$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Clarion Inn Tucson

3 stars
View map of 750 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85713

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
49 reviews
perfect for quick travel

Location is excellent to travel arround the city. The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and... See full review

  • Jorge Cuama
  • Nov 16, 2013
relaxing one night stay

Was not bad for price for a one night stay. Not the place for a date that's for sure. See full review

  • oscar b.
  • Jan 25, 2015
Quiet comfort near airport, local businesses, outdoor attractions

This AAA Three Diamond-rated inn combines comfort and convenience, as well as the perfect mix of quiet and efficiency. The value-priced, pet-friendly property, just seven miles from the airport and a mile from downtown, boasts an array of amenities and polite, knowledgeable staff. Guests enjoy a free breakfast, spacious guest rooms and suites, an outdoor pool, spa, and convenient access to area attractions, both manmade and natural.

Highlights

  • AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel in superb location
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free Bright Side Breakfast
  • Pet friendly

Rooms

The inn features 98 clean, spacious guest rooms and 11 suites, all with many amenities such as a choice of single king or double-queen beds, free high-speed Internet access, expanded cable television with HBO, data port phones with free local calls, coffee maker, and private bathroom with hairdryer. Some rooms offer a microwave oven and refrigerator.

Features

Guests find that La Quinta Inn Tucson Downtown/Starr Pass provides easy access to everything in the area, including the University of Arizona, VA Hospital, Tucson Convention Center, Starr Pass Golf Resort, and Sonora Desert Museum.

 

Guests also try their luck at Desert Diamond Casino and Casino Del Sol, or spend a day shopping at Park Place Mall, El Con Mall, or Casa Grande outlets.

 

Guests start the day by topping off their fuel tank with the inn's free Bright Side Breakfast, featuring waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, breads and muffins, and coffee and juice. After a busy day the sparkling outdoor swimming pool and soothing indoor spa await travelers.

Transportation

  • Tucson International Airport (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (113 mi/181.9 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Tucson Botanical Gardens (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Pima Air & Space Museum (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • San Xavier Del Bac Mission (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Fox Tucson Theatre (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Saguaro National Park (16.2 mi/26.1 km)

Policies and fees

  • Pets welcomed.
  • La Quinta Returns points program.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Inn Tucson also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • A Mountain Sentinel Peak: 0.8 mi
  • St. Augustine Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Tucson Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Fox Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Arizona Theater Company: 1.4 mi
  • Children's Museum Tucson: 1.4 mi
  • Rocks and Ropes: 1.4 mi
  • University of Arizona: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona State Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • McKale Center: 2.6 mi
  • UA Science: Flandrau: 2.7 mi
  • Reid Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • The Loft Cinema: 4 mi
  • Tucson Botanical Gardens: 5.2 mi
  • A Mountain Sentinel Peak: 0.8 mi
  • St. Augustine Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Tucson Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Fox Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Arizona Theater Company: 1.4 mi
  • Children's Museum Tucson: 1.4 mi
  • Rocks and Ropes: 1.4 mi
  • University of Arizona: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona State Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • McKale Center: 2.6 mi
  • UA Science: Flandrau: 2.7 mi
  • Reid Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • The Loft Cinema: 4 mi
  • Tucson Botanical Gardens: 5.2 mi
  • International Wildlife Museum: 5.4 mi
  • The Mini Time Machine Museum of Miniatures: 6.5 mi
  • Agua Caliente Park: 6.7 mi
  • Mission San Xavier del Bac: 6.9 mi
  • Casino Del Sol: 8.1 mi
  • The Gas Light Theatre: 8.1 mi
  • Pima Air & Space Museum: 8.2 mi
  • Old Tucson Studios: 8.8 mi
  • Tohono Chul Park: 9.3 mi
  • Tucson Mountain Park: 9.6 mi
  • Finger Rock Trail: 10.7 mi
  • Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum: 11.2 mi
  • Sabino Canyon: 12.2 mi
  • Catalina State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Madera Canyon: 30.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Inn Tucson

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PhilnPhx
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 4, 2012

Hotel is Dated and Worn

If location and price work for you then okay stay (my meeting was just down street and I have a tight budget). In depressed neighborhood off freeway with no local restaraut choices. Room was dated with wall patched that were not textured or painted to match walls (and, other signs of poor workamnship). TV dated with poor picture and TV guide not current with existing channels. Lack of pride in ownership.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cute Latina
Business
Nogales, AZ
Oct 22, 2012

Hotel was eh...service from front desk...was great!

