$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

2 stars
View map of 511 Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travellight with freiens
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 26, 2012

Family getaway

Location is nice. You can take a train from Williams to a Grand Canyon. Everything else closer to Grand Canyon is a lot more expensive. Staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms are ok. Bathroom was too small. They offer average breakfast. If you go to a Grand Canyon for more than 1 night, It’s probably better to pay more and stay near the Canyon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Pine Country restorant located on 107 N. Grand Canyon Blvd. Williams. The food is great there.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
glowright2004
Business
Phoenix area
Sep 18, 2012

Not a Good Place to Stay

We were not very satisfied with this hotel. There was no TV reception except for lots of snow on the screen. There was mold under the top ledger of the bath tub. There was also lots of noise, apparently, very little insulation between rooms. We would not reccomend this hotel to anyone in the future. The best we could say about the hotel was that it was just a block down from the Grand Canyon Railroad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All of the restaurants were very pricey and we experienced mediocre quality of food.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oatzmon
Business
Israel
Aug 11, 2012

Great hotel for the money

This is a cheap hotel, but it gives great value. The room is big clean has free internet small breakfast. The stuff is helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HoJo's Hater
Business
Upper California
Aug 8, 2012

Not on your life !

We chose Ho-Jo's due to the fact my husband didn't know any better. I usually do all the booking. After a long, long drive I could not have been more disappointed. First, it was filled with over a hundred noisy foreign students that kept us up all night. The "manager" was rude when asked about why our safe didn't work. Told us it was broken, yet after she left a nice employee re-keyed it for us. The bathroom was filthy with mold growing everywhere on the upper walls. There were never enough cheap towels and if you called for more. They had to open a new pack, and you had to run get them when you needed them, usually right before a shower was needed. General housekeeping of the motel was very poor. The secure key lock doors at the end of the halls didn't lock. It's not it in the best section of town. The so called "breakfast" in the morning was a mess. Didn't compare to anything had we had at other, somewhat higher priced hotels. Besides the fact the dining area was dirty. There were minimal employees. One poor boy wore the same spaghetti stained shirt for 3 days straight. We spoke with him about other things, he tried very hard but management wouldn't let him do his job. More than once I heard him getting reprimanded in front of customers. She chewed him out over and over. The final straw was when I took my kids down to use the pool and spa. The pool water you could not see through. There was a nice size bloody bandage sitting on the front step of the pool. The spa was even worse. There isn't a shower to wash off even IF you wanted to get in. This would be the last place I would stay in this town. There are many other places to stay. DO NOT choose this motel. This place needs a undercover visit by the corporation. When we spoke to management /franchise owner a the motel we where ignored. So we went to upper management who promised us it would be looked into. Many years ago I stayed within the HoJo's chain for work meetings back east. At that time I had no choice. They were one step above sleeping under the over pass. Now I live on the west coast and this is my first time out here. Nothing is any better on this coast. Next time my husband will listen : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Of course we were there to see the Grand Canyon. There is a great train ride available. Williams itself is a great little town. Lots of shops open late with RT66 things available as well. If in need of a clinic while there (no hospital) there is a wonderful one downtown. Along with one pharmacy in Safeway. The town is great, the motel----is not.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Little Family Matriarch
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 6, 2012

Perfect for the price

The room was comfortable, the staff were cordial, and we were pleased overall. The hotel was sold out so the breakfast room was crowded every morning and the pool was busy every night. Location is excellent. Walking distance to many restaurants and shopping in Williams.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pine Country Restaurant is everything they say and more. Delicious pie!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Susan19
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jul 15, 2012

Could be better

For the money, it wasn't a bad hotel. Could have been a little cleaner and the free breakfast was not much at all. A little noisy but not too bad. Location was good, within walking distance of downtown Williams and right next door to a nice laundry mat if you need to do laundry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the food downtown and the shopping around downtown was wonderful. Williams is a wonderful town to stay in.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Primetime Mom
Business
Roseville, CA
Jul 14, 2012

Great place to stay in a quaint, busy little town.

Our room was better equiped than expensive hotels we've stayed in. It was quite clean and had lots of plugs for our electronics! Everything worked: frig, microwave, hot shower. Great breakfast. The hotel is just two blocks from train depot and three from Main St. Lots of little shops. No need to use the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M. Fenn
Business
Iowa
Jul 6, 2012

Nice, but needs that special something

The hotel/accommodations were fine. The only problem I had with the place was the lobby/breakfast area was NOT air conditioned--HOT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very good restaurants downtown.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Boots McGee
Business
Iowa
Jul 3, 2012

mediocre stay

There was no A/C in the lobby/breakfast area. It was quite stuffy when eating breakfast. The breakfast area could be larger as there was always a wait to eat. The breakfast selection could include some fresh fruit, bagels, etc. It would make for a better experience at the motel. The swimming pool water look green and cloudy as if it had not been maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Travel a few minutes to the other side of town for some great shops and restaurants on Route 66.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yellow Hawk
Business
Tucson, Az.
May 21, 2012

Needs remodling

old tv's with hardly any channels Roons smelled musty yet they were clean Toliet overran with first use 4 tables available for breakfast with about 10 people eating their breakfast while standing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top