$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Clarion Inn Tucson

3 stars
750 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85713
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
46 reviews
perfect for quick travel

Location is excellent to travel arround the city. The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and... See full review

  • Jorge Cuama
  • Nov 16, 2013
Unexpectedly nice stay near downtown Tucson

We were a bit on alert after reading a bunch of negative reviews, so it was a pleasant surprise to... See full review

  • Vlad D
  • Apr 4, 2013
Quiet comfort near airport, local businesses, outdoor attractions

This AAA Three Diamond-rated inn combines comfort and convenience, as well as the perfect mix of quiet and efficiency. The value-priced, pet-friendly property, just seven miles from the airport and a mile from downtown, boasts an array of amenities and polite, knowledgeable staff. Guests enjoy a free breakfast, spacious guest rooms and suites, an outdoor pool, spa, and convenient access to area attractions, both manmade and natural.

Highlights

  • AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel in superb location
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free Bright Side Breakfast
  • Pet friendly

Rooms

The inn features 98 clean, spacious guest rooms and 11 suites, all with many amenities such as a choice of single king or double-queen beds, free high-speed Internet access, expanded cable television with HBO, data port phones with free local calls, coffee maker, and private bathroom with hairdryer. Some rooms offer a microwave oven and refrigerator.

Features

Guests find that La Quinta Inn Tucson Downtown/Starr Pass provides easy access to everything in the area, including the University of Arizona, VA Hospital, Tucson Convention Center, Starr Pass Golf Resort, and Sonora Desert Museum.

 

Guests also try their luck at Desert Diamond Casino and Casino Del Sol, or spend a day shopping at Park Place Mall, El Con Mall, or Casa Grande outlets.

 

Guests start the day by topping off their fuel tank with the inn's free Bright Side Breakfast, featuring waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, breads and muffins, and coffee and juice. After a busy day the sparkling outdoor swimming pool and soothing indoor spa await travelers.

Transportation

  • Tucson International Airport (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (113 mi/181.9 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Tucson Botanical Gardens (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Pima Air & Space Museum (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • San Xavier Del Bac Mission (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Fox Tucson Theatre (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Saguaro National Park (16.2 mi/26.1 km)

Policies and fees

  • Pets welcomed.
  • La Quinta Returns points program.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Inn Tucson also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • A Mountain Sentinel Peak: 0.8 mi
  • St. Augustine Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Tucson Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Fox Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Arizona Theater Company: 1.4 mi
  • Children's Museum Tucson: 1.4 mi
  • Rocks and Ropes: 1.4 mi
  • University of Arizona: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona State Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • McKale Center: 2.6 mi
  • UA Science: Flandrau: 2.7 mi
  • Reid Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • The Loft Cinema: 4 mi
  • Tucson Botanical Gardens: 5.2 mi
  • A Mountain Sentinel Peak: 0.8 mi
  • St. Augustine Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Tucson Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Fox Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Arizona Theater Company: 1.4 mi
  • Children's Museum Tucson: 1.4 mi
  • Rocks and Ropes: 1.4 mi
  • University of Arizona: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona State Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • McKale Center: 2.6 mi
  • UA Science: Flandrau: 2.7 mi
  • Reid Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • The Loft Cinema: 4 mi
  • Tucson Botanical Gardens: 5.2 mi
  • International Wildlife Museum: 5.4 mi
  • The Mini Time Machine Museum of Miniatures: 6.5 mi
  • Agua Caliente Park: 6.7 mi
  • Mission San Xavier del Bac: 6.9 mi
  • Casino Del Sol: 8.1 mi
  • The Gas Light Theatre: 8.1 mi
  • Pima Air & Space Museum: 8.2 mi
  • Old Tucson Studios: 8.8 mi
  • Tohono Chul Park: 9.3 mi
  • Tucson Mountain Park: 9.6 mi
  • Finger Rock Trail: 10.7 mi
  • Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum: 11.2 mi
  • Sabino Canyon: 12.2 mi
  • Catalina State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Madera Canyon: 30.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Inn Tucson

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camarillo
Aug 10, 2008

Nice hotel for a family on a budget

This hotel totally works for a family on a budget. The continental breakfast was nice, the lady who worked it was pleasant. It had indoor hallways, we felt very secure. Room was pretty good sized, beds were totally bouncy, room was clean. Didn't get out in the neighborhood much, but it seemed ok. Airport was about 10 minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Jackson, TX
Jul 28, 2008

