$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

4 stars
3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, 3800 W. STARR PASS BLVD, Tucson, AZ 85745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
31 reviews
Great family getaway

Had a racing time with my family here, the hotel was beautiful out view was amazing. See full review

  • RJ Acosta
  • Jul 15, 2014
June Trip

hotel is very nice with great views! i would highly recommend See full review

  • cmoney29
  • Jun 3, 2014
An oasis of activity in the high desert of west Tucson

This AAA Four Diamond-rated Tucson resort encompasses everything guests need or want in one convenient location. Highlights include540 rooms and 35 suites, the award-winning Hashani Spa, three different golf courses, diverse Tucson dining options with spacious patios, and 88,000 square feet of well-appointed indoor and outdoor event space. The resort also provides knowledgeable guides to lead guests to the best mountain bike or walking trails.

Highlights

  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel
  • Championship-caliber golf
  • Sumptuous spa treatments
  • Five restaurants to choose from
  • Complimentary newspaper upon request

Rooms

Each of the resort's spacious, smoke-free guest rooms and suites feature a private patio or balcony coupled with magnificent Tucson views. Guests enjoy the custom-made furniture, warm and inviting colors, comfy beds with down duvets and plenty of pillows, and bathrooms with expansive tubs and separate stall showers. For added comfort rooms offer high-speed Internet access (fees apply), wireless keyboard, complimentary in-room laptop safe, dual-line, cordless telephones with voice mail, flat screen, color television with OnCommand movies and video games, CD alarm clock, coffee and coffeemaker, refrigerator with mini-bar, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and lather skin and body care products made from natural ingredients. 

Features

Desert golf takes on new meaning at Starr Pass Tucson Golf Club. Guests enjoy a 27-hole Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Facility, rejuvenating 20,000-square-foot clubhouse, and top-quality golf shop -- set against natural mountain ranges. Starr Pass Tucson Golf Club also offers great teaching facilities and practice areas with putting and chipping greens and a double-loaded driving range. The golf shop offers the latest in top-quality equipment, rentals, apparel, and products.

 

Full-service Hashani Spa offers guests healing treatments and the sensory bliss of the magical Sonoran Desert. Guests see it in the surrounding cacti while enjoying a hypnotic massage, hear it while splashing in an Egyptian lotus milk bath, feel it while snugly wrapped in spirulina harvested from a pure salt desert lake, and smell it in the finest aromatherapy oils. Hashani celebrates the desert's indigenous culture by embracing ancient techniques and transforming them into modern rituals.

Dining

The resort boasts five restaurants and lounges. After visiting the sweeping breakfast buffet guests grab a seat on the outdoor patio to usher in the morning leisurely. Outside the popular Mediterranean restaurant, Primo, features a nurturing organic garden, with pesticide-free vegetables and fruits. Diners enjoy ingredients that are both seasonal and sustainable. Signature Grill serves Southwestern-style cowboy cuisine prepared from scratch, while Catalina Barbeque Co. and Sports Bar offers prime rib. Laidback Plunge by the pool is where guests linger until sunset.

 

Endless activities available for the family include the Nickelodeon Getaway, where guests dive in for a weekend of slime and smiles all year long. In addition, this JW Marriott luxury hotel presents the coolest way to chill out in the desert with The Water Collection, including the Starr Canyon River, Monsoon Falls Water Slide, and heated outdoor pools and dancing fountains.

Transportation

  • Tucson International Airport (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (117.1 mi/188.5 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Tucson Botanical Gardens (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Pima Air & Space Museum (13.5 mi/21.7 km)
  • San Xavier Del Bac Mission (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Fox Tucson Theatre (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Saguaro National Park (12.1 mi/19.5 km)

