$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Clarion Inn Tucson

3 stars
750 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85713
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
46 reviews
perfect for quick travel

Location is excellent to travel arround the city. The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and... See full review

  • Jorge Cuama
  • Nov 16, 2013
Unexpectedly nice stay near downtown Tucson

We were a bit on alert after reading a bunch of negative reviews, so it was a pleasant surprise to... See full review

  • Vlad D
  • Apr 4, 2013
Quiet comfort near airport, local businesses, outdoor attractions

This AAA Three Diamond-rated inn combines comfort and convenience, as well as the perfect mix of quiet and efficiency. The value-priced, pet-friendly property, just seven miles from the airport and a mile from downtown, boasts an array of amenities and polite, knowledgeable staff. Guests enjoy a free breakfast, spacious guest rooms and suites, an outdoor pool, spa, and convenient access to area attractions, both manmade and natural.

Highlights

  • AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel in superb location
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free Bright Side Breakfast
  • Pet friendly

Rooms

The inn features 98 clean, spacious guest rooms and 11 suites, all with many amenities such as a choice of single king or double-queen beds, free high-speed Internet access, expanded cable television with HBO, data port phones with free local calls, coffee maker, and private bathroom with hairdryer. Some rooms offer a microwave oven and refrigerator.

Features

Guests find that La Quinta Inn Tucson Downtown/Starr Pass provides easy access to everything in the area, including the University of Arizona, VA Hospital, Tucson Convention Center, Starr Pass Golf Resort, and Sonora Desert Museum.

 

Guests also try their luck at Desert Diamond Casino and Casino Del Sol, or spend a day shopping at Park Place Mall, El Con Mall, or Casa Grande outlets.

 

Guests start the day by topping off their fuel tank with the inn's free Bright Side Breakfast, featuring waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, breads and muffins, and coffee and juice. After a busy day the sparkling outdoor swimming pool and soothing indoor spa await travelers.

Transportation

  • Tucson International Airport (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (113 mi/181.9 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Tucson Botanical Gardens (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Pima Air & Space Museum (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • San Xavier Del Bac Mission (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Fox Tucson Theatre (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Saguaro National Park (16.2 mi/26.1 km)

Policies and fees

  • Pets welcomed.
  • La Quinta Returns points program.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.2073 -110.9817
Nearby airports
Tucson Int'l Airport, (TUS), 5.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Airport, I-10/Starr Pass

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Inn Tucson also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • A Mountain Sentinel Peak: 0.8 mi
  • St. Augustine Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Tucson Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Fox Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Arizona Theater Company: 1.4 mi
  • Children's Museum Tucson: 1.4 mi
  • Rocks and Ropes: 1.4 mi
  • University of Arizona: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona State Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • McKale Center: 2.6 mi
  • UA Science: Flandrau: 2.7 mi
  • Reid Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • The Loft Cinema: 4 mi
  • Tucson Botanical Gardens: 5.2 mi
  • A Mountain Sentinel Peak: 0.8 mi
  • St. Augustine Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Tucson Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Fox Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Arizona Theater Company: 1.4 mi
  • Children's Museum Tucson: 1.4 mi
  • Rocks and Ropes: 1.4 mi
  • University of Arizona: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona State Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • McKale Center: 2.6 mi
  • UA Science: Flandrau: 2.7 mi
  • Reid Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • The Loft Cinema: 4 mi
  • Tucson Botanical Gardens: 5.2 mi
  • International Wildlife Museum: 5.4 mi
  • The Mini Time Machine Museum of Miniatures: 6.5 mi
  • Agua Caliente Park: 6.7 mi
  • Mission San Xavier del Bac: 6.9 mi
  • Casino Del Sol: 8.1 mi
  • The Gas Light Theatre: 8.1 mi
  • Pima Air & Space Museum: 8.2 mi
  • Old Tucson Studios: 8.8 mi
  • Tohono Chul Park: 9.3 mi
  • Tucson Mountain Park: 9.6 mi
  • Finger Rock Trail: 10.7 mi
  • Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum: 11.2 mi
  • Sabino Canyon: 12.2 mi
  • Catalina State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Madera Canyon: 30.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Inn Tucson

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roger Phoenix
Tucson
May 12, 2013

