$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

4 stars
60 E. 5th Street, Tempe, AZ 85281
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
98 reviews
Summer ends festival

I had a great time staying at this hotel. A wedding reception party was also staying at the hotel.... See full review

  • MM yellow
  • Sep 30, 2014
This place has it all! Location, comfort, great customer service

We upgraded our stay to a suite as we were escaping the slide fire and it was just what the doctor... See full review

  • Mary marvelous
  • May 28, 2014
Downtown Tempe hotel near shopping, restaurants and cafes

The Tempe Mission Palms is located in the heart of downtown Tempe. Hundreds of shops, restaurants, cafes and museums are steps outside the lobby. Guests find desert-inspired beauty and serenity throughout the property, including the recently renovated guestrooms, a rooftop pool, and tennis and basketball courts. The Mission Grille restaurant and Harry's Lounge are added benefits.

Highlights
  • Parking, valet service, Wi-Fi Internet and airport shuttle
  • IACC certified convention services
  • Rooftop pool, whirlpools, and tennis and basketball courts
Rooms

The hotel recently completed an $8 million renovation to all 303 guest rooms and suites. Expect warm and rich furnishings in the comfortable and clean rooms. Refined touches, such as granite countertops, padded headboards, and pillow-top mattresses, fill the space. A choice of deluxe king rooms or double-double rooms are complete with entertainment comforts including a 37-inch HD plasma television. Wi-Fi Internet access is included in the daily hospitality fee.

Features

The hotel's biggest amenity is its location in the hot Mill Avenue District in downtown Tempe. Boundless shopping and dining choices are within walking distance. A concierge is on staff to assist guests in their exploration of Tempe. The hotel has a rooftop retreat that features an outdoor pool, two whirlpools and an indoor exercise room.

Dining

Exceptional service extends to the Mission Grille restaurant, serving American and international cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and breakfast buffets each morning. Travelers and locals frequent Harry's Lounge for cocktails or dinner on the courtyard patio.

Transportation
  • Across the street from Metro Light Rail
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport
Attractions
  • In the heart of downtown Tempe
  • Desert Botanical Garden (2.9 mi/ 4.7 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (2.3 mi/ 3.6 km)
Business and events
  • IACC certified conference and meeting center
  • 30,000 square feet of flexible indoor or outdoor meeting space
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees

There is a $10.95 daily resort fee that includes parking, valet service, Wi-Fi Internet, and airport shuttle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts Rooms

Deluxe Room
Warm, richly furnished non-smoking room with two double beds or one king bed. Includes Air conditioning, Heating, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Mini-refrigerator, In-room safe, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service, Modem / data port connection, Disabled facilities, Voicemail, Pay TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 0.5 mi

Dining

Harry's Place Bar
Located on the ground floor near lobby and west courtyard. Serving American Cuisine, including appetizers, sandwiches and snacks. Dinner served 2 PM to midnight. Dress code is casual.
The Mission Grille
Located on the ground floor next to west courtyard. Serving American Cuisine. Breakfast-6:30 AM to 11 AM. Lunch-11 AM to 2 PM. Dress code is casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 98
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
5
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alioditty
Business
Hays, KS
Dec 30, 2013

BWW Bowl

Beautiful hotel and clean! Loved the location. The hospitality fee was a bit ridiculous but we knew what we were getting into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tavern and Moonshine was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deeznutz51
Business
Tijuana
Mar 26, 2012

Great Location

Walk outside and right on Mills Ave. where everything is. Great restaurants close by and great night-life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mills Ave....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Siobhan
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 21, 2011

Awesome hotel!

Myself and a few girl friends decided to stay at this hotel when we went out for a night on the town at Mill Ave. This was a great selection because we could get ready at the hotel and then walk to what ever place we wanted to. There are a lot of restaurants / bars near by with in a five minute walking distance. The hotel and their staff were great. The beds were amazingly comfortable with high thread count sheets and a light feather down comforter. Grounds were nice and well kept. Rooms were fully stocked with shampoo, conditioner, soap (that you could actually use!), and plenty of towels. There is also a restaurant there if you felt like eating and a gift shop. We had a good time there and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some great happy hour specials since there are so many bars/restaurants along Mill Ave. Check out the daily specials and get some awesome drink/food deals! Some suggestions are Zuma, PF Changs, Canteen Tequila Bar, Rula Bula, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, DE
Jul 14, 2011

Solid hotel and fantastic location

I was in town with a friend for the MLB All-Star game in Phoenix. We didn't want to stay downtown and instead wanted a hotel in the Tempe area to experience some nightlife. And this hotel didn't disappoint. The best thing the hotel has going for it is location. It's located a block away from Mill Ave. (the main drag in Tempe, a college town). Located right in the heart of town, it's an easy walk to any number of bars and restaurants. Not to mention three blocks away from the light rail if you want a ride to Phoenix or other areas. The rooms were clean and simple. The staff did a good job with housekeeping. There is a free shuttle to and from the airport. The hotel is only about a 10 minute drive from Phoenix/Sky Harbor Airport. The gym was in a state of disrepair during our stay (leaky ceiling). It didn't keep me from working out but it could have been nicer. The pool area/cabana seemed nice but I didn't use it. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was a fantastic experience overall. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bars and restaurants on Mill Ave are located right around the corner. If you have a car, Four Points Brewing Company is only a five minute drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, CA
Jun 26, 2010

Super Hot Hotel

Went to a few bars and walked around the city (when the weather didn't completely knock us out). Great location to take the light rail around Tempe or even into Phoenix. If you're into museums I also suggest the Heard Museum!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the maps that seem to be on every street corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tempe,az
May 23, 2010

get place to get away. great location!

great location.. great newly remodel rooms. pool is a little small and for a sat. the bar at the pool only stayed open until 5:00 =-(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, MA
Mar 14, 2010

No complaints. Absolutely perfect!

If one wants golf, there are plenty of courses to choose from that are a short drive from this hotel. Also nearby is the Cactus League baseball facilities. Great baseball at low prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
baseball gal
Business
Orange County, CA
Aug 19, 2009

DIDN'T WANNA LEAVE!

My friend and I were only in town for one night, we wanted to stay in a nice hotel near Mill St. and we found the best one! Everything was 5 stars to us, except that they only had smoking rooms left, they tried to spray it, but it ended up getting into all of our clothing, and we had to wash everything when we got back. Other than the smoking room, the hotel was OUTSTANDING. I'd only stay there again, worth every penny! I called for 4 towels, they brought them up and then called to check on me and make sure I got everything I needed. They were one of the best hotels i've ever stayed in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to shopping and nightlife, no need for a taxi, you can walk to everything!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield
Oct 13, 2008

My review of Tempe Mission Palms Hotel

VERY NICE HOTEL. gREAT ROOM SERVICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 15, 2008

Great! Within walking distance to many great shops, bars and restaurants..

Very comfortable. I especially like the courtyard view room. Very calm and peaceful. Great location -- to downtown Tempe and ASU. Within walking distance to great shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Irish Pub behind the hotel! Also, check out The Tavern for a great breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top