Good Location

This hotel was selected because of it's accessibility. However, because of freeway construction, this was not the case. Once we got into the first room, it was not cleaned. But the staff placed in another room that was quite comfortable. The wireless server was not as available to me as the hotel's wireless across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed walking across the street to a Waffle House restaurant. We travel a lot and have a game of counting the number of Waffle House restaurans that we see. Never have gone into one, so this was an experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
punu
Business
ohio
Oct 21, 2010

value for money

I stayed here for 4 nights with my friend. We had no problems what- so-ever. No surprises, everything was as expected. We did not use spa/pool, so can not comment. Breakfast was very reasonable, I enjoyed it everyday. The place is not noisy, staff is courteaous. Carpets are dark, so they do not look dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mesa, AZ
Feb 26, 2010

Great getaway for couples

My love and I went to Tucson because I surprised him with a night out with dinner, the show Fiddler on the Roof and an evening at a hotel. [...]. When we checked in the front desk staff was friendly, quick and efficient. The room was fantastic for the price. Nice bed with lots of pillows, large bathroom, all clean and comfortable. Hot water for bath. We didn't exactly know where to have dinner so we asked the desk clerk for a recommendation and the restaurant she recommended had wonderful food and reasonable prices. The manager told us how to get to the theater and his directions were so easy.We had a wonderful stay and a great evening in Tucson and when we return we will definitely be staying at La Quinta Inn in Downtown Tucson. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurant Las Cazuelitas is about a mile from the hotel and the food is fantastic. It is the best Mexican food I have ever had. The staff is attentive and the prices are reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TGR
Business
TX
Jul 1, 2009

overnight stay

This place is a great location and everything was great. I was only there for one night so I didn't use the pool or fitness center, but they seemed nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zeropassy
Business
Modena, Italy
Jun 22, 2009

Good value

This place is a good value for an economy hotel. It was very quiet. The breakfast included waffles, fruit, yogurt, pastries, juice, coffee. The room was clean, furnishings were decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cedar falls
Business
Scottsdale
Jun 28, 2009

STAR RATING INCORRECT

I thought this was a star place, but I could have saved alot of money by staying at Motel 6 - that is what is was like

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatiaB
Business
Encinitas, CA
Nov 18, 2012

Great location if you're partiicpating in Tour De Tucson!

I came into town to participate in the Tour De Tucson Cycling event. This hotel is about 1.5 miles from the start line. The location makes getting to and from the start line extremely easy. There are many restaurants within a couple of miles downtown. However, the downtown area is currently under massive construction and parking was impossible so I ended up just ordering pizza to the room. So, if lame pizza isn't your thing - bring snacks! The room was comfortable and clean. The quality of the building is exactly what you're paying for - lackluster. The walls are EXTREMELY thin. I could hear the guy next to me as if he were in my own room. The people above sounded like they were bowling with loud techno music to boot. I called three times to complain and each time the desk was extremely gracious and helpful. In the morning there is a nice little breakfast available. If you're doing the event, many of us rode over from the hotel leaving our cars in the parking lot. A very nice perk as there is currently no parking downtown. Overall, for what I paid for the night, it was fine. If I did that event again, I'd stay there just for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

With all the construction downtown, make SURE you know how to get to your restaurant or you'll drive around for hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleepy in Tucson
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 22, 2013

Not Bad for the Price

Close to downtown, but due for some renovation. Nice hot tub. Pool is unheated and thus unusable in winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jan and Don
Business
Apache Junction AZ
Feb 25, 2013

Not too bad.

I asked the booking agency for two nonsmoking ground floor rooms but were given two rooms on the second floor and way down the hall from each other. Wouldn't you think you would book the two rooms next to each other unless asked to do otherwise? It sure would be logical to me. Also the air conditioner in Room 240 was so noisy it soulded like a freight train coming through every time it kicked in and it only kicked in a couple of minutes at a time. Just enought to scare you awake. There were missing light bulbs in both lamps on the tables. I know they were probably stolen by previous guests but that probably should be checked when the rooms are cleaned. Also there was a ladder just leaning against the wall in the hall. The people at the front desk and other staff were very nice but it would be nice if they all spoke English since this is the USA, right? Nice breakfast and the little gal working the breakfast room was right on the ball filling everything up. She did a nice job. I would probably stay there again but would certainly check out that air conditioner noise first. Beds were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top