$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

2 stars
511 Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
47 reviews
Best bang for the buck!

Can not beat the value for a good nights sleep but the breakfast needs upgraded. See full review

  • Gods GPS
  • Sep 25, 2014
Just perfect

It was a good place with nice restaurants near by. Approximately 1 hr drive from south rim. We... See full review

  • SatVas
  • Jul 7, 2014
Take the family on an exciting trip to this Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams off Interstate 40 and just steps from Grand Canyon Railway with direct service to the canyon. Explore the historic buildings and landmarks along old Route 66, or find adventure at Bearizona drive-through wildlife park. Find many restaurants and eateries near this lodging. Start your morning energized with a complimentary Rise and Dine expanded continental breakfast with waffles. Plan your fun-filled day with the complimentary wireless Internet access, and the 24-hour front desk is always available to provide assistance. At the end of the day, relax in the indoor pool and hot tub. Refresh in your comfortable guest room with refrigerator and coffee-maker. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex55
Business
Florida, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Overall Good

we have only one problem with a tap water quality, but it was a seasonal city problem in August. Everything else was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mtsdop
Business
Yonkers, NY, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Family first time going to Grand canyon

Very clean, friendly stuff, always ready to help; brakfast..... more than enough food for a breakfast. Stores and restaurants very close by. My family and I had a very nice experience there. Would go back without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All different kind of food including home made food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PITTSBURGH PA
Jun 16, 2011

Good location for Sedona and GD canyon

Continental Breakfast is nice. all what you need for a family. This is 1 hour drive to the grand canyon . Great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool2warm
Business
Iowa
Dec 27, 2010

Good stay

Good place for a nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samiam87
Business
Las Vegas , Nv
Dec 14, 2010

Good for the price

I accidently reserved a smoking room online. I'm pregnant and when I told the front desk person that, and requested or room be switched to non smoking, he was very polite and switched the room no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This room was MUCH cheaper than staying at the Grand Canyon Railway's hotel. It's only a block or two from the train, so If your just looking for a basic room for the night, this is the way to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Dec 7, 2010

Not so great

I called two weeks ahead to make sure that the two rooms were adjoined. They assured me they would be. When we arrived with children, we were told that I never called to reserve the two adjoining rooms. The clerk basically callled me a liar, in different words of course. So, the trip started off badly. Very inconvenient for the family. The view from the window was a ghetto. Glad I did not have to spend too much time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marjorie Nana
Business
Whittier, CA
Nov 27, 2010

Williams Trip

Although the room was ok, we had booked a non smoking room and were given a smoking room. We had to wait for housekeeping to finish cleaning the room after we checked in. The continental breakfast was disappointing-due to several large groups at the hotel the food supply was low when we arrived to eat. We attempted to use the coffee maker in the room for hot water for tea, and there was so much old coffee in the coffee maker that the water came out looking just like a cup of coffer(we had even removed the filter basket). The heater either had the room too hot or too cold, there was no comfort zone--we tried several different temperature settings and it seemed that the unit did not care about the setting. The TV cable was loose at the wall, and one outlet cover had been hard wired into the wall but only 2 out of the six outlets worked. There was still an exposed hole in the wall. The hair dryer quit working when I was only about half done drying my hair--luckily packed my own so I was able to finish drying my hair before we went outside inthe 25 degerr weather. There were long lines from one group making waffles and toast, they had used up all the milk, and, to top it all off, there were hotel employees who were there making waffles and toast to take back to the office! Guests had to wait while the employees made their food. There was only green tea available, and the hot water was light brown, so it had obviously been heated in a coffee maker. There was no one at the front desk to say anything to during the time we were in the eating area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is only 2 blocks from the Grand Canyon Railway Depot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Oct 17, 2010

Ok for the money, but......

We made the reservation for 2 nights. When we arrived to check in, the desk employee said our reservation was for a smoking room. We made the reservation for a non-smoking room. There were no non-smoking rooms available. We went in the smoking room and knew right away that it would make us sick. We told the desk employee that we could not stay there and would go find another motel. That's what we did and we had to pay a premium price for a room elsewhere because of the late hour. The desk employee said she would try to get us a non-smoking room for the second night. She followed through on this and we did stay there the second night. She was very accomodating. The room was satisfactory for the price. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Oct 4, 2010

Williams HoJo's

Good continental breakfast would have been nicer if they would have had some fresh fruit. No complaints at all. Great place. Everything in town was within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Sep 29, 2010

great location and good price

Spacious, clean rooms Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top