$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Clarion Inn Tucson

3 stars
750 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85713
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
46 reviews
perfect for quick travel

Location is excellent to travel arround the city. The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and... See full review

  • Jorge Cuama
  • Nov 16, 2013
Unexpectedly nice stay near downtown Tucson

We were a bit on alert after reading a bunch of negative reviews, so it was a pleasant surprise to... See full review

  • Vlad D
  • Apr 4, 2013
Quiet comfort near airport, local businesses, outdoor attractions

This AAA Three Diamond-rated inn combines comfort and convenience, as well as the perfect mix of quiet and efficiency. The value-priced, pet-friendly property, just seven miles from the airport and a mile from downtown, boasts an array of amenities and polite, knowledgeable staff. Guests enjoy a free breakfast, spacious guest rooms and suites, an outdoor pool, spa, and convenient access to area attractions, both manmade and natural.

Highlights

  • AAA Three Diamond-rated hotel in superb location
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free Bright Side Breakfast
  • Pet friendly

Rooms

The inn features 98 clean, spacious guest rooms and 11 suites, all with many amenities such as a choice of single king or double-queen beds, free high-speed Internet access, expanded cable television with HBO, data port phones with free local calls, coffee maker, and private bathroom with hairdryer. Some rooms offer a microwave oven and refrigerator.

Features

Guests find that La Quinta Inn Tucson Downtown/Starr Pass provides easy access to everything in the area, including the University of Arizona, VA Hospital, Tucson Convention Center, Starr Pass Golf Resort, and Sonora Desert Museum.

 

Guests also try their luck at Desert Diamond Casino and Casino Del Sol, or spend a day shopping at Park Place Mall, El Con Mall, or Casa Grande outlets.

 

Guests start the day by topping off their fuel tank with the inn's free Bright Side Breakfast, featuring waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, breads and muffins, and coffee and juice. After a busy day the sparkling outdoor swimming pool and soothing indoor spa await travelers.

Transportation

  • Tucson International Airport (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (113 mi/181.9 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Tucson Botanical Gardens (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Pima Air & Space Museum (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • San Xavier Del Bac Mission (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Fox Tucson Theatre (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Saguaro National Park (16.2 mi/26.1 km)

Policies and fees

  • Pets welcomed.
  • La Quinta Returns points program.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Inn Tucson also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • A Mountain Sentinel Peak: 0.8 mi
  • St. Augustine Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Tucson Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Fox Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Arizona Theater Company: 1.4 mi
  • Children's Museum Tucson: 1.4 mi
  • Rocks and Ropes: 1.4 mi
  • University of Arizona: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona State Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • McKale Center: 2.6 mi
  • UA Science: Flandrau: 2.7 mi
  • Reid Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • The Loft Cinema: 4 mi
  • Tucson Botanical Gardens: 5.2 mi
  • A Mountain Sentinel Peak: 0.8 mi
  • St. Augustine Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Tucson Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Fox Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Arizona Theater Company: 1.4 mi
  • Children's Museum Tucson: 1.4 mi
  • Rocks and Ropes: 1.4 mi
  • University of Arizona: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona State Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Arizona Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • McKale Center: 2.6 mi
  • UA Science: Flandrau: 2.7 mi
  • Reid Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • The Loft Cinema: 4 mi
  • Tucson Botanical Gardens: 5.2 mi
  • International Wildlife Museum: 5.4 mi
  • The Mini Time Machine Museum of Miniatures: 6.5 mi
  • Agua Caliente Park: 6.7 mi
  • Mission San Xavier del Bac: 6.9 mi
  • Casino Del Sol: 8.1 mi
  • The Gas Light Theatre: 8.1 mi
  • Pima Air & Space Museum: 8.2 mi
  • Old Tucson Studios: 8.8 mi
  • Tohono Chul Park: 9.3 mi
  • Tucson Mountain Park: 9.6 mi
  • Finger Rock Trail: 10.7 mi
  • Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum: 11.2 mi
  • Sabino Canyon: 12.2 mi
  • Catalina State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Madera Canyon: 30.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Inn Tucson

