything was as advertised. Even though you aren't in the heart of Napa/Sonoma, getting to all... See full review

  • John8273
  • Jul 4, 2014
Simply Perfect..

The staff was very helpful. the manager offerred a complimentary champagne s he learnt that it was... See full review

  • Napa traveller1221
  • Dec 24, 2013
Environmentally focused full-service hotel 20 minutes to Napa Valley
Gaia Napa Valley Hotel and Spa, at the southern gateway of California wine country, is one of the most eco-friendly hotels in the region. Green initiatives can be found throughout the property at the gourmet restaurant and full-service Bali-themed spa. This is a midsize boutique hotel on 4 acres in American Canyon. Gaia Napa Valley is easy to find off Highway 29, one hour from San Francisco and 20 minutes south of Napa Valley.
Highlights
  • Gold LEED certified
  • Heated outdoor saltwater pool
  • A 100 percent nonsmoking property
  • Free parking
  • Shuttle service
Rooms
Gaia Napa Valley Hotel and Spa has 132 rooms on two stories. Contemporary design reflects modern-day eco-minimalist style with natural colors and streamlined decor. Carpet is made with recycled materials. King and queen size beds have pillowtop mattresses and 300 thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets. All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, organic fair trade coffee and 27-inch flat-screen TVs. Most rooms are 387 square feet with sitting areas. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available. Recycled tile and granite bathrooms have low-flush toilets, low-flow showerheads and eco products.
Features
The lagoon pond that spreads out through most of the property at Gaia Napa Valley uses filtered recycled water to provide a sustainable home for resident swans and koi fish. This tranquil setting is landscaped with native California plants and a heated outdoor saltwater pool and hot tub. An on-site fitness center has LifeFitness weight and cardiovascular machines. Discounts are available for a nearby fitness center as well. Relax with a new age book from the lobby library or a chemical-free traditional Eastern massage treatment at the full-service spa.
Dining
Breakfast and dinner are served at on-site Gaia Restaurant. Enjoy California cuisine with a variety of vegetarian options along with a beer and wine selection. Room service is available at Gaia Napa Valley Hotel and Spa.
Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (42.6 mi/68.5 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (50 mi/80.4 km)
  • Shuttle service
Attractions
  • Chardonnay Golf Club (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
  • Napa, Calif. (11 mi/17.6 km)
  • Yountville, Calif. (18.2 mi/29.4 km)
  • Sonoma, Calif. (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Culinary Institute of America (28.6 mi/46 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference space for 400
  • Catering
  • In-room desks
  • Complimentary daily newspapers

Hotel Map

38.1729 -122.2536
Nearby airports
Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 33.00, MI, E; San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 50.00, MI, W; Sacramento Executive Airport, (SAC), 59.00, MI, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 30, 2008

Not Quite There Yet

The Gaia Napa Valley Hotel and Spa is an idea whose time has come, but does not quite hit the mark. The green building concept in the middle of strip mall territory seems incongruous. The design of the property itself is nice, with the lagoon and swans. The Walmart next door does detract from the tranquility they seem to want to promote. The location is in fact not all that convenient to Napa Valley attractions. We had several complaints about our stay. The hallways and rooms had noticeable fumes from paint and carpeting. The internet service was not available to guests . When we went to use the business center computer, one was not working, and the other one was being used by an employee He kindly offered to let us use the computer, but he had trouble signing off from the Hustler site windows he had opened, and somehow crashed the computer. We were then offered the desk computer to try to book an excursion we wanted to take. We had a lovely treatment at the Spa, which was the highlight of our stay. The staff there were exceptional. The only improvements needed would more towels, and perhaps amenties like blow dryers should be available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don Giovanni restuarant.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pre-Valentine's Day
American Canyon, CA
Feb 16, 2010

pre-Valentine's Day

Walls and floor were paper thin so we could ear others (above us) [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

...Pomadoro was very good, found by accident.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Disappointed Stay

