$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

4 stars
60 E. 5th Street, Tempe, AZ 85281
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
97 reviews
This place has it all! Location, comfort, great customer service

We upgraded our stay to a suite as we were escaping the slide fire and it was just what the doctor... See full review

  • Mary marvelous
  • May 28, 2014
Baylor Baseball Opener

Fantastic...location, comfort, rooms, staff, ambiance, and total package See full review

  • BU baseball mom
  • Feb 18, 2014
Downtown Tempe hotel near shopping, restaurants and cafes

The Tempe Mission Palms is located in the heart of downtown Tempe. Hundreds of shops, restaurants, cafes and museums are steps outside the lobby. Guests find desert-inspired beauty and serenity throughout the property, including the recently renovated guestrooms, a rooftop pool, and tennis and basketball courts. The Mission Grille restaurant and Harry's Lounge are added benefits.

Highlights
  • Parking, valet service, Wi-Fi Internet and airport shuttle
  • IACC certified convention services
  • Rooftop pool, whirlpools, and tennis and basketball courts
Rooms

The hotel recently completed an $8 million renovation to all 303 guest rooms and suites. Expect warm and rich furnishings in the comfortable and clean rooms. Refined touches, such as granite countertops, padded headboards, and pillow-top mattresses, fill the space. A choice of deluxe king rooms or double-double rooms are complete with entertainment comforts including a 37-inch HD plasma television. Wi-Fi Internet access is included in the daily hospitality fee.

Features

The hotel's biggest amenity is its location in the hot Mill Avenue District in downtown Tempe. Boundless shopping and dining choices are within walking distance. A concierge is on staff to assist guests in their exploration of Tempe. The hotel has a rooftop retreat that features an outdoor pool, two whirlpools and an indoor exercise room.

Dining

Exceptional service extends to the Mission Grille restaurant, serving American and international cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and breakfast buffets each morning. Travelers and locals frequent Harry's Lounge for cocktails or dinner on the courtyard patio.

Transportation
  • Across the street from Metro Light Rail
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport
Attractions
  • In the heart of downtown Tempe
  • Desert Botanical Garden (2.9 mi/ 4.7 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (2.3 mi/ 3.6 km)
Business and events
  • IACC certified conference and meeting center
  • 30,000 square feet of flexible indoor or outdoor meeting space
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees

There is a $10.95 daily resort fee that includes parking, valet service, Wi-Fi Internet, and airport shuttle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.4266 -111.9389
Area served
Tempe.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport-4 miles.
Area description
Located in downtown Tempe, 4 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts Rooms

Deluxe Room
Warm, richly furnished non-smoking room with two double beds or one king bed. Includes Air conditioning, Heating, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Mini-refrigerator, In-room safe, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service, Modem / data port connection, Disabled facilities, Voicemail, Pay TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 0.5 mi

Dining

Harry's Place Bar
Located on the ground floor near lobby and west courtyard. Serving American Cuisine, including appetizers, sandwiches and snacks. Dinner served 2 PM to midnight. Dress code is casual.
The Mission Grille
Located on the ground floor next to west courtyard. Serving American Cuisine. Breakfast-6:30 AM to 11 AM. Lunch-11 AM to 2 PM. Dress code is casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mentorman
San Francisco, CA
Nov 16, 2009

Huge value for the price

We were participating in a leadership seminar during our stay. The hotel catered to our needs with wonderful meals and a room that was beyond our expectations. Huge King room! We love the Tempe Mission Palms because they always treat us and our seminar attendees with the greatest respect and honor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant selections in any direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alberta
Nov 8, 2009

Very nice resort, younger area.

Top notch hotel and service. No complaints, staff extremely friendly and accomadating. The only negative is that when you go for a walk looking for the shops and restaurants they are more geared to a younger crowd. This place is steps from the Arizona State university. Great pool and fitness are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
R.P., CA
Nov 6, 2009

"Location, Location, Location"

Visited ASU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grownup hippies
Wausau, Wis
Oct 11, 2009

REALLY nice

We came to Arizona for the weekend to take care of a brief family event. Decided to treat ourselves to a "mini" vacation as my husband was out of work and recently became employed again (YEAH) We wanted to stay in Tempe, close to the fun and excitement of the Mill Street area - Doesnt' get much better. We particularly enjoyed the fun at the Big Bang piano bar - what great musicians and tons of fun!! Dinner at Z tejas was excellent, and service was above average. Only minor complaint was our room was in back over the outside areas of several Mill street taverns that patrons partied until the wee hours (we weren't to far ahead of them) Some guests of the hotel decided to party all night and were a bit noisy in the hall. But the room was nice, clean and generously sized. ALL the service from the valet to the front desk to the concierge were exceptionally friendly. Thanks, we hope to come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great fun!! Dueling pianos all by request. Didn't seem to be anything those folks didn't know. Lots of audiance participation too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College searching family
Portland, Or
Oct 4, 2009

We loved it

We love the Mission Palms! Friendly service, newly remodeled rooms were beautiful and it is a great location if you are attending any events at the ASU campus. Only warnings, ask for a room away from the courtyard, it can get noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay Cutler is the man
Tempe, AZ
Sep 27, 2009

Great people great place great stay

It was a great time, right on mill avenue in Tempe minutes from ASU fun bar street with a classy hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New to AZ
Scottsdale, AZ
Sep 22, 2009

quiet AND close to all the action!

My boyfriend and I stayed here while in Tempe for a weekend music festival. It's a great location, one block from Tempe Town Lake, and close to all the action on Mill Ave. ...Yet super quiet. We didn't use the pool or fitness center; we pretty much just went out, crashed and headed out in the morning, but it was great. Would absolutely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA, Earth
Aug 28, 2009

great everything

Great 3rd floor courtyard room near fountain meant no room noise, just dreams of gurgling mountain streams. Easy to connect free wireless with no ridiculous short term passwords, or secret charges. Would love to stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to ASU sports facilities and Mill street bars+restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tempe AZ
Aug 23, 2009

Great Trip

Hotel staff was perfect. Very detailed attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tempe Mission Palms - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Aug 22, 2009

Our favorite Tempe hotel!

We always stay at Mission Palms when we move our boys back in to Arizona State. We love the friendly staff and the location near Mill Ave. is great. The buffet at the Mission Grille is always good and we enjoy Harry's bar too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of great restaurants on Mill Ave. And Starbucks is right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search