$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

2 stars
View map of 511 Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
47 reviews
Best bang for the buck!

Can not beat the value for a good nights sleep but the breakfast needs upgraded. See full review

  • Gods GPS
  • Sep 25, 2014
Just perfect

It was a good place with nice restaurants near by. Approximately 1 hr drive from south rim. We... See full review

  • SatVas
  • Jul 7, 2014
Take the family on an exciting trip to this Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams off Interstate 40 and just steps from Grand Canyon Railway with direct service to the canyon. Explore the historic buildings and landmarks along old Route 66, or find adventure at Bearizona drive-through wildlife park. Find many restaurants and eateries near this lodging. Start your morning energized with a complimentary Rise and Dine expanded continental breakfast with waffles. Plan your fun-filled day with the complimentary wireless Internet access, and the 24-hour front desk is always available to provide assistance. At the end of the day, relax in the indoor pool and hot tub. Refresh in your comfortable guest room with refrigerator and coffee-maker. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 47
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CKL LAnny
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 22, 2013

Comfy and good value

Lobby had a pool and hot tub. Free breakfast in the morning with waffles, oj, cereal, muffins, coffee, etc. Room's were nice and clean and the tv had plenty of channels. Just a short walk away from "downtown" Williams where there are tons of restaurants, bars, and gift shops. Hour drive north to the Grand Canyon south rim, quick and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bacarue
Business
Modesto, Ca
May 7, 2013

Travel stop

Nice clean room. Noisy room AC fan. Breakfast left alot to be desired. Friendly male manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
glowright2004
Business
Phoenix area
Sep 18, 2012

Not a Good Place to Stay

We were not very satisfied with this hotel. There was no TV reception except for lots of snow on the screen. There was mold under the top ledger of the bath tub. There was also lots of noise, apparently, very little insulation between rooms. We would not reccomend this hotel to anyone in the future. The best we could say about the hotel was that it was just a block down from the Grand Canyon Railroad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All of the restaurants were very pricey and we experienced mediocre quality of food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dandangela
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 24, 2012

Howard Johnson Express Inn

Great value for the price. Only a few blocks from the town center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M. Fenn
Business
Iowa
Jul 6, 2012

Nice, but needs that special something

The hotel/accommodations were fine. The only problem I had with the place was the lobby/breakfast area was NOT air conditioned--HOT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very good restaurants downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool2warm
Business
Iowa
Dec 27, 2010

Good stay

Good place for a nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Oct 17, 2010

Ok for the money, but......

We made the reservation for 2 nights. When we arrived to check in, the desk employee said our reservation was for a smoking room. We made the reservation for a non-smoking room. There were no non-smoking rooms available. We went in the smoking room and knew right away that it would make us sick. We told the desk employee that we could not stay there and would go find another motel. That's what we did and we had to pay a premium price for a room elsewhere because of the late hour. The desk employee said she would try to get us a non-smoking room for the second night. She followed through on this and we did stay there the second night. She was very accomodating. The room was satisfactory for the price. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Sep 29, 2010

great location and good price

Spacious, clean rooms Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eliora
Business
Colorado
Jul 21, 2010

Met requirements but plenty Good

Our destination was the Grand Canyon, but the car trip there was a bit long. At least the staff tried to place us very near our other family's room. Then we were told to use the breakfast facility even though the website said to not expect that ... that's good service. I do wish that smoking rooms were not so intermingled with nonsmoking rooms as they are in this and many other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

at the Grand Canyon, the in-park shuttle service is a good idea for the first-time visitor. Take the blue shuttle route until it connects with the red shuttle route -- the blue route mostly connects shopping areas and the red connects real sight-seeing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Feb 17, 2010

Really good

We arrived late, however check-in was really quick and easy. Our room (no smoker) was clean, big and comfortable. In the morning, we had a free breakfast...obviously no the best one, but right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top