Business

  • QuikPrint business center offers a full array of professional business services, including overnight package handling, facsimile transmission and receipt, computer and office equipment rental, Internet access, and secretarial services. Office supplies are available for sale.
  • Meeting areas from boardrooms to ballrooms, ranging from 560 square feet to almost 20,000, accommodate groups from 22 to 1,300
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Pets not allowed.
  • Internet access complimentary for Gold and Platinum members.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • International Wildlife Museum: 1.7 mi
  • A Mountain Sentinel Peak: 3.4 mi
  • Tucson Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Fox Theater: 4.7 mi
  • St. Augustine Cathedral: 4.7 mi
  • Old Tucson Studios: 4.7 mi
  • Arizona Theater Company: 4.8 mi
  • Children's Museum Tucson: 4.9 mi
  • Rocks and Ropes: 5.2 mi
  • Tucson Mountain Park: 5.5 mi
  • University of Arizona: 5.6 mi
  • Arizona State Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Arizona Stadium: 6 mi
  • UA Science: Flandrau: 6.1 mi
  • McKale Center: 6.2 mi
  • International Wildlife Museum: 1.7 mi
  • A Mountain Sentinel Peak: 3.4 mi
  • Tucson Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Fox Theater: 4.7 mi
  • St. Augustine Cathedral: 4.7 mi
  • Old Tucson Studios: 4.7 mi
  • Arizona Theater Company: 4.8 mi
  • Children's Museum Tucson: 4.9 mi
  • Rocks and Ropes: 5.2 mi
  • Tucson Mountain Park: 5.5 mi
  • University of Arizona: 5.6 mi
  • Arizona State Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Arizona Stadium: 6 mi
  • UA Science: Flandrau: 6.1 mi
  • McKale Center: 6.2 mi
  • Casino Del Sol: 6.2 mi
  • Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum: 7.2 mi
  • The Loft Cinema: 7.6 mi
  • Mission San Xavier del Bac: 7.7 mi
  • Reid Park Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • Tucson Botanical Gardens: 8.6 mi
  • Tohono Chul Park: 9.6 mi
  • The Mini Time Machine Museum of Miniatures: 9.7 mi
  • Agua Caliente Park: 10 mi
  • Pima Air & Space Museum: 12 mi
  • The Gas Light Theatre: 12.1 mi
  • Finger Rock Trail: 12.3 mi
  • Sabino Canyon: 15.3 mi
  • Catalina State Park: 15.5 mi
  • Madera Canyon: 32.4 mi

Dining

Primo with Patio Dining
Dining is redefined at our award-winning Tucson, AZ restaurant. Chef Melissa Kelly creates culinary using organic ingredients grown on the resort, complemented by a dazzling list of wines and decadent desserts. Local. Fresh. Modern.
Signature Grill with Patio Dining
Our award-winning Tucson, AZ restaurant features fine-dining with a distinctly Southwestern blend of Mexican, Native American, and Cowboy influences. Inspired entrées are complemented by an extensive wine list. And don’t miss the Breakfast Buffet!
Catalina Barbeque Co. & Sports Bar
Tucson BBQ restaurants don’t get any better than this! Featuring competition-style house-made sauces and rubs, the award-winning Catalina Barbeque Co. serves succulent smoked meats and other Southwestern specialties. Open for lunch and dinner daily.
Salud
Indulge in the wide variety of tequilas and desert-inspired cocktails offered here. Sunset and evening views from the outdoor patio are not to be missed, and the festive daily Tequila Toast at 5:30 p.m. is a Starr Pass tradition.
Plunge Poolside Dining
You can be poolside and casual and still enjoy fine dining. Plunge restaurant serves delicious salads, sandwiches, tacos, wraps and more. We specialize in cool cocktails, and we also feature a kids menu with a nice variety of quick-served items.
Starbucks®
Even deep in the desert, we have your favorite cappuccinos, lattes, macchiatos, espressos, frappuccinos, mochas, chais, muffins, scones, danishes, cakes and more. Or, if you prefer, just a good ole cup of coffee!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJ Acosta
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Jul 15, 2014

Great family getaway

Had a racing time with my family here, the hotel was beautiful out view was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cmoney29
Business
Tucson Arizona
Jun 3, 2014

June Trip

hotel is very nice with great views! i would highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

dtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Star14
Business
Salt Lake City, utah
Mar 22, 2014

Beautiful

Hotel has beautiful grounds! 3 pools. The lobby that extends into a patio is magnificent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bernie P.
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 26, 2014

