$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

4 stars
View map of 2000 Westcourt Way, 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
96 reviews
Great place to stay

Really unique setting. Beautiful architecture and surroundings. See full review

  • marcy p.
  • Jan 21, 2015
AMAZING!

Staff was great, hotel was great, definitely will be back! See full review

  • Rae Rae07
  • May 12, 2014
Secluded resort setting with majestic views and central Tempe location
This mountainside oasis sits on 25 acres. Expect respite and recreation at this resort near Scottsdale and Phoenix. Rooms are well-appointed with amenities such as marble bathrooms and windows that open. There are five on-site restaurants and lounges including the Top of the Rock Restaurant with vistas of the city. There is also Narande Spa. Outside, find two heated swimming pools, waterfall, waterslide and whirlpool.
Highlights
  • Five on-site restaurants and lounges
  • Top of the Rock Restaurant
  • Five miles from downtown Tempe
Rooms

The large resort has 353 rooms and nine suites. Beds have Marriott's Revive Bedding, down comforters and designer duvets. Rooms are air conditioned, but guests can open windows to let in fresh desert evening air. Some suites have patio and resort views. All accommodations have marble bathrooms with a stand-up shower, terry bathrobes and Marriott's exclusive Nirvae bath products. Coffee maker and tea service, mini-bar, safe, working desk with ergonomic char, and wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (fees apply) round out room amenities.

Dining

There are five restaurants and lounges. The Market Cafe combines a touch of modern Californian cuisine with traditional Italian for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill serves up lunch fare poolside. Top of the Rock Restaurant offers world-class views, New American cuisine for dinner, and special Champagne brunch on Sundays. Tequila on the Rocks offers a full bar and a casual dinner menu with occasional live entertainment. Guests can settle into the Lobby Lounge for a cocktail or lunch and dinner.

Recreation

There's plenty to do inside and out at the Buttes. There are two heated mountainside pools (one for children), four whirlpools, table tennis, tennis and volleyball. Inside diversions include the full-service Narande Spa and fully equipped fitness center with classes and personal training.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (11 minutes)
  • Scottsdale Airport (30 minutes)
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport (56 minutes)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (5 mi/ 8 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (5.9 mi/ 9.6 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (8.4mi/ 13.6 km)
  • Old Town Scottsdale (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business and events
  • 40,000 square feet of meeting space includes a 200-seat amphitheater, 11 meeting rooms, 10 breakout rooms and Kachina Ballroom for up to 900 people
  • Business center
  • Meeting planning
  • Messenger service
  • On-site exhibition space
Policies and fees

N/A

 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 2.6 mi

Dining

Top of the Rock Restaurant
Delight in world-class cuisine at one of the most famous restaurants in Tempe, AZ - Top of the Rock - featuring Contemporary American fare and breathtaking views of the city.
Market Cafe
Enjoy a savory combination of American Southwest flavors while relaxing in an open room with a beautiful cascading waterfall flowing into a Japanese Koi pond. Open for Breakfast Buffet & Lunch Daily.
Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill
Come for lunch at our Tempe restaurant's open-air pool bar and grill serving sandwiches, burgers and house specialties.
Lobby Lounge
Featuring lunch and dinner menus, the Lobby Lounge is the perfect place to catch up with colleagues and friends.
Starbucks
Enjoy your favorite cup of coffee at our on property Starbucks, located at the Market Cafe.
Room Service
Room Service available from 6am-11:30am for Breakfast Menu options and from 4pm-11pm for Dinner Menu options.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 96
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve from TX
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 4, 2012

Perfect location!