The Gaia Napa Valley Hotel and Spa was somewhat disappointing recently. We arrived at the hotel around 5pm. Check-in was at 3:00pm. Our room was not ready for us yet. After awhile we were allowed in our room. We didn't spend much time in there, because we had dinner reservations. The next morning I paid more attention to the bathroom while I was getting ready. I noticed that the floors of the bathroom were dirty and not clean. The rest of the room was okay. The continental breakfast was all right. There was a room set up with coffee, pastries, fruit, cereal and yogurt. The green concept meant paper cups instead of glasses, coffee cups or wine glasses in the room. I prefer to drink my morning coffee in a glass cup and my wine in a wine glass. ( We were staying in Napa.) Instead of little bottles of shampoo and lotions,there was a dispenser next to the sink and in the shower. We did enjoy the spa and watching the resident swans and ducks frolick in the ponds next to the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent dining and wine tasting in Napa and Sonoma. There is suppose to be a restaurant at the hotel someday.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lori M
Honolulu, HI, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Awful

i was disappointed with the room that was given to us. I was given an ADA room with no counters in the bathroom to put my toiletries on and I had to hold the shower head to wash. My friends paid less for their room and they were accommodated with a non ADA room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tazbrad
Napa CA
Jun 25, 2014

Took 30 minutes to fix our room key

The overall campus is beautiful. When we arrive and signed in we went up to our rooms to discover that the room keys don't fit. We were stuck outside our room for close to 30 minutes waiting for their staff to work through the problem. The young man that fixed it was really nice and we appreciated his efforts but were disturbed that it took the understaffed front desk so long to respond to this issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Disappointed Stay

The Gaia Napa Valley Hotel and Spa was somewhat disappointing recently. We arrived at the hotel around 5pm. Check-in was at 3:00pm. Our room was not ready for us yet. After awhile we were allowed in our room. We didn't spend much time in there, because we had dinner reservations. The next morning I paid more attention to the bathroom while I was getting ready. I noticed that the floors of the bathroom were dirty and not clean. The rest of the room was okay. The continental breakfast was all right. There was a room set up with coffee, pastries, fruit, cereal and yogurt. The green concept meant paper cups instead of glasses, coffee cups or wine glasses in the room. I prefer to drink my morning coffee in a glass cup and my wine in a wine glass. ( We were staying in Napa.) Instead of little bottles of shampoo and lotions,there was a dispenser next to the sink and in the shower. We did enjoy the spa and watching the resident swans and ducks frolick in the ponds next to the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent dining and wine tasting in Napa and Sonoma. There is suppose to be a restaurant at the hotel someday.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pre-Valentine's Day
American Canyon, CA
Feb 16, 2010

pre-Valentine's Day

Walls and floor were paper thin so we could ear others (above us) [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

...Pomadoro was very good, found by accident.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 30, 2008

Not Quite There Yet

The Gaia Napa Valley Hotel and Spa is an idea whose time has come, but does not quite hit the mark. The green building concept in the middle of strip mall territory seems incongruous. The design of the property itself is nice, with the lagoon and swans. The Walmart next door does detract from the tranquility they seem to want to promote. The location is in fact not all that convenient to Napa Valley attractions. We had several complaints about our stay. The hallways and rooms had noticeable fumes from paint and carpeting. The internet service was not available to guests . When we went to use the business center computer, one was not working, and the other one was being used by an employee He kindly offered to let us use the computer, but he had trouble signing off from the Hustler site windows he had opened, and somehow crashed the computer. We were then offered the desk computer to try to book an excursion we wanted to take. We had a lovely treatment at the Spa, which was the highlight of our stay. The staff there were exceptional. The only improvements needed would more towels, and perhaps amenties like blow dryers should be available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don Giovanni restuarant.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chew Chan
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 29, 2007

Not worth the price

Hotel is very expensive for the value. Room size and furnishing are not better than 2 Stars.The breakfast cannot compare to a 2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There is no major facility nearby.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Cany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve from LA
Los Angeles
Apr 3, 2013

Family Stay

The rooms are comfortable but nothing special. The pool was poorly heated so too cold and jacuzzi was out of order. Lobby staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top