$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

4 stars
60 E. 5th Street, Tempe, AZ 85281
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
97 reviews
This place has it all! Location, comfort, great customer service

We upgraded our stay to a suite as we were escaping the slide fire and it was just what the doctor... See full review

  • Mary marvelous
  • May 28, 2014
Baylor Baseball Opener

Fantastic...location, comfort, rooms, staff, ambiance, and total package See full review

  • BU baseball mom
  • Feb 18, 2014
Downtown Tempe hotel near shopping, restaurants and cafes

The Tempe Mission Palms is located in the heart of downtown Tempe. Hundreds of shops, restaurants, cafes and museums are steps outside the lobby. Guests find desert-inspired beauty and serenity throughout the property, including the recently renovated guestrooms, a rooftop pool, and tennis and basketball courts. The Mission Grille restaurant and Harry's Lounge are added benefits.

Highlights
  • Parking, valet service, Wi-Fi Internet and airport shuttle
  • IACC certified convention services
  • Rooftop pool, whirlpools, and tennis and basketball courts
Rooms

The hotel recently completed an $8 million renovation to all 303 guest rooms and suites. Expect warm and rich furnishings in the comfortable and clean rooms. Refined touches, such as granite countertops, padded headboards, and pillow-top mattresses, fill the space. A choice of deluxe king rooms or double-double rooms are complete with entertainment comforts including a 37-inch HD plasma television. Wi-Fi Internet access is included in the daily hospitality fee.

Features

The hotel's biggest amenity is its location in the hot Mill Avenue District in downtown Tempe. Boundless shopping and dining choices are within walking distance. A concierge is on staff to assist guests in their exploration of Tempe. The hotel has a rooftop retreat that features an outdoor pool, two whirlpools and an indoor exercise room.

Dining

Exceptional service extends to the Mission Grille restaurant, serving American and international cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and breakfast buffets each morning. Travelers and locals frequent Harry's Lounge for cocktails or dinner on the courtyard patio.

Transportation
  • Across the street from Metro Light Rail
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport
Attractions
  • In the heart of downtown Tempe
  • Desert Botanical Garden (2.9 mi/ 4.7 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (2.3 mi/ 3.6 km)
Business and events
  • IACC certified conference and meeting center
  • 30,000 square feet of flexible indoor or outdoor meeting space
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees

There is a $10.95 daily resort fee that includes parking, valet service, Wi-Fi Internet, and airport shuttle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.4266 -111.9389
Area served
Tempe.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport-4 miles.
Area description
Located in downtown Tempe, 4 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts Rooms

Deluxe Room
Warm, richly furnished non-smoking room with two double beds or one king bed. Includes Air conditioning, Heating, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Mini-refrigerator, In-room safe, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service, Modem / data port connection, Disabled facilities, Voicemail, Pay TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 0.5 mi

Dining

Harry's Place Bar
Located on the ground floor near lobby and west courtyard. Serving American Cuisine, including appetizers, sandwiches and snacks. Dinner served 2 PM to midnight. Dress code is casual.
The Mission Grille
Located on the ground floor next to west courtyard. Serving American Cuisine. Breakfast-6:30 AM to 11 AM. Lunch-11 AM to 2 PM. Dress code is casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AWAL1
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Jul 5, 2010

Nothing special, and overpriced

We were charged a $200 smoking fee even though no guest smoke inside the room. Went through a 3 day long correspondence back and forth from manager to manager until finally the hotel director refunded my money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure if you smoked anytime during your trip that you do not return to your room smelling as if you did so. Apparently just the smell of smoke in a room is enough to charge you a "smoking fee". To me the whole hotel had the scent of stale cigarette smoke. By the way, I'm not even a smoker.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mammao
fresno, ca
Aug 16, 2010

perfect location for ASU visits

great location at base of A mountain. ASU stadium within walking distance and Mill Ave. activities right out the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
park city ut.
Mar 8, 2010

Right under airport.

I stay at the Mission Palms to visit my son at ASU. I have stayed 4 times (12 nights) and had security called 5 times for wild parties in the rooms next door. Great location if you are under 30. Still trying to find a room with some peace and quiet. This hotel needs night patrol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring ear plugs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 1, 2007

Beautiful, extremely comfortableand friendly

Upon arriving at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel, we were extremely pleased with the friendly staff and beautiful suroundings. Our room was beautiful, very clean and we had the best sleep in a very long time as our bed was so plush and comfy. The dinig was exquisite, we absolutly loved the breakfast buffet. We were within walking distance to many, many shops restaurants and great nightlife. What a wonderful stay. We will definately return, without question. Thanks Tempe Mission Palms!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots and lots to do here, shop, dine, party, or just relax by the pool!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
intown guest
Gilbert, AZ
Aug 11, 2009

Great location

Great roof top pool. Staff was excellent. This is a party hotel next to a university. Lots of uncontrolled noise in the hallways throughout the night. Staff did best to address concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great hotel for locals to go out for the evening and not have to pay for cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NH ASU dad
New Hampshire
Apr 5, 2014

ASU visit

This is a nice hotel but the rooms and hallways are dated. The exterior and courtyard are nice, but the other common areas need an update. Bar staff and food nice, breakfast good, pool seems nice - with poolside bar. Bell staff nice and airport shuttle a nice feature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 5, 2010

Good location

Hotel was nice, clean, pool was excellent. Housekeeping arrived late in the day. Front desk staff were very accomadating and affable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the orbit buses!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Aug 22, 2009

Our favorite Tempe hotel!

We always stay at Mission Palms when we move our boys back in to Arizona State. We love the friendly staff and the location near Mill Ave. is great. The buffet at the Mission Grille is always good and we enjoy Harry's bar too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of great restaurants on Mill Ave. And Starbucks is right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Mar 8, 2010

Mission Palms Tempe

Visiting ASU is a breeze, most things within walking distance and the hotel is very nice. Only drawback and not their fault is that they are on the landing pattern of Phoenix Sky Harbor airport. Sitting by the pool can ba alittle loud

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jun 13, 2009

A good choice

This hotel worked very well for me, a single woman over 60 travelling alone without a car. The rooms are very nicely decorated and there is a lovely courtyard in the center of the property for sitting outside. Since I did not have a car, the shuttle to and from the airport was handy. The light rail stop is only a block away for easy access to quite a few attractions in downtown Phoenix (about 20 minutes to half an hour away). The restaurant is small, but serves a nice meal in the evening. The hotel is walking distance from Arizona State. There are quite a few restaurant choices within walking distance, and I felt comfortable walking in the evening around the hotel. The environment might be a little too lively for me during the academic year, but I visited early in June, when the student population seemed relatively small. The staff is very helpful. Since the hotel is close to the Phoenix Airport, there is some noise from planes landing and taking off. However, I would recommend this hotel for its convenient location, pleasant decor and courtyard, and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The House of Tricks is a nice restaurant for an evening meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search