$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

4 stars
2000 Westcourt Way, 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
161 reviews
AMAZING!

Staff was great, hotel was great, definitely will be back! See full review

  • Rae Rae07
  • May 12, 2014
our stay

everything was great except the pillows.... very soft bring your own See full review

  • FunTrip from AZ
  • Apr 29, 2014
Secluded resort setting with majestic views and central Tempe location
This mountainside oasis sits on 25 acres. Expect respite and recreation at this resort near Scottsdale and Phoenix. Rooms are well-appointed with amenities such as marble bathrooms and windows that open. There are five on-site restaurants and lounges including the Top of the Rock Restaurant with vistas of the city. There is also Narande Spa. Outside, find two heated swimming pools, waterfall, waterslide and whirlpool.
Highlights
  • Five on-site restaurants and lounges
  • Top of the Rock Restaurant
  • Five miles from downtown Tempe
Rooms

The large resort has 353 rooms and nine suites. Beds have Marriott's Revive Bedding, down comforters and designer duvets. Rooms are air conditioned, but guests can open windows to let in fresh desert evening air. Some suites have patio and resort views. All accommodations have marble bathrooms with a stand-up shower, terry bathrobes and Marriott's exclusive Nirvae bath products. Coffee maker and tea service, mini-bar, safe, working desk with ergonomic char, and wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (fees apply) round out room amenities.

Dining

There are five restaurants and lounges. The Market Cafe combines a touch of modern Californian cuisine with traditional Italian for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill serves up lunch fare poolside. Top of the Rock Restaurant offers world-class views, New American cuisine for dinner, and special Champagne brunch on Sundays. Tequila on the Rocks offers a full bar and a casual dinner menu with occasional live entertainment. Guests can settle into the Lobby Lounge for a cocktail or lunch and dinner.

Recreation

There's plenty to do inside and out at the Buttes. There are two heated mountainside pools (one for children), four whirlpools, table tennis, tennis and volleyball. Inside diversions include the full-service Narande Spa and fully equipped fitness center with classes and personal training.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (11 minutes)
  • Scottsdale Airport (30 minutes)
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport (56 minutes)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (5 mi/ 8 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (5.9 mi/ 9.6 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (8.4mi/ 13.6 km)
  • Old Town Scottsdale (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business and events
  • 40,000 square feet of meeting space includes a 200-seat amphitheater, 11 meeting rooms, 10 breakout rooms and Kachina Ballroom for up to 900 people
  • Business center
  • Meeting planning
  • Messenger service
  • On-site exhibition space
Policies and fees

N/A

 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.4021 -111.968
Area served
Tempe
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, (PHX), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort, Location Type: Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 1,151.8 mi

Dining

Top of the Rock Restaurant
Delight in world-class cuisine at one of the most famous restaurants in Tempe, AZ - Top of the Rock - featuring Contemporary American fare and breathtaking views of the city.
Market Cafe
Enjoy a savory combination of American Southwest flavors while relaxing in an open room with a beautiful cascading waterfall flowing into a Japanese Koi pond. Open for Breakfast Buffet & Lunch Daily.
Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill
Come for lunch at our Tempe restaurant's open-air pool bar and grill serving sandwiches, burgers and house specialties.
Lobby Lounge
Featuring lunch and dinner menus, the Lobby Lounge is the perfect place to catch up with colleagues and friends.
Starbucks
Enjoy your favorite cup of coffee at our on property Starbucks, located at the Market Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 26, 2010

Nice but could be better

TV in the Rooms were outdated. Even a lot a of cheaper hotels now have LCD.Also I was told that I wont get points on my Rewards membership because I booked through [...]. That was real bummer when I was told by the Receptionist about this policy. Not very happy about that

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Apr 22, 2010

Wonderful Stay at the Buttes!

I cannot say enough about the customer service at the Buttes Marriott Resort. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. The corner king room was wonderful. It had a unique layout which was perfect for two people. We spent most of our time at the pool, being served fresh fruit, water and anything from the Thirsty Cactus bar and grill menu. The fitness center has up-to date workout equipment, fresh fruit, water, towels and wide selection of current magazines. Overall, our stay at the Buttes was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Apr 22, 2010

Wonderful Stay at the Buttes!

I cannot say enough about the customer service at the Buttes Marriott Resort. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. The corner king room was wonderful. It had a unique layout which was perfect for two people. We spent most of our time at the pool, being served fresh fruit, water and anything from the Thirsty Cactus bar and grill menu. The fitness center has up-to date workout equipment, fresh fruit, water, towels and wide selection of current magazines. Overall, our stay at the Buttes was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saint Peter MN
Apr 21, 2010

The Buttes Marriott

This was a great resort and the staff was great! The staff working by the pool was very accomodating and excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

We wanted to try the Top of the Rock but didn't realize 2 of our 3 nights we were there they would be closed. (Sunday and Monday)

Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mass
Apr 21, 2010

college search

The pool setting was very nice for family, couples and singles all alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mass
Apr 21, 2010

college search

The pool setting was very nice for family, couples and singles all alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saint Peter MN
Apr 21, 2010

The Buttes Marriott

This was a great resort and the staff was great! The staff working by the pool was very accomodating and excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

We wanted to try the Top of the Rock but didn't realize 2 of our 3 nights we were there they would be closed. (Sunday and Monday)

Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt and Paul
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 20, 2010

Rough start, but smooth finish

Have to start by saying we got dropped off from the airport only to be told we didn't have a room, that being the only bad thing that happened all weekend. They sent us to another resort on them, sent us multiple roomservice gifts to apologize, and also upgraded our room. When they picked us up the next day is when the fun started the pool area was amazing, private saunas on cliff ridges, and great service by the whole staff. So great that by the end, we knew everyones name. Great poolside serivice from [...]! If your at the pool bar (the Thirsty Cactus) try a Casey Crusher. Me and my friends wouldn't think twice about going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt and Paul
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 20, 2010

Rough start, but smooth finish

Have to start by saying we got dropped off from the airport only to be told we didn't have a room, that being the only bad thing that happened all weekend. They sent us to another resort on them, sent us multiple roomservice gifts to apologize, and also upgraded our room. When they picked us up the next day is when the fun started the pool area was amazing, private saunas on cliff ridges, and great service by the whole staff. So great that by the end, we knew everyones name. Great poolside serivice from [...]! If your at the pool bar (the Thirsty Cactus) try a Casey Crusher. Me and my friends wouldn't think twice about going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sugarloaf Key, FL
Apr 18, 2010

Great Place for Work Travel

Very enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top