Individual Staff Members Great, Hotel Overall, Not So Great

There were individual staff members that were very kind and courteous, and seemed to want to go out of their way to be helpful. But the institution overall was lacking. Our reservation was for either a king bed, or two queen beds. Our room had two twin beds. When we asked about changing to a room with a king bed, they said their king beds were "committed", but would get back to us later in the week. Later in the week, it was obvious that the hotel wasn't full, but no one got in touch with us. The ice machine on our floor was empty for three straight days. Housekeeping missed cleaning our room one day (though someone left us a note profusely apologizing after we complained). Perhaps most galling is the "resort fee". Although the hotel says there is free internet in the lobby, when I went there, my computer did not show a signal for the free internet. When I complained, a staff person said that I could only use the internet through the "resort fee", and when I asked if it could be waived (since no one told me about the resort fee), he said that couldn't happen, and that it was never waived except for large conferences. The resort fee (just under $30 daily) includes internet access, access to the health club (which did have nice facilities) and free parking. But none of this is told to you up front. Everything at this resort is expensive, and as the week went on, my wife and I went to restaurants outside the resort and spent more and more time away from the resort. Next time we visit Tucson, we will likely stay somewhere else that gives more value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Rs
Business
Spokane, WA
Jan 5, 2014

Relaxing and Rejuvenating family break

We had just a quick 3 and 1/2 day trip to Tucson for some sun and relaxation at New Year's, and we couldn't have been more thrilled with the Starr Pass Marriott resort. Everyone there was warm, welcoming, and friendly, the location and property are just stunning, and there was just everything we could have wanted for a rejuvenating break. Highly recommend. We were a family with one small child (4 yrs), and enjoyed it all, but this is a great place for couples without kids too. We hope to be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Especially if you have kids, plan to spend at least one evening (and maybe every evening!) on the patio by the fire pits, and order the S'Mores. Magic for everyone looking at stars, Tucson below, and eating s'mores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vickiann
Business
Tucson
Jul 6, 2013

Great 4th of July

Most of our stay was wonderful. We enjoyed the restaurant, the staff was extremely attentive the food was good. The lazy river was great and the staff was very attentive as well. I have only two complaints We found some one else's bathing suit and Make up in the room one thing next to curtin and the other under the bed. The other is the way they handle The resort fee. They tell you that you get benefits Like kids eat free in the resturaunt for dinner and Yet they don't take the kids meals off and when I asked about it they said "if" you pay the resort fee They will take it off at the front desk when you pay your Bill.( which makes you believe that the resort fee is Optional) Then I got my bill and they did not take off the kids meals and I had to call to have it fixed. The front desk person was not pleasant to talk too and I Had to call back and talk to the manager. It dampened What would have been a wonderful experience. The fire works were first rate. And the children loved the duck hunt. Other than my bad check out experience We all had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B5Family
Business
Chagrin Falls, OH
Apr 2, 2013

The best in Tucson!

Starr Pass is by far the ultimate resort in the Tucson area. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, and very friendly and helpful staff. The lazy river and pool area is great for kids, complete with cabanas, ping pong table, and dancing water area for the kids to play in. Wait staff is alerted for food/drinks with a raising of a flag attached to your lounge chair. You can enjoy a tropical drink while floating on your inner tube in the lazy river! It doesn't get any better than this! Delicious restaurants and Starbucks in hotel as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny is Mom
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 17, 2013

Week Away From the Cold

My husband and I switch between cities in the southwest each year as an escape from the cold and snow in Chicago. This is the first time we've stayed at the JW Marriott in Tucson. This resort is spectacular and we really never had to leave! My only criticism is that there is no 'adult only' pool and there were quite a few kids splashing and running around us. Also, my ongoing beef with Marriott hotels charging a daily wireless fee. This fee added another $100 to our week and it's not the money so much as the principal of the thing. I am a Marriott rewards member but am considering switching to another hotel to avoid the hassle of this daily logging in annoyance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Sit outside on the deck or patio in the early morning and late evening. Beautiful view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J and A
Business
Sarasota, FL
Feb 11, 2013

JW Marriot Starr Pass

A wonderful resort tucked into the hills West of Tucson. Incredible views, hiking trails more pools than most resorts with stunning views to go with! The rooms were comfortable, huge (900sq ft) with lovely large very modern separate shower and tub. Restaurants were perfect, simply perfect!!!! Enjoy the many outside fire pits on any cool night and sip a warm drink or eat their specialty foods form the bar for a great casual moment...We loved it and ate there on the property every night of our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Walk or hike the local mountains with spectacular views!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meurer
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Jan 24, 2013

Hiking paradise

We stayed at the Marriott Star Pass and absolutely loved it. The place is beautiful and situated by great hiking trails. The patio had fire pits and fire tubes that were wonderful to sit by in the evening and reflect about the day's events sippin on adult beverages. All the staff was great!!! The food was out of this world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Signature grill it is absolutely wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top