The lady at the front desk was great! We asked to be moved to a bigger room with a microwave and fridge and she was on it, even came up to our room to give us the key! The room was bigger, however in between the fridge and the wall, was an old, dirty, frozen dinner tray...totally visable and seemed like it had been there for months! Remote control didnt work, front desk gal went out of her way to come and leave us new batteries...although they STILL didnt work. Hallways REEKED of someone smoking pot too! We will NOT be staying there again....front desk gal...you need to find another job at a much better hotel...you would really benefit from it! Thank you for making our stay a little better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sf Mkt
Business
Zuni, new Mexico
Feb 28, 2013

business getaway

unable to easily turn water from very hot to warm- knobs to tight to turn easily

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gmpcolo
Business
Seattle
Mar 13, 2013

Not great but not bad either

This is definitely not a three star hotel. But I didn't pay a lot so I can't complain too much. The room itself is large, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was pretty good. So not a bad place but not a three star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dumdo
Business
Palm Desert, CA
Mar 19, 2013

Disappointed

Exterior parking and landscape pitiful. One middle age couple drove in with us, looked around, and drove off. We paid you $60.00 for one night. A sign in front of the hotel said $45.99. I asked the desk to honor that rate and she sign the sign was a mistake and should have been removed. I paid $60. The next day the sign was still present @$45.99.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sightseeing bob
Business
phoenix
May 2, 2013

pool was out of service and temp was the day temp ws 98

staff was very friendly. the insideof hotel was clean but needed repair. the outside needed to be spruced up. the outside sign had swear words written on it and no one cleaned it off. the parking lot was dirty. the whole outside appearance was that this was a rundown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

there is a missile attraction about 20 minutes away. it is wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roger Phoenix
Business
Tucson
May 12, 2013

Clarion Inn Tucson

We were very disappointed with the overall condition of this hotel. We realized as we pulled up that we made a mistake. It looks like it was built in the 60s and very few upgrades appear to have been done to it since. This is definitely ro a 3 star hotel and probably should be rated around 1 1/2 stars. The staff was good but the location and hotel itself ws below parin our opinion. I always has a positive vibe about Clarions, but that has now dropped a level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mapman2
Business
Amherstburg, ON, Canada
Nov 17, 2013

Average Motel

Whenever a hotel is two stories or more, I try to stay on the top floor. We usually end up with elephants above us if we don't. We stayed on the first floor, as we were told no rooms were being given out on the 2nd. However, 4 nights out of 7 we had heavy-footed people above us, running and stomping back and forth for hours. They would not put us upstairs! We are not happy about our stay, and will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Area of 4th Ave. and 6th Street, for some great shopping and dining in a compressed, very happening area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Distraught Daughter
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Nov 28, 2013

Disappointed

Chose because of convenience to St. Mary's Hospital in Tucson. Stains on 'bedspread' and chair. Hair in the bathtub. Trash on the ac/heating unit. Something sticky on the carpet. Hallways smelly and unkept. Only one waffle iron on Sunday made for a 20 minute wait. Furniture aged. Tv reception very fuzzy. Suspect area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Solarservant
Business
Glenwood Springs, CO
May 26, 2010

Troubled Hotel

I came to Tucson for an job interview, so was looking for a place to get some restful sleep the night before. Needless to say, this didn't happen. Drunken partiers kept me awake the entire night... Management should have stepped in, or called the police. The room was nice with the exception that it did smell like smoke, as if it had previously been a smoking room and there was no attempt to rid the room of the residue. As we checked in, it was clear that there had been some kind of management upheaval, because employees were scrambling to deal with reservations that were weeks old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Indita on 4th Ave has great authentic Mexican food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top