$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

4 stars
2000 Westcourt Way, 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
95 reviews
AMAZING!

Staff was great, hotel was great, definitely will be back! See full review

  • Rae Rae07
  • May 12, 2014
our stay

everything was great except the pillows.... very soft bring your own See full review

  • FunTrip from AZ
  • Apr 29, 2014
Secluded resort setting with majestic views and central Tempe location
This mountainside oasis sits on 25 acres. Expect respite and recreation at this resort near Scottsdale and Phoenix. Rooms are well-appointed with amenities such as marble bathrooms and windows that open. There are five on-site restaurants and lounges including the Top of the Rock Restaurant with vistas of the city. There is also Narande Spa. Outside, find two heated swimming pools, waterfall, waterslide and whirlpool.
Highlights
  • Five on-site restaurants and lounges
  • Top of the Rock Restaurant
  • Five miles from downtown Tempe
Rooms

The large resort has 353 rooms and nine suites. Beds have Marriott's Revive Bedding, down comforters and designer duvets. Rooms are air conditioned, but guests can open windows to let in fresh desert evening air. Some suites have patio and resort views. All accommodations have marble bathrooms with a stand-up shower, terry bathrobes and Marriott's exclusive Nirvae bath products. Coffee maker and tea service, mini-bar, safe, working desk with ergonomic char, and wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (fees apply) round out room amenities.

Dining

There are five restaurants and lounges. The Market Cafe combines a touch of modern Californian cuisine with traditional Italian for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill serves up lunch fare poolside. Top of the Rock Restaurant offers world-class views, New American cuisine for dinner, and special Champagne brunch on Sundays. Tequila on the Rocks offers a full bar and a casual dinner menu with occasional live entertainment. Guests can settle into the Lobby Lounge for a cocktail or lunch and dinner.

Recreation

There's plenty to do inside and out at the Buttes. There are two heated mountainside pools (one for children), four whirlpools, table tennis, tennis and volleyball. Inside diversions include the full-service Narande Spa and fully equipped fitness center with classes and personal training.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (11 minutes)
  • Scottsdale Airport (30 minutes)
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport (56 minutes)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (5 mi/ 8 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (5.9 mi/ 9.6 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (8.4mi/ 13.6 km)
  • Old Town Scottsdale (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business and events
  • 40,000 square feet of meeting space includes a 200-seat amphitheater, 11 meeting rooms, 10 breakout rooms and Kachina Ballroom for up to 900 people
  • Business center
  • Meeting planning
  • Messenger service
  • On-site exhibition space
Policies and fees

N/A

 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.4021 -111.968
Area served
Tempe
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, (PHX), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort, Location Type: Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 2.6 mi

Dining

Top of the Rock Restaurant
Delight in world-class cuisine at one of the most famous restaurants in Tempe, AZ - Top of the Rock - featuring Contemporary American fare and breathtaking views of the city.
Market Cafe
Enjoy a savory combination of American Southwest flavors while relaxing in an open room with a beautiful cascading waterfall flowing into a Japanese Koi pond. Open for Breakfast Buffet & Lunch Daily.
Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill
Come for lunch at our Tempe restaurant's open-air pool bar and grill serving sandwiches, burgers and house specialties.
Lobby Lounge
Featuring lunch and dinner menus, the Lobby Lounge is the perfect place to catch up with colleagues and friends.
Starbucks
Enjoy your favorite cup of coffee at our on property Starbucks, located at the Market Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 95
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
minero
Tucson,az
Aug 19, 2014

beautiful setting

I loved the way this hotel was surrounded by rugged rock the staff was very nice and helpful lots to do with the pool , tennis, hikeing, volleyball, or just relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Arizona mills shopping center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tempe Eats
Phoenix, AZ
May 22, 2014

Quick AZ Getaway

If you're looking for a great place to stay central is everything this is the place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gandalf
Colorado
Apr 14, 2014

Hilltop oasis

A very nice place to stay during spring training baseball. Very close to ball fields. Moderate renovation going on at the site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Multiple dining options here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love to Travel2222
Colorado
Nov 11, 2013

Wonderful stay!

Traveled to Phoenix for a wedding, which was at the Phoenix Marriott Tempe at the Buttes. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was great! Love the pool. Definitely enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AZAVFAN
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 4, 2013

Buyer beware

When we checked in we were told we had a special air filtration system in our room. Apparently this system was pumping in mustiness, as our room smelled stale. This may have been due to the fact that when we first went to our room there was a workman in the hall outside trying to deal with what he said was a leaking A/C problem. He said he was nearly done. It continued to leak after her left, with the hotel's solution being to place a number of buckets under the seeping ceiling. Then there was a major rain storm. Not much the hotel can do about that, but the facility is built on a hill side and the rain washed silt from the hill side into the pools, making them unusable for our entire stay. Surely there is some sort of subsidence protection that can be installed around where the hillside meets the pool area to minimize this situation. When I voiced my concerns with the aforementioned issues at checkout I was essentially told that there was nothing could be done. I was hoping for more consideration, like perhaps a free night, or something. Not that I have any interest in returning. A huge, huge rip off at $120 a night. A disgrace for part of the Marriott family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess the coach
Loveland, CO
Apr 28, 2013

Relaxing beautiful oasis

The Marriott is up on a butte and provides a wonderful oasis. The pool was amazing the staff friendly. And our massages at the spa were sublime. The breakfast buffet was delicious, complete with omlette bar. We had a wonderful stay and hope we can come back soon and stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a good dinner at Marcellino Ristorante. The sauce with the filet mignon was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
angel fans
southern california
Mar 23, 2011

Beautiful Hotel

The entire staff was very pleasant and courteous and went out of their way to accommodate us. The restaurants at the hotel were terrific and not overpriced. The grounds and pool were beautiful. The location wasn't the best, but not poor either. It was a short walk to the Angels spring training baseball stadium which is why I chose this hotel to begin with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monda
Spicewood, Tx
Oct 10, 2010

Beautiful location.

We are used to traveling to tropical resorts but had to travel to Phoenix for a wedding. The Buttes was truelly a desert resort with beautiful landscaping and the hotel built into the mountain. The rooms were clean and charmig if not outstanding but the overall atmosphere was far and above a hotel in the desert. It was an oasis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure and visit the Desert Botanical Gardens and Phoenix Zoo only 7 miles away. Upclose views of the giant Seguaro cactus!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy-Unromanced Couple
Gilbert, AZ
Jul 28, 2010

A Marriot Resort The Buttes

[...] hoping to plan a romantic getaway for my husband and I. When we arrived to the hotel we were informed that there were no smoking rooms available and no king size beds available. We asked for an upgrade and were given a one word answer no. I explained to him that this was a romantic trip for my husband and I are you sure there are no king size beds, and his repsonse was no all we have are twins. All we could get out of this guy was no no no. Not an I apologize, no let me get my manager, NOTHING. When we got to the room I had seen better rooms at a one or two star resort. The room looked like my grandma's guest bedroom. No romance what so ever. We then went to the pool which was vacant. This was the first time we were greeted by happy smiling hotel staff. They made sure that we had everything we needed. There were no people at the pool it was complete silence. When we went to our couples massage I was not very impressed by the spa itself but the staff was very friendly. However my husband and I are fitness people. You can imagine he did not feel very comfortable when he met his massage therapist, a lady 100+ lbs over weight. Overall the experience was just so unpleasant and I was not impressed by this resort what so ever. I will never stay here again. I also do not recommend anyone under the age of 60 stay here either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clarks Summit, PA
Jun 18, 2010

IT was Great

we were there for a wedding but did some site seeing. it was very relaxing and it was a great location to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search