Clarion Inn Tucson

We were very disappointed with the overall condition of this hotel. We realized as we pulled up that we made a mistake. It looks like it was built in the 60s and very few upgrades appear to have been done to it since. This is definitely ro a 3 star hotel and probably should be rated around 1 1/2 stars. The staff was good but the location and hotel itself ws below parin our opinion. I always has a positive vibe about Clarions, but that has now dropped a level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E Biz Traveler
Business
Reno, NV
Apr 23, 2010

Take the bad with the good

Staff was friendly. Room was clean, but carpets were wet (from shampooing) when I first arrived. First night was amazingly quiet. Nice pool/spa area, but a guy in the area (guest?) kind of scared me away. I slept really well the first night. Mattress was fantastic - I didn't want to get out of bed in the morning! Second night was very noisy. Kids running around, yelling, and slamming doors all night long. I notified the staff, but they reacted almost helplessly. The only quiet I got was from midnight to 6 AM. Made the night awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

South 4th Avenue is just a short drive away. This means you have great restaurants and attractions very close by. Just head east on 22nd/Starr Pass to 4th Avenue and turn right (south). You'll have no regrets! Downtown is also very close (just east) and the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum is just a few miles west. Overall, this hotel is a great location and a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 21, 2010

Hotel review for Tucson 6/11/2010

Pleasant two day stay, close to the location that I was going to speak. Very accomodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Easier is Better
Business
White Mountains, Arizona
Jun 12, 2009

Get's the job done.

The hotel was especially close to the downtown area and some of the best restaurants nearby, but I would recommend that you call ahead and have them take a second look over the cleaning job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Athens on 4th. That's all I have to say! Delicious Greek food with a homey atmosphere. The owner is constantly milling about making you feel at home and closely related to the entire, pleasant, staff. My associate and I stayed nearly five hours and thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wsoxman47
Tucson
Nov 16, 2013

Not Bad for the Price

If you are looking a resort 3 or 4 stars, this ain't the place. Now if you are looking for a place that is close to downtown and US10, this is the place. Clean and quit is all I need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a ride up Mt. Lemmon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jan and Don
Apache Junction AZ
Feb 25, 2013

Not too bad.

I asked the booking agency for two nonsmoking ground floor rooms but were given two rooms on the second floor and way down the hall from each other. Wouldn't you think you would book the two rooms next to each other unless asked to do otherwise? It sure would be logical to me. Also the air conditioner in Room 240 was so noisy it soulded like a freight train coming through every time it kicked in and it only kicked in a couple of minutes at a time. Just enought to scare you awake. There were missing light bulbs in both lamps on the tables. I know they were probably stolen by previous guests but that probably should be checked when the rooms are cleaned. Also there was a ladder just leaning against the wall in the hall. The people at the front desk and other staff were very nice but it would be nice if they all spoke English since this is the USA, right? Nice breakfast and the little gal working the breakfast room was right on the ball filling everything up. She did a nice job. I would probably stay there again but would certainly check out that air conditioner noise first. Beds were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UofA Visitor
New Mexico
Apr 6, 2014

Clean and Comfortable

I slept well. Comfortable and clean bed. Breakfast could use some fruit and fresh items. Some noise from interstate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleepy in Tucson
Denver, CO
Jan 22, 2013

Not Bad for the Price

Close to downtown, but due for some renovation. Nice hot tub. Pool is unheated and thus unusable in winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cedar falls
Scottsdale
Jun 28, 2009

STAR RATING INCORRECT

I thought this was a star place, but I could have saved alot of money by staying at Motel 6 - that is what is was like

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatiaB
Encinitas, CA
Nov 18, 2012

Great location if you're partiicpating in Tour De Tucson!

I came into town to participate in the Tour De Tucson Cycling event. This hotel is about 1.5 miles from the start line. The location makes getting to and from the start line extremely easy. There are many restaurants within a couple of miles downtown. However, the downtown area is currently under massive construction and parking was impossible so I ended up just ordering pizza to the room. So, if lame pizza isn't your thing - bring snacks! The room was comfortable and clean. The quality of the building is exactly what you're paying for - lackluster. The walls are EXTREMELY thin. I could hear the guy next to me as if he were in my own room. The people above sounded like they were bowling with loud techno music to boot. I called three times to complain and each time the desk was extremely gracious and helpful. In the morning there is a nice little breakfast available. If you're doing the event, many of us rode over from the hotel leaving our cars in the parking lot. A very nice perk as there is currently no parking downtown. Overall, for what I paid for the night, it was fine. If I did that event again, I'd stay there just for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

With all the construction downtown, make SURE you know how to get to your restaurant or you'll drive around for hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search