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 46
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3
Value:
3.3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UofA Visitor
Business
New Mexico
Apr 6, 2014

Clean and Comfortable

I slept well. Comfortable and clean bed. Breakfast could use some fruit and fresh items. Some noise from interstate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mapman2
Business
Amherstburg, ON, Canada
Nov 17, 2013

Average Motel

Whenever a hotel is two stories or more, I try to stay on the top floor. We usually end up with elephants above us if we don't. We stayed on the first floor, as we were told no rooms were being given out on the 2nd. However, 4 nights out of 7 we had heavy-footed people above us, running and stomping back and forth for hours. They would not put us upstairs! We are not happy about our stay, and will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Area of 4th Ave. and 6th Street, for some great shopping and dining in a compressed, very happening area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wsoxman47
Business
Tucson
Nov 16, 2013

Not Bad for the Price

If you are looking a resort 3 or 4 stars, this ain't the place. Now if you are looking for a place that is close to downtown and US10, this is the place. Clean and quit is all I need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a ride up Mt. Lemmon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roger Phoenix
Business
Tucson
May 12, 2013

Clarion Inn Tucson

We were very disappointed with the overall condition of this hotel. We realized as we pulled up that we made a mistake. It looks like it was built in the 60s and very few upgrades appear to have been done to it since. This is definitely ro a 3 star hotel and probably should be rated around 1 1/2 stars. The staff was good but the location and hotel itself ws below parin our opinion. I always has a positive vibe about Clarions, but that has now dropped a level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vlad D
Business
Odessa, Ukraine
Apr 4, 2013

Unexpectedly nice stay near downtown Tucson

We were a bit on alert after reading a bunch of negative reviews, so it was a pleasant surprise to enter the place and stay there. The room was spacious and very clean (including the bedclothes). It was well maintained by the cleaning personnel. All equipment has worked in the room - from TV to wi-fi to coffee-maker. The reception people were reasonably efficient. This motel does not have large parking but it was not too crowded and we used it to park our car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Kettle diner next to the Clarion, which is quite decent and open 24 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dumdo
Business
Palm Desert, CA
Mar 19, 2013

Disappointed

Exterior parking and landscape pitiful. One middle age couple drove in with us, looked around, and drove off. We paid you $60.00 for one night. A sign in front of the hotel said $45.99. I asked the desk to honor that rate and she sign the sign was a mistake and should have been removed. I paid $60. The next day the sign was still present @$45.99.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bluerock
Business
High Desert, CA
Feb 20, 2013

Once was enough

Not impressed. Dirty, noisy, I won't stay again. Thank heaven I brought ear plugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunshined120
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Jun 20, 2012

1st Anniversary and Father's day getaway

The hallways were about 100 degrees, parts of the hotel grounds were trash free and some parts had trash. We went out too our car which was parked in the back by door B, there was a drug syringe right outside the door on the ground. neither ice machine worked i called and spoke with Felix and he had all kinds of excuses. wont be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mesa, AZ
Feb 26, 2010

Great getaway for couples

My love and I went to Tucson because I surprised him with a night out with dinner, the show Fiddler on the Roof and an evening at a hotel. [...]. When we checked in the front desk staff was friendly, quick and efficient. The room was fantastic for the price. Nice bed with lots of pillows, large bathroom, all clean and comfortable. Hot water for bath. We didn't exactly know where to have dinner so we asked the desk clerk for a recommendation and the restaurant she recommended had wonderful food and reasonable prices. The manager told us how to get to the theater and his directions were so easy.We had a wonderful stay and a great evening in Tucson and when we return we will definitely be staying at La Quinta Inn in Downtown Tucson. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurant Las Cazuelitas is about a mile from the hotel and the food is fantastic. It is the best Mexican food I have ever had. The staff is attentive and the prices are reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn Tucson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zeropassy
Business
Modena, Italy
Jun 22, 2009

Good value

This place is a good value for an economy hotel. It was very quiet. The breakfast included waffles, fruit, yogurt, pastries, juice, coffee. The room was clean, furnishings were decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top