My only concern would be for anyone in a wheelchair might have some difficulty. Other than that, I was looking forward to a nice dinner in their Top of the Rock and it was closed for a private wedding. Very disappointing to only have the Market Cafe for dinner because clearly it is only intended as a "CAFE".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loves to relax
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 3, 2010

"Relaxing getaway"

I was there because I had to take a test for my job-it was peaceful and quiet for my to study at all hours of the day. i was able to study by the pool or out on the patio or in my room without any complaints of noise! I also used the fitness room to take breaks and burn of stress--the view from the fitness room is UNBELIEVABLE! It made me want to stay on the fitness machines instead of getting out of there as soon as I could! Staff was friendly-and I loved the flavored water that was always available!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 28, 2010

nice location

I was in town for a wedding and the Buttes was perfectly located for me. I was disappointed they did not give a rack rate discount for the event. Other hotels in the area offered the couple reduced rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeSVTGT
Business
San Antonio, Tx.
May 17, 2010

Unbeatable for the price

The outdoor landscaping was great and the resort staff was very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

have to go to Over Easy for a great breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Late sleeper
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 15, 2010

The Buttes Marriott Phoenix 2010

Nice appearance and location. Felt safe and taken care of. My only complaint is about the thin walls. Each morning it sounded as if a whole family was loud and lively inside my room. Calling the front office did not help. Otherwise, lots of eager helpful people. The $10/day parking fee was a surprise, but they removed it easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 17, 2010

Nice stay for a single

Nice hotel with a fabulous pool and city view. Nice location. Most staff were very friendly. However, on my latest visit several things went wrong. My room had a strange smell to it and on one day (out of 4) housekeeping never came. Asked for a feather-free room but linens weren't changed until late in the day after I checked in. Don't rent a car from the on-site location (Hertz, I think). Huge problems. Stayed here last year and didn't have any problems so overall I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
imashooter
Business
Amarillo, TX
Mar 29, 2010

Beautiful!!

I was shocked at how beautiful this place was when I arrived. It is tucked away, and the winding roads that lead to it make you feel like you aren't in the city anymore. There are lots of cactus, palm trees, and flowers amongst the rock formations, and the facility itself looks like it is "one" with the environment. The valet was very nice. My room wasn't ready when I arrived, but the concierge was able to pre-check me, and she called me when the room was ready. The only negative about the hotel was that the television was pretty week. It wasn't a flat-panel HDTV. That would have put the icing on the cake. I loved it. I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Sky Harbor Int'l is so close, and it is easily accessible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bazille
Business
Las Vgas
Mar 3, 2010

In the Rocks

I always wanted to stay here, but the prices are usually over $200. Got a great deal with a package with US Airways. I stayed in the "living room" between two bedrooms of a suite. It had a murphy bed that was very comfortable. This is a very large room with kitchen, dinning table, sofa and chairs. Staff was very friendly. The 4 jaccuzis had great views of the valley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast was fantastic in the breakfast buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyTraveler_Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 13, 2010

Fantastic Customer Service!

This hotel has some of the best customer service I had ever experienced. I arrived late and the hotel was booked. For some reason my MR# was not in the system and the only king room left was on the first floor - which I don't care for. I ended up with two double beds, but I didn't mind. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was lovely. The staff also made a few small gestures to make up for the mix up, which was such a nice touch - though frankly, the professional and warm way I was treated was enough of a compensation for me. I really felt like everyone at this hotel went out of their way to make sure I was taken care of. Other plusses - very convenient location and loved the hidden hot tubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, MN
May 10, 2008

Lovely place but service lacking

I have stayed at this hotel once before and very much enjoyed the amenities and location. I was quite disappointed with the service this time, however. The room was not made up once during the 2 nights that I was there. The one morning that I had breakfast, the service was extremely slow and there was work going on in the dining area. I asked, the night before checking out, if my statement would be ready for me, under my door, as I was leaving very early the following morning. I was assured that it would be. It was not, so I had to spend time at the front desk (which was quite a distance from my room) checking out, which inconveniently delayed my departure quite a bit. I would return to this hotel, however, as the location is very conveninet for me, I very much like the surroundings and the staff were pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lovely sunsets from the butte on the property, near the front entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top