$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

4 stars
2000 Westcourt Way, 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
95 reviews
AMAZING!

Staff was great, hotel was great, definitely will be back! See full review

  • Rae Rae07
  • May 12, 2014
our stay

everything was great except the pillows.... very soft bring your own See full review

  • FunTrip from AZ
  • Apr 29, 2014
Secluded resort setting with majestic views and central Tempe location
This mountainside oasis sits on 25 acres. Expect respite and recreation at this resort near Scottsdale and Phoenix. Rooms are well-appointed with amenities such as marble bathrooms and windows that open. There are five on-site restaurants and lounges including the Top of the Rock Restaurant with vistas of the city. There is also Narande Spa. Outside, find two heated swimming pools, waterfall, waterslide and whirlpool.
Highlights
  • Five on-site restaurants and lounges
  • Top of the Rock Restaurant
  • Five miles from downtown Tempe
Rooms

The large resort has 353 rooms and nine suites. Beds have Marriott's Revive Bedding, down comforters and designer duvets. Rooms are air conditioned, but guests can open windows to let in fresh desert evening air. Some suites have patio and resort views. All accommodations have marble bathrooms with a stand-up shower, terry bathrobes and Marriott's exclusive Nirvae bath products. Coffee maker and tea service, mini-bar, safe, working desk with ergonomic char, and wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (fees apply) round out room amenities.

Dining

There are five restaurants and lounges. The Market Cafe combines a touch of modern Californian cuisine with traditional Italian for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill serves up lunch fare poolside. Top of the Rock Restaurant offers world-class views, New American cuisine for dinner, and special Champagne brunch on Sundays. Tequila on the Rocks offers a full bar and a casual dinner menu with occasional live entertainment. Guests can settle into the Lobby Lounge for a cocktail or lunch and dinner.

Recreation

There's plenty to do inside and out at the Buttes. There are two heated mountainside pools (one for children), four whirlpools, table tennis, tennis and volleyball. Inside diversions include the full-service Narande Spa and fully equipped fitness center with classes and personal training.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (11 minutes)
  • Scottsdale Airport (30 minutes)
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport (56 minutes)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (5 mi/ 8 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (5.9 mi/ 9.6 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (8.4mi/ 13.6 km)
  • Old Town Scottsdale (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business and events
  • 40,000 square feet of meeting space includes a 200-seat amphitheater, 11 meeting rooms, 10 breakout rooms and Kachina Ballroom for up to 900 people
  • Business center
  • Meeting planning
  • Messenger service
  • On-site exhibition space
Policies and fees

N/A

 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 2.6 mi

Dining

Top of the Rock Restaurant
Delight in world-class cuisine at one of the most famous restaurants in Tempe, AZ - Top of the Rock - featuring Contemporary American fare and breathtaking views of the city.
Market Cafe
Enjoy a savory combination of American Southwest flavors while relaxing in an open room with a beautiful cascading waterfall flowing into a Japanese Koi pond. Open for Breakfast Buffet & Lunch Daily.
Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill
Come for lunch at our Tempe restaurant's open-air pool bar and grill serving sandwiches, burgers and house specialties.
Lobby Lounge
Featuring lunch and dinner menus, the Lobby Lounge is the perfect place to catch up with colleagues and friends.
Starbucks
Enjoy your favorite cup of coffee at our on property Starbucks, located at the Market Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 95
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E.P..
Business
Denver
Aug 9, 2014

Nickel and diming at its worst

First, let's be clear that this is a very nice hotel with an exceptionally courteous staff. It's located near the airport, if that's convenient to you. What kills me is the lack of all-inclusiveness. EVERYTHING costs. It's $10 a night to park. They charge you for internet (I don't know how much because I tethered my phone). This is a Marriott, not a Best Western. That said, I can't emphasize enough how great the staff here was. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has one of the nicest pool areas I've ever seen, and a nice spa as well. I'm just so annoyed at the ala carte pricing that I can't give it any more than 3 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CloudDancer
Business
Fairbanks, Alaska
Apr 15, 2014

Life of Luxurty

This place is hard to beat. Get pampered in practically any way you desire. Definitely a 5 STAR experience. Staff was really great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle MCA Diener
Business
Pottstown PA
Feb 20, 2014

Wonderful Trip would go back tomorrow!!!!

It was like a resort,beautiful!!! Nice and hot. 2 wonder pools hot tubes every where inside of a mountain. Hotel is build on top of a mountain. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the hotel, wonderful view from top of the mounatin!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Live Simply
Business
San Diego Ca
Dec 5, 2012

Awesome Experience

One of the best hotel experiences I've had in years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Apr 11, 2011

The Buttes

Excellent Service. I requested for early check in as my flight arrived in Phoenix at 10 AM. Within 10 minutes after checking in at the hotel, I received a call and my room was ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NP traveler
Business
South Carolina
Jun 30, 2010

Beautiful relaxing getaway

Great resort. Excellent service. Food was expensive so I didn't eat at the resort but everything else was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 29, 2010

Great hotel

I had a great experience at this hotel. The grounds are great and the amenities are great. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5: I have a friend who stayed at another resort nearby, and she said she had a Tempurpedic mattress and a huge room of a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. My room was nice, but not as extravagant as hers (and she paid the same price as I did).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
richsmaildrop
Business
Boca Raton, Fl
May 8, 2010

" charges, charges everywhere!!!!!!!

This place charges for things that are free at best western and other chains. $10/night to park in the motel parking lot is insane not to mention $.53/min to use the internet. I'll never stay at another Marriott again. Had I known about all these charges I would NOT have booked this place. Not such a good deal after all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sugarloaf Key, FL
Apr 18, 2010

Great Place for Work Travel

Very enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Picky, but frugal, business traveler
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 12, 2010

Such a beautiful place

I'm a frequent business traveler and try to be frugal with the company's expenses. I typically stay at a chain hotel like Country Inn and Suites. I'm very picky about cleanliness and comfort. This place was truly a resort compared to my regular stays. The room was fantastic. The view was fantastic. The staff was fantastic. Soothing sounds of running water made for a spa-like atmosphere even when just sitting outside on a bench. Location was very convenient, but yet the place seemed secluded. I'd love to come back with my husband to take advantage of all of the relaxing and romantic